We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Food at Very Good Prices” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Thai Mali

Thai Mali
90 Bennets Road, Brisbane, Queensland 4152, Australia
(07) 3843 6099
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,128 of 3,283 Restaurants in Brisbane
Price range: $14 - $18
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Reservations, Takeout
Queensland, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Very Good Food at Very Good Prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

I live nearby, so this is my "local". it is open seven days a week and always has a fair number of diners, both inside and on the footpath. Prices are very good: less than $20 for a generous main course. The decor is subdued Thai and the lighting is pretty bright. It's always clean and teh staff are very welcoming and helpful.
Well worth many visits!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    7
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great Thai! ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Love the red curry! consistent fast service, haven't been when it's really busy but the takeaway is always ready, great food, lovely service. Always go back for more!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Top Contributor
193 reviews 193 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“As good as ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Have not been here for ages, and was a little disappointed that it was the same menu of old. However, the food was still as excellent, pleasant service, lots to eat. Took a friend from Honolulu, who really enjoyed his meal! Had the mixed entree, which was smaller than the last time we ate here, no cucumber or tomato with it. Lovely stir fry prawns, nice and spicy. Still quite reasonable, and now the bottle shop next door has changed hands, a decent bottle of wine, at a decent price.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Had a casual dinner here with 6 other friends on a Friday evening - made for a very nice evening out. Plenty of parking (mostly street parking) either out front or in the side street. We ordered a selection of entrees to share and the staff went to the trouble of portioning the entrees on individual plates for everyone which was a nice touch. Wasn't overly thrilled with the entrees (in particular the chicken satay was very dry although the satay sauce was nice) - but the main was really, really good. Everyone at the table enjoyed their meals without exception. Serves are very generous and flavour is very authentic. Service was very quick - our mains really only took about 10 minutes after we finished entrees. Decor is nothing special as you might expect for a local suburban restaurant, but still nice enough - light and airy with the expected Thai wall hangings / artwork etc. Our table was inside, but tables are also available on the sidewalk (although I imagine the traffic noise would be an unwelcome mood breaker as Bennets Road can be very busy). Take away trade was very brisk for a Friday night (a sign of good food I think). Overall it was a really nice night out - particularly as our mains were just so good, Would definitely go back again (and it's at least a half hour drive from home!) Super cheap too - less than $30 each for entree and main!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
201 helpful votes 201 helpful votes
“Great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

Have been eating here for years. Always great food. Price has steadily increased which is a bit of a turn off. But worth it as a treat. Best meal is the dried rec curry in chicken. Highly recommended.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thai Mali also viewed

 

Been to Thai Mali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thai Mali, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.