We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Busy, attentive and delicious” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pane e Vino

Pane e Vino
Cnr Albert & Charlotte streets, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
07-3220 0044
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #197 of 2,976 restaurants in Brisbane
Price range: $0 - $32
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Busy, attentive and delicious”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Despite the menu being difficult to read due to the layout, it has a fine selection of Italian meals. There was a bit of inflexibility with the menu, in that I wanted the calamari to be served as a main meal serving rather than an entree size. In the end, I had to order 2 entrees, for it to be considered a main meal. The desert offerings were delicious, and I selected the chocolate mousse. This was a very good option- as the flavour and texture were just right. The waiters were very attentive, but not in your face. The atmosphere had more of a pub atmosphere, but the meal was more classy than the venue hinted at.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

81% Recommend
    43
    79
    18
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
adelaide
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Knowledgeable, friendly and helpful staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

Went here as the result of a local recommendation and were not disappointed. Our waiter clearly enjoyed his job, menu and wines. The food was tasty and intelligently prepared and presented with some interesting wine options.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“They say it is like going home!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Well if your home is a cold windy hard surfaced box with food anyone with even a little training could make i suppose the say could be true.
Really average Italian food with an average wine list.
Service was better than the food
Ah there is an upside the coffee was excellent..

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great Italian”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Having made a booking a couple of days prior for a weekday night i was dissapointed to be put right between the toilet and the kitchen with other unreserved tables around. But after a brief discussion with the staff we were moved to a nicer table. From then on the experience was super. Staff were friendlt and knowledgeable. Food & drink menu were both extensive and reasonably priced for a prime location restaurant. Waguy pasta was superb. The rest of the food was delicious. I'd definetly be coming back to my new favourite italian restaurant.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mackay
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great Coffee & even better Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Con Anatra is a must! An absolutely brilliant dish. On par is the Gorgonzolla Gnocchi - very rich, but beautiful.
In all honesty, the coffee here is some of the best I have had anywhere. I have been to Pane e Vino many times for breakfast (which is the best value in Brisbane), lunch & dinner & I have never been disappointed.
The restaurant has been around for as long as I can remember & to me that makes a statement.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pane e Vino also viewed

 
Brisbane, Queensland
Brisbane, Queensland
 

Been to Pane e Vino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pane e Vino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.