We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An unexpected delight” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Moda

Moda
12 Edward Street, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
(07) 3221 7655
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 3,101 Restaurants in Brisbane
Cuisines: Mediterranean
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“An unexpected delight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Went with a friend and no preconceptions - the food was fantastic, portions just the right size, reasonably priced and DELICIOUS! Duck with wild rice and figs. The wine list was not extensive but very well chosen, and the staff engaging and knowledgeable.

I shall return!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    33
    16
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

Fantastic night with Devine food. We loved the share plate and our Lamb to share was superb. Will return for the unique atmosphere.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“So disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We went here for the first time in years... last time was at Portside at the other Moda!!! I promised the darling fiancee a fancy dinner and said it was the same level as Malt, Azafran, Moo Moos.. Well it was more like a Moan than a Moda experience. It was very disappointing with the chipped crockery with food garnished like My Kitchen Rules. We had the chorizo to start and the chicken coquettes followed by the duck and the lamb. The mains were tasty but the presentation needed serious work.

It was Friday night... we made a booking, but realised when we turned up it was half full for a reason. It is expensive $42 for a main, service is good, but in terms of fine dining, this is a very very average affair. Definitely a 5/10 and in terms of value for money - it really doesn't cut it any more. Almost is a fair description Tiershasie.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“three visits now and all good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

consistently inventive, high quality spanish-inspired cuisine with attentive service. i spent 6 weeks travelling in Spain and was disappointed when there to find most food now where near as good as this.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryborough, Australia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Valentines Dinner”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Was disappointed with this overpriced dinner. Firstly, we where not told when we booked that it was a set menu for Valentines Night. We enjoyed the scallops and chicken croquettes The moreton bay bug was overcooked and only had a very meagre amount of flesh. The wagu was tough. So overall . We had multiple wait staff who where just going through the motions. We did however love the wonderful atmosphere in the courtyard and the sharing plate concept. We wouldn't not be hurrying back

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moda also viewed

 
Brisbane, Queensland
 

Been to Moda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.