We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Japanese we have experienced” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sakura Japanese Restaurant - CLOSED

Sakura Japanese Restaurant
9 Gladstone Street | Highgate Hill, Brisbane, Queensland 4101, Australia
07 3844 9935
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Japanese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best Japanese we have experienced”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

This restaurant consistently produces the most tasty and quality food. I have been going to sakura for over 10 years. I have been to a large number of other japanese restaurants, in Australia, USA and Japan, and this restaurant gets our 'whole" family vote for the best. They are always very friendly and provide prompt service. the decor is not the latest, however this adds to the appeal of the restaurant.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    20
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
queensland
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“First class fresh Japenes food at a reasonable price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

Very clean and food excellently presented. Friendly staff who know the menu. Service was fast despite being full. Good fr a two some.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Japanese Joy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

I had my second visit to Sakura on Friday night and thought it high time to write a review. The thing I am most disappointed out with Sakura is that after living in Brisbane for 10 years, I only found this place a few months ago.

This place is the real deal - full of japanese, which means it has to be good right? It is only a small place, but always crowded. We like to have lots of the entree dishes rather than main course, that way we get to enjoy lots of delicious bites. Last time I went for the sashimi platter, which was superb, this time it was the sushi platter. This took about 20 minutes to come out - which means it was made fresh just for us - I did see the sushi chef prepare our sushi so I know it was fresh.

We also enjoyed wonderful gyoza, edamame (perfection - not too salty), chicken yakatori and our all time favourite the creamy cheese filled croquette (I cannot for the life of me think of the japanese name for this dish) - oh my goodness but this is a little parcel of pure yumminess - rich yes, and you only need the one, but sooooo good.

We washed down our dinner with the japanese beer on tap - and it's the perfect drink. I highly recommend this place - it's fantastic.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Authentic Japanese in an unlikely location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Went to this restaurant whilst in Brisbane on the recommendation of a local; you would never find it or think of going there otherwise. Restaurant survives on its food as its decor is "tired old suburban restaurant" and passing trade would be non existent. Service was very much struggling ESL but pleasant enough. Menu was random ordered and partially disintegrated. Which leads to the food - very fresh seafood, very tasty and very good sized serves. No BYO was surprising but wine by the glass was reasonably priced. To conclude you would go there for high quality, reasonably priced Japanese food.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“A true Japanese restaurant in Highgate Hill”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

We pass this restaurant often and always talked about eating there and tonight we finally did! The restaurant itself is small and a bit run down, but as soon as we entered we were greeted warmly by the staff. We did note that the staff were Japanese.

The menu has the usual range of entrees and mains for a Japanese restaurant of this standard and is similar to other Japanese restaurants eg. Azabu in Taringa and Hosokawa on Racecourse Rd.

I wouldn't call any of these restaurants cheap, expect to pay around $50 pp.

Although some of the cuts of white fish (sashimi) were a little sinewy, the other cuts of fish seemed very fresh and otherwise, quality was good and the food was tasty. Yes, the drinks were cheaper than Sono, but they were still a bit on the expensive side (and Sono *is* a classier restaurant)

All in all, if you are in the area and looking for some Japanese food, this is a good option. Would return.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sakura Japanese Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sakura Japanese Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.