We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor service leaves a bad taste in your mouth.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Harveys

Harveys
4/31 James Street, Brisbane, Queensland 4006, Australia
07 3852 3700
Improve this listing
Ranked #244 of 3,101 Restaurants in Brisbane
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Poor service leaves a bad taste in your mouth.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012 via mobile

Had breakfast here this morning (5 people) Granted, it is close to Christmas and the restaurant was busy. However, the service was unfriendly, if not rude.

It's a pity as the food was nice. Interesting flavours and not your usual breakfast options.

In this day and age where many places serve nice food good service sets restaurants apart. Consequently, I do not recommend this restaurant.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    25
    14
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Once again it never disappoints”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Yes Harveys on James Street is like Guzman not that they are in the same class but in that they are consistent ...you know they do the Thai chicken salad beautifully every time -4 times now- and every thing else they do is always up to standard and you always know the staff is efficient and friendly and sometimes hard to get a coffee!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Simple Pleasures”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

I know I only reviewed Harveys 8 months ago, but I had the most spectacular dining experience last night.
Mind you the Brisbane weather helped.
We had an outside table under a canopy of trees. So just a little out of my comfort zone..
(this is not my usual choice as I love air-conditioning) But I'm with others and I go with the flow..
The simplest of starters. Jamon with deep-fried (ever-so -lightly) zucini flowers.
I know it sounds ..so what???... but it was a sensation .. almost spiritual. ahh..Simple pleasures..
Then I had a perfect slab of cow. Man food at its best. And a great Red from the cellar..A 1991 wirra-wirra, old, soft, and cool from the cellar. Some cheese..
I know dining is as much about the company as the food as the service.. But Harvey’s …well PJ Mc Millan and his loyal staff create a perfect night every time.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Nice location - food average all spoilt by snooty service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Booked for breakfast on a Sat AM. Arrived on time and were given the cold shoulder. We got the attention of another staff member who was quite short with us even though we had booked. They looked reasonably busy but not booked out and we were eventually shown a table.

Menu and water arrived shortly after by another waitress and she was informative and organised. The original waitress eventually returned to take our order and was none too happy to answer a question I had about a meal.

When we ordered our drinks and meals we got a odd stare from her with the remark - 'is that all you are ordering' We felt disappointed here as it was breakfast and we all ordered hot meals but she gave the impression it was an effort to take our order whilst looking down her nose to us.

We confirmed our order and asked for our drinks first and then we were ok with any delay for the meals. We were told the drinks would arrive when they do - eventually we got 2 of 4 drinks and no explaination of when we would be getting others. Meals eventually arrived and 1 was wrong.

We asked if this could be rectified and were told we got what we ordered all whilst the waitress was looking elsewhere and not making eye contact. We accepted what we got and just as we finished the other 2 drinks arrived by a surly looking male waiter.

They were about 50% full and people were coming and going but I would have thought that in this part of town they should expect walk in's but the atmosphere there did not encourage repeat business and we will not be recommending this cafe to friends or family as a result.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
255 reviews 255 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
273 helpful votes 273 helpful votes
“A popular favorite restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Harvey's is a reliably good restaurant, good food matched with a great wine list. It is one of the restaurants that you will return to for sure. Service is usually very good though they need to keep it consistently very good as we have been there a couple of times where the service could be better.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harveys also viewed

Brisbane, Queensland
Brisbane, Queensland
 
Brisbane, Queensland
Brisbane, Queensland
 

Been to Harveys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harveys, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.