We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Walnut Restaurant, Royal on the Park

The Walnut Restaurant, Royal on the Park
Alice St (cnr Albert St), Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
(07) 3221 3411
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 3,283 Restaurants in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
gold coast queensland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Chose to have dinner here as part of a weekend stay in the hotel and because the restaurant has a very good reputation. There were 3 of us and when seated at our table the lighting was very bright so we asked if we could move to the table behind us. We were told no as they were busy and the table was booked. It remained empty for the evening. The waitstaff said they would dim the lighting over our table but this also didn't happen. My meal of the Angus pepper fillet was excellent and as I'm not a blue cheese fan I asked for the sauce on the side. It was very tasty and I used it all. My steak was cooked to perfection. My partner ordered the lamb osso bucco which was really more like a giant boiled lamb shank and quite tasteless. Certainly not what he expected.
Having been to many large functions here I had always found the food good and the restaurant is very reputable but unfortunately our experience on this night didn't match this.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rudy C, Manager at The Walnut Restaurant, Royal on the Park, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

It is with disappointment that the Walnut Restaurant did not meet with your expectations during your recent visit. Upon checking, the table behind yours was indeed booked for 8pm but it was a late cancellation, hence why it remained empty on the night. We apologise if you found the lighting in the restaurant too bright. We will always try to accommodate special seating requests and it would help us greatly if you could indicate your preferences when making a booking.

While you enjoyed your Black Angus eye filet with blue cheese sauce, it is unusual that your partner found our Osso Bucco bland as we have had many positive comments about it being full of flavour and melt-in-the-mouth. Our Sous Chef, Frederick Marechal, has tried to highlight the subtleties of the marbling and natural flavours of the lamb with gremolata. This accompanying citric acidity is intended to partner the oils and juices that are released from the slow cooking of the meat which, unfortunately, did not meet with your partner's expectations.

We hope you will continue to return to the Royal on the Park Hotel and perhaps tempt you with our new Spring Menu which includes Milly Hill Rack of Lamb with Pistou Croute, Ratatouille and Polenta Galette. Please feel free to contact me directly on (07) 3112 1650 if you wish to discuss any issue further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    131
    35
    14
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Yeppoon, Australia
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

We both ordered the Angus pepper eye fillet ,with potatoe fondant, endive and blue cheese sauce, a glass of Chardonnay a gass of Shiraz and baby beets with feta on the side to share.
Firstly the steak was Outstanding !! Both ordered differently, and both served perfectly. Unfortunately the potatoe fondant was nothing more than a boiled potatoe, seriously a boiled potatoe !!! And no sign of blue cheese sauce .

When the wait staff enquired as to our meal, we commented on the potatoe and lack of blue cheese sauce, only to be told that:
"Every restaraunt does fondant differently ". Seriously NO , it was a boiled potatoe. And we were told that the blue cheese sauce was combined with the red wine jus over our steak!!!! Once again no hint of blue cheese in the jus .

So overall a disappointing meal.

On the up side when we ordered our glasses of wine, we asked how long the bottles had been opened, and we were advised that they were going to own bottles for us . And to their credit opened fresh bottles at our table of both wines, prior to the meal.

This really was a case of the kitchen testing down front of house staff.

But the steak was great !!

But not a $119.00 meal !!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rudy C, Manager at The Walnut Restaurant, Royal on the Park, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valuable feedback. It is only from honest comments that we are able to improve our product to our guests. We note your disappointment with our Fondant Potato, which is cooked in stock and fat at 145 degreesC for 45 minutes and this has been communicated to our Kitchen brigade. Blue cheese is added to pan jus to create the sauce and our Kitchen will be considering crumbling blue cheese over the steak to add to the visual display as well as enhancing the flavour based on your comments.

To enjoy fantastic deals on accommodation and discounts on dining in our Walnut Restaurant, do sign up for our complimentary Royal Rewards programme on our website. We are glad that you enjoyed our wine offerings. Both our new wine list and Spring Menu will be launching very soon and we hope you will let us impress you on your next visit to Brisbane.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth WA
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Lovely meal, ambience & service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

OK, disclosure, I was staying at the hotel. Ordered the gurnard (fish) & friend ordered the 3 gnocchi. They also had a French-themed 2 or 3 course dinner for the month of July and would've tried that but was on a 'light' day (people on 5:2 or ADF would understand). I really enjoyed finding out about a new fish (haven't heard of this, but am not from Qld - ha ha) and loved the way it was done. Would have also enjoyed it grilled sans sauce. Friend enjoyed the gnocchi but did say she has had better. We shared a dessert: banana pancake with ice cream which I would've happily had all to myself! The young woman - sorry forgot her name - was very attentive without being imposing and Damien was another staff member (maitre d?) who was very good, I overheard him dealing with an elderly couple who arrived before us and he was very very good with them. And the chef came out at the end of our meal to ask if all was ok. This is a great restaurant that Brisbane & the Royal at the Park can be very proud of!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rudy C, Manager at The Walnut Restaurant, Royal on the Park, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

How happy it makes our team at the Royal on the Park Hotel to know that we were able to make your stay in Brisbane so enjoyable!

We have passed on your kind words to Damien and Jane who are so pleased to have been able to enhance your recent dining experience. Our Sous Chef, Frederick Marechal, often encourages his team to come out onto the Walnut Restaurant floor to interact with our guests. Gleaning honest comments allows us to continuously try to improve our product and service standards.

We hope you will think of us for your next visit to Brisbane and hope to welcome you back very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
2 reviews
“Best steak ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

It was my second trip after the first one was so good.
I love the steak here. Right on the dot medium rare as requested!!
I love the fact that they have a decent wine list and a great cocktail menu:))
Ambiance is great and the lighting is just right for a romantic dinner or some girl talk^^

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rudy C, Manager at The Walnut Restaurant, Royal on the Park, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for visiting us recently! We are very proud to offer our guests the best quality of steaks sourced from local producers. Our new Spring Menu will feature a 425g Chateaubriand of Grass-fed Black Angus for two, carved tableside from our vintage Blake's Silver Gueridon Trolley.

We hope you will be able to join us at the Royal on the Park Hotel again soon and enjoy the gastronomic creations by our Kitchen brigade headed by Executive Chef, Rhian Rodrigues.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redcliffe, Queensland, Australia
1 review
“Osso bucco”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

It was mouth watering and full of flavour. Good place to catch up with old friends. Osso bucco was nice choice for winter food. Reasonable price for a quality meal for weekend dinner.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rudy C, Manager at The Walnut Restaurant, Royal on the Park, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are glad that you enjoyed our Osso Bucco so much! Our Sous Chef, Frederick Marechal, has put a lot of thought in constructing his seasonal menus. He is currently fine-tuning his Spring Menu due to launch in a few weeks. A sneak peek includes Blue Eye Cod with Cloudy Bay Clam Chowder, Celery and Fennel Salad, Lobster Oil.

Do join our complimentary Royal Rewards Card before your next visit and we look forward to welcoming you and your friends to the Walnut Restaurant & Lounge Bar very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Walnut Restaurant, Royal on the Park also viewed

 
Brisbane, Queensland
Brisbane, Queensland
 

Been to The Walnut Restaurant, Royal on the Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Walnut Restaurant, Royal on the Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.