We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hidden oasis” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Garuva Hidden Tranquility Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Garuva Hidden Tranquility Restaurant
324 Wickham Terrace, Brisbane, Queensland 4006, Australia
07 3216 0124
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,509 of 3,283 Restaurants in Brisbane
Cuisines: Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“hidden oasis”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

such a great little hideaway from all the hustle and bustle of the valley. meals her are amazing, service is a little slow but this wont stop me from coming back!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    32
    28
    13
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Overpriced and awkward”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

We had a booking (it was a hens party) and we stood at reception for so long while a dreadlocked lady right in front of us ignored us. We actually ended up just walking in because we assumed we werent meat to be standing there (as she ignored us) and then we were directed back out, and still had to wait for her to even acknowledge us. How ridiculous! So awkward having to sit on the floor, very loud and due to the curtains and staff that never check on you, we had to crawl and poke our head out of the curtain to get drinks, to order etc. I couldn't believe how expensive and small the meals were, then I found out from someone that it is like a tapas and you are meant to order several meals, at $25 each?! Would never go back.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“hidden tranquility”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Garuva is a really funky, unique restaurant. I love it's concept of sitting on cushions in 'curtained tents' It's very cool. The service on a saturday night is a little rushed and busy but hey they are popular. I really love the blackened chicken with the yummy sauces. The tempura vegtables are great too, but a very large portion. It's good to share and enjoy the dishes. I find it's great for a girls night out or a group night. And the COCKTAILS are the BEST in brisbane. I love the 'shoes off' and the 'after dinner mint'

It's different but in a good way :)

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

Lovely atmosphere, romantic setting, food very average, wine expensive, service slow... Would not hurry back but the cocktail bar out the back looks cool cocktails..$16:00

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colac, Victoria, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Garuva Hidden Tranquility Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

I dont know where you got this photo from, IT IS NOT Garuva Hidden Tranquility Restaurant in Fortitude Valley. Garuva is a stunningly unique restaurant, where every table is partitioned off with flowing curtains, with a seating arrangement not dissimilar to Japanese restaurants. Everything about Garuva restaurant in terms of decor etc is quite unique and lends itself to a lovely intimate environment, in addition to having a separate large cocktail bar, with both lounges and other comfortable seating to take in the activity around it.
Highly recommended for food, drinks, atmosphere and a great night out.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Garuva Hidden Tranquility Restaurant also viewed

 
Brisbane, Queensland
Brisbane, Queensland
 

Been to Garuva Hidden Tranquility Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Garuva Hidden Tranquility Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.