We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Sushi” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kabuki Japanese Restaurant

Kabuki Japanese Restaurant
Edward Street, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
(07) 32211999
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #106 of 3,283 Restaurants in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Japanese
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Sushi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We've been going here for years - still great. I would recommend the sushi above the teppenkayi, but i'm vegetarian so that is why! All the food is great, staff are helpful and attentive!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    46
    18
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Great service, our cook was great and very fast,service was good aswell, food was delicious, the atmosphere was great, we were right infront of the grill which was our first teppanaki experience, our chef was western but he knew what he was doing and he was very fast, it was a fun and enjoyable night.and i would do it again, prices were reasonable, spent arond $200 but it was worth it, considering all the seafood and the wagyu beef, plus drinks.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
325 reviews 325 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
145 helpful votes 145 helpful votes
“Meal with a difference”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We liked the atmosphere of the place. The meal was presented in a fun and entertaining format and was excellant. Mary thanks to the ex chef for helping us by giving up his time to explain the concept oy the venue.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burleigh Heads, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Very Disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

I love Japanese food, and eat it regularly. Maybe that's why Kabuki was so disappointing. Some nice touches, but generally the quality of the food was little better than family restaurant level in Japan. Which wouldn't be a problem if they charged family restaurant prices of course! But for two of us we weren't far off $200.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, Queensland, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Best Agedashi in Brisbane”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Kabuki is a great little spot. Whether you are sitting at the teppanki grill bar or at your own table, the atmosphere is casual and friendly.
We choose to eat al le carte rather than sit at the bar - mainly because we could have had to squeeze in between to groups and it just wasn't what we wanted. But if you had a big group or a few friends it would be fun to sit up at the bar.
The service wasn't overly friendly but it was polite. The food was good quality and priced at an average meal price in today's market.
While I do really like the atmosphere as it is fun watching the chefs put on a show; I do think that it is a bit loud. Would be prefect for a birthday party with friends.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kabuki Japanese Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Kabuki Japanese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kabuki Japanese Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.