We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great sunday lunch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Customs House Restaurant

Customs House Restaurant
399 Queen Street, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
07-3365 8921
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #53 of 2,980 Restaurants in Brisbane
Price range: $25 - $80
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Customs House has a licensed restaurant which provides inside dining in heritage surroundings as well as outside dining overlooking the river and the Story Bridge. The relaxed dining ambience is popular with tourists, business clients and local customers. Guests can be assured of excellent food, fantastic river views and friendly professional service. The cuisine is modern Australian with an emphasis on fresh seasonal produce including seafood. The wine list has quality wines at competitive prices.Head Chef: Didier Pollaert Chef de Cusine: John OffenhauserLunch: Monday - Sunday 12 noon until 2.30pm Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday from 6.00pm Sunday Breakfast from 9am Cake and Coffee: Every day from 9am
Perth
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
“Great sunday lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

The Customs House has many things going for it, location,views, good wine list, good service and a competant kitchen team.

Went for sunday lunch and half our gorup went for the pris fixe and the other for a la carte.

All worked fine and with the shades it was fine to eat outside.

Service was great and we avoided the wedding party.

Only quible were the kids from a few of the tables running around whilst we're trying to have a relaxing lunch.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    57
    19
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
brisbane
1 review
“fantasic family catch up”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

from the moment we arrived, we were greeted and treated very well. the staff were extreamly friendly. we were given plently of time to review the menu and we did not feel rushed on our special occasion.

the view was magnificient as was the food. i had the steak which was cooked to perfection, followed by the soufle which was delightful. the other members of my party also enjoyed all thier meals they ordered.

we had a terrific evening with beautiful weather and fantastic choice of wines.
we finished by sitting on the terrace after dinner talking over a glass of port.

we will be back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Lunch menu”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We had a special birthday lunch 2 weeks ago and the set menu was wonderful.Lovely scallops and veal for the main course together with a glass of wine. Everybody really enjoyed the meal so we booked again the following Wednesday for another friend's birthday and the experience was very disappointing. The set menu for lunch had changed and there was no choice. Secondly the entre was a very fatty pork belly which made me feel quite ill until the evening. The main course was barramundi which was overcooked and not enjoyable. The service was terrible with very little attention and incompentence. The previous week again was much better. I would hesitate to bring visitors to Brisbane to this venue because of the inconsistency within a week.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gladstone, Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Simply lovely”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Straight up you have to acknowledge the view from the restaurant with the story bridge lit up at night. The old customs house gives a perfect backdrop for dining for either romantic, special function or just wanting a good nights dining. The wait staff are very professional and courteous. The food was beautiful - went down very easily. The cheese option was a great way to round out the evening. Definitely a place I want to come and try again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Brisbane Hidden Secret”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

I took my mother for lunch to what I would describe as one of Brisbane's hidden secrets. We sat out on the terrace overlooking the Brisbane river and the Storey Bridge on what was a wonderful sunny September afternoon. Entre was beautiful plump scallops followed by the most mouth water eye fillet finishing off with tea and Customs House version of a Sundae.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Customs House Restaurant also viewed

Brisbane, Queensland
Brisbane, Queensland
 

Been to Customs House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Customs House Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.