We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good meals” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hamilton Bowls Club

Hamilton Bowls Club
304 Lancaster Rd, Brisbane, Queensland 4007, Australia
(07) 3268 1841
Improve this listing
Ranked #287 of 3,101 Restaurants in Brisbane
Cuisines: Seafood
Restaurant details
Dundowran Beach, Qld Aus
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Good meals”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

We stayed in the motel across the road.
The meals were basic but very well cooked and presented, also the drinks are cheap compared to Hotel prices.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    6
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Waipu, New Zealand
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Newly renovated”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

So convenient to our motel, really nice friendly atmosphere, good meals at the Gallopers restaurant.
We stayed for the trivia night (Thursday ) and with a couple of raffles and good company, enjoyed our final night in Australia on this trip

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Had a lovely Sunday meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Refurbished restaurant, meals were lovely, and price was reasonable, great location. Have been there several times before, but the new decor was great.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great $10 daily specials and laid back atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Servings are quite large, so make sure you are hungry. If you are member (costs only $1 or $2 I think) you receive approx $2 off of each meal - so definitely worth joining. Drinks from the bar are very inexpensive as well ($5-7) and once again there are discounts on top for members.
Have tried Chicken 'parmi', various steaks, lamb/rosemary/red wine slow cooked hot pot (delish) and a few of the pizzas which were all good for the price.
Great for laid back, homely type meals in a nice atmoshpere.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Sunday lunch at Gallopers Restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

We have been to the new restaurant at the revamped Hamilton Bowls Club a number of times.
The staff are quick and friendly.
We have worked our way through the specials by going on different nights of the week,
Monday, Wednesday and Thursday have been satisfactory evening meals.
Today we tried Sunday lunch which was a great disappointment.
Roast of the day sounds promising BUT the plates were cold, the slices of beef dryed out and the mixed veg tired and cold.
We went in at noon, expecting piping hot roast meat and fresh attractive veg.
We will not repeat our error. Why such a contrast with dinners we have enjoyed?

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hamilton Bowls Club also viewed

 
Brisbane, Queensland
 

Been to Hamilton Bowls Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hamilton Bowls Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.