We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst Australian hotel I have stayed in” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Oaks Festival Towers

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Oaks Festival Towers to your Saves list
Oaks Festival Towers
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   108 Albert Street, Brisbane, Queensland 4001, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Stay Longer and Save!
Ranked #69 of 161 Hotels in Brisbane
Canberra, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Worst Australian hotel I have stayed in”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

This hotel has a brilliant location and that is absolutely all it has to recommend it. The reception was poor and checkin tardy, the room was barely clean. We had to wipe the benches of dust before we could use the kettle and had to rinse all plates and cups before we were game to use. The furniture was stained and dirty. Under the bed had not been vacumed in living memory I am sure, as it was littered with paper and rubbish. the carpets felt like they had not been vacummed and as our feet became black am convinced if its done its only cursory. The tiled floor was unmopped when we arrived and was never cleaned in the time we were there, the daily service is minimal and in five days they did not wipe the table top, it became a joke to see if they ever did it and not once was a damp cloth wiped over any surface. The place is tired and neglected and unclean. The staff are young and have no idea of service. the five days we stayed coincided with some sort of youth dance party and it felt, smelt and sounded like we were in a very basic backpackers, there were far more than the legal number staying in units and all were drinking heavily, the place seems to have no control or interest in keeping any sort of standard. I would not put anyone over 25yrs old in the place as it seems full of foreign students and backpackers and it seemed like the staff were taken from the guests... minimal interest or experience in how to run a good hotel, or even an average one. Truly the worst accommodation experience I have had outside a third world country, in many of these the rooms were cleaner and the service far better. Avoid unless desperate or you dont mind paying way over what it is worth.

Room Tip: stay somewhere else unless this is all there is
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OFTB, Manager at Oaks Festival Towers, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
We sincerely apologise that your recent stay at Festival Towers fell short of your expectations. Unfortunately during your stay with us, we did have some guest associated with a local music event who showed lack of respect for other guests and residents of the building. Measures have been instigated to better screen reservations made during similar events in the future. We regret that it seems your apartment was not up to the high standard of presentation and cleanliness that we demand of our housekeeping contractors and this has been urgently addressed with housekeeping manager. Our staff are generally praised for their friendliness and efficiency, so I must sincerely apologise if this was not your experience. Although disappointing to read of your experience, we do welcome your feedback which highlights the need to continually ensure each individual guest experience meets the standard we expect of our staff and product.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    114
    74
    25
    21
See reviews for
62
72
23
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cairns
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights for a family birthday party. We were given two different two bedroom rooms on different levels even though the booking was done together. The only way to get to the other room was to go all the way to the lobby in the lift only to get in a different lift to go back up again. This was nearly impossible because someone with a key from the other room had to come down and meet you to 'swipe' you up to their level. When we asked reception if there was any way that we could avoid this, we were informed not.

My room was on the 14th floor with great views down Albert street. Unfortunately the shower in the room next door would leak water into our carpet when ever they had a shower. Management came after 3 phone calls to put some towels on the ground to soak up the smelly water. These towels stayed here for the length of our stay.

However, the location was great and the beds were comfortable. The T.V. stations were limited to the basics but we didn't end up watching much of it.

Room Tip: Level 15 and above have bigger balconies.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OFTB, Manager at Oaks Festival Towers, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you for detailing your feedback following your recent stay at Festival Towers and we apologise that you experienced some issues that adversely affected your stay. Unfortunately we are not always able to facilitate requests to put 2 reservations on the same floor, and lift restrictions between floors is necessary for the security of residents and hotel guest alike. Management is working with the Body Corporate to rectify the issue that you reported with the leaking shower, and we thank you for notifying us. Should you consider staying with us again in the future please mention your previous experience so that we are able to ensure your next stay reflects the standard that we pride ourselves on.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridgeshire, UK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Was a bit concerned having read some of the negative reviews but had a very good experience at the Oaks Festival Towers, check in was quick and easy, the room was very clean and well appointed and, on the 33rd floor had a great view of the river and the cliffs at Kangaroo Point. The only snag with the room was very quickly rectified with no fuss. The reception staff were helpful and polite at all times.

The location is excellent, with a huge choice of excellent restaurants and cafes in the locality and the main shopping area right on the doorstep.

The only real negative for me was the prohibitively expensive internet access, given how cheap bandwidth is these days there is no excuse for such a blatant rip-off. Happily there is no shortage of free wi-fi in the local cafes.(I can highly recommend Spoons next door, fantastic bacon sarnies!).

That minor niggle aside the Oaks Festival was good value for money and I'll happily stay there next time work sends me to Brisbane.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OFTB, Manager at Oaks Festival Towers, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Many thanks for the feedback on your recent stay at Oaks Festival Towers and I was very happy to read that you were pleased with our facilities and the service from the team. The in-room internet connection and usage charges are set by a separate company who manage the service on our behalf. I'm glad you were able to avail yourself of other options for any extended use. We look forward to you joining the band of regular customers who enjoy staying with us when visiting Brisbane.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Fantastic location for Brisbane City and South Bank. Great room facilities for an apartment and modern with a balcony (not sure if all rooms have balconies) looking over the pool. Only downfall was the $197 charge for one night, which I think was excessive, but very convenient position.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing street as we were first put in a room to the rear side which faced straight in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OFTB, Manager at Oaks Festival Towers, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
It was pleasing to hear you enjoyed your recent overnight stay with Oaks Festival Towers, and we appreciate you taking the time to post your comments. Our rates do vary depending on the length of stay and the demand in Brisbane at the time. We encourage you to become a MyOaks member so that you can always access the best available rates for all our properties. We look forward to being of service to you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Arrived slightly concerned by reviews talking about rude reception staff, dirty rooms and smelly halls. We experienced none of this.

On arrival we were met by a very pleasant member of staff who checked us in within a couple of minutes. As other reviewers mention they do put a $150 hold on your credit card. Experienced this a few times so not a big deal for us.

The room was very tidy and had all you need for a self-catering apartment. Unlike other apartments we've stayed in the housekeeping staff replaced the shampoos and kitchen cleaning materials daily. Housekeeping staff were also very friendly.

The bed was very comfortable...perhaps too comfortable (our "Do not disturb sign" was well used!).

The big thing about these apartments are the location. You are 2 minutes from the main shopping area where you can get a tourbus, 15 minute walk from Southbank and 5 minutes from the Botanics.

Our apartment was on the 23rd floor so had pretty good views. It was pretty quiet though there was a bit of noise from the Irish bar over the road. Admitedly we were there at the start of Schoolies and when Australia were playing England at cricket! Generally very quiet.

Room Tip: Higher the better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OFTB, Manager at Oaks Festival Towers, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thanks for posting your feedback on your recent stay with us at Oaks Festival Towers. We were very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the service we provided. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you stay in Brisbane.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Moresby
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Having read some of the earlier reviews about this aparthotel on Trip Advisor I was a bit concerned I may have made the wrong choice for a long weekend in the city. I was very pleased therefore when I arrived to find I had been allocated a very pleasant and quite spacious one-bedroom apartment. It had everything I needed including fully equipped kitchen, laundry, television and DVD player in the lounge and another television in the bedroom. The bed was king-size and the pillows were soft and fluffy. It was tastefully decorated and had a comfortable sofa. It also had a small verandah that looked out over the swimming pool. It was very clean and the towels seemed to be new.

The location was just what I needed. Walk out of the reception turn left and you are on Albert Street and a 2 minute stroll to the Brisbane shopping malls and restaurants. Go the other way and in a few minutes you are in the Botanical Gardens and on the riverside. Despite being in the busiest part of Brisbane you wouldn't be aware of it when in the apartment as there was hardly any sound noticeable from the streets below and I was on only the 6th of 42 floors.

The price I paid was about one third of what I would have paid for a single room in the Sebel which is directly opposite so this has to be one of the best deals going.

Room Tip: The ones on the lower floors (1-14) have small external balconies. The ones on the upper floors (15...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksCustomerFeedback, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Festival Towers, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Thanks for making the effort to comment on your recent weekend stay with us. It is wonderful to read that you were pleased with your apartment and the facilities, and that you were able to access much of what the Brisbane CBD has to offer quickly and easily from your base with us at Oaks Festival Towers. We look forward to welcoming you back again the next time you have the opportunity to visit Brisbane.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mackay
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I stayed with our 2 month old for two nights. This is the second time we have started here. Of note, the bed was very comfortable and with the addition of a wall mounted television in the bedroom, we both appreciated the added touch. The lovely lady who serviced our apartment was exceptionally polite, certainly the exception to the remainder of the encounters we had with the staff at reception who were short, impolite and generally displeased with their lot. My only other gripe would be the added charge of 44 dollars a night for our infant child when no additional services were provided for the additional cost. Other than that, the rooms were very clean and comfortable and we did enjoy or stay here and will stay with then again.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksCustomerFeedback, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Festival Towers, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
We really appreciate the constructive feedback you’ve provided us following your recent stay at Oaks Festival Towers. We were very pleased to read that you enjoyed your apartment and the facilities. We apologise that you found some of your dealings with the reception team unsatisfactory. We pride ourselves on friendly efficient customer service, and your feedback highlights the need to ensure we focus on this in each and every interaction with our guests. Regarding the extra bedding charge, this is commensurate with a rollaway bed, sofa bed or cot that would have been requested at the time of reservation. Please let us know next time if this not needed or used during your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Oaks Festival Towers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks Festival Towers

Address: 108 Albert Street, Brisbane, Queensland 4001, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Brisbane
#51 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oaks Festival Towers 4.5*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a prime position and providing spacious modern design, first class technology and facilities, is Oaks Festival Towers. Guests can sample top restaurants and late-night bars, irresistible shopping, galleries, theatres, movies and museums which are all nearby. Oaks Festival Towers comprises of one and two bedroom contemporary, self-contained apartments each with a private balcony and city views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Oaks Festival Towers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaks Festival Towers Hotel Brisbane
Oaks Festival Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oaks Festival Towers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.