We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable but OTT and in the middle of nowhere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Emporium Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Emporium Hotel to your Saves list
Emporium Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1000 Ann St | Fortitude Valley, Brisbane, Queensland 4006, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 165 Hotels in Brisbane
Lisbon, Portugal
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
“Very comfortable but OTT and in the middle of nowhere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2010

I stayed two nights at the Emporium, and can honestly it is a fine hotel, with the most outrageous design, in the wrong part of town.
The service was correct and competent throughout, not complains there, but nothing too special either.
The public areas of the hotel are decorated in the flashiest way imaginable, red walls, animal prints and chandeliers everywhere, much like what a futuristic cabaret would look like if cabarets hadn't died out decades ago. It felt quite excessive and tasteless.
The rooms were thankfully played down a notch and were actually quite nice: large, fully equipped, and really comfortable.
The heated plunge pool in the terrace was great, with nice views of the city.
The hotel is located in Fortitude Valley, which is a good half hour power walk away from the CBD, thus making it a wrong option to visit the city for the first time. It's set in a self contained complex comprising apartment and office buildings and restaurants, that sort of came across as the country mouse version of the Ivy. The complex is surrounded by auto stands and furniture outlets and feels quite isolated. We ended up eating there on the two nights (avoid the sushi place, mecah bah is good), in part because we just didn't feel like jumping on a cab to have dinner.
Would I recommend it? Probably not, given the location and over the top design. It's a good hotel nevertheless.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

714 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    516
    149
    29
    10
    10
See reviews for
36
373
41
170
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2010

After having had a horrendous experience at the Sofitel on our last trip to Brisbane, we have firmly decided upon the Emporium as our stay of choice in Brisbane.

Elegant, funky and friendly, all the furnishings are modern, clean and in top notch.

Service is excellent. The cocktail lounge is great- the tapas-style menu works very well.

On our first stay, we were in a suite. On our next stay, we stayed in one of the recently converted 2 room suites. Recommend both highly.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2010

When we found out we were invited to a wedding in Brisbane we were not sure where to book to stay, my husband and I have both stayed in many hotels for business and holidays in Brisbane, and none of them were of first class standard.
To sum it all up with out going in to too much detail- 1st class staff (every single one of them) 1st class rooms (little lindt chocolates on bed every day, comfy and luxurious bed and linen) 1st class cleanliness (sparkling bathrooms!) Great Location surrounded by restaurants , and not far from the city. It really was worth every penny- and although not the cheapest in Brisbane, my husband and I both agree that we will never stay at any other hotel in Brisbane ever again. After staying in some of the nicest hotels in the world, I can honestly say that the Emporium was up there with the best!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2010

When I turned on my phone at the airport after a 2 hour flight from Melbourne, there was a text message - from the Emporium...like an old friend letting me know that they were waiting for me. I had stayed there before and remembered it as a great time.
When the concierge met my hire car in the drive way of the Hotel, it was better than I remembered, the protective cul-de-sac of its location, luminescent red foyer and charming, immaculate staff made me feel like I was stepping into Vogue magazine.... I knew this was going to be a well earned break.
The service, unquestionable, the facilities as described and the sleep - quiet and deep.

Well done Emporium.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2010

We booked into a Standard Room in the Emporium for a weekend for a bit of a break. We enjoyed our weekend at Emporium, but during our stay, we found the hotel lacked the attention to detail that would have made it worthy of its price tag.

First of all, there's plenty to recommend Emporium: amazing cocktails in the bar downstairs, nice Molton Brown products in the bathroom, attentive staff, lovely pool area and gym, funky decor. Clearly a lot of time and effort has gone into making this a great venue.

But there were a lot of little things that missed the mark too during our stay:

For example, there was a slight delay on check-in as staff couldn't find our booking. Seems there had been some kind of data entry error as they found it under a different/ misspelled version of (what might have been) my name when they searched for my email address. This was surprising, given we'd booked it all online and our details should have been clear.

We ordered dinner from room service and it took over 40 minutes, although in fairness we had been warned there would be a wait. No such luck with breakfast on Sunday though, which we had to chase up after waiting 15 mins and call down a second time as they'd forgotten part of our order, an inconvenience when trying to organise timely check-out. (And also when our phone line to the kitchen kept diverting to reception, who would then put us through to the kitchen...!).

It was also surprising that at the time of our stay, none of Emporium's collatoral had been updated to reflect the fact that Belle Epoque has closed down (a note on the website or insert in the in-room information pack would have been less confusing... it was a big drawcard for us in deciding to stay at Emporium in the first place).

We'd hoped to get a session in the sauna in the morning of check-out, but when we arrived upstairs we found the sauna hadn't been turned on (3 hours after pool opening) and it would have required us waiting around for 40 mins to heat up - again, far too long for the morning of check-out.

There were other little things too, too numerous to list, e.g. the charges to our account were listed inconsistently (e.g. sometimes the tray fee was included together with the food, sometimes it wasn't, etc.), which made it difficult to see what we were being charged for on check-out.

FInally - and this was the smallest thing, but the thing that bothered me the most! - after dinner one evening we left our tray outside our door for collection as instructed by the in-room information booklet. But we woke up to find a handwritten note pushed under our door signed by housekeeping, telling us off for not ringing down to the restaurant to have it picked up...

In summary, this is a great hotel, the amenities are excellent and the staff were helpful, but there is a lack of attention to detail across the board that lets the experience down overall.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmporiumManagement, Front Office Manager at Emporium Hotel, responded to this review, October 19, 2010
Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay overall, and we appreciate the honest feedback regarding some experiences that were less than perfect.

As we are constantly operating at a high occupancy, it is imperative for the hotel operations to keep track of any procedures that may fall short during any guest visit. Please rest assured that your constructive comments have been well received and will be immediately addressed wherever possible.

Thank you again for taking the time to pass on your experiences and feedback.

Kind Regards,
Paul Davis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2010

We were a bit nervous about booking this hotel because it was fairly expensive and last time we booked from reviews the hotel was a disappointment. The Emporium was anything but. It was better than we expected - the room was beautiful, the bed was enormous, the spa bath was deep; I honestly couldn't fault anything about the night. Down in the bar, the cocktail list was really impressive (the ones I remember were The Avenue, the Munthari Cooler and the Velvet Fog). The staff were all friendly and helpful but Dan in the bar was a stand out - it's nice to be served by someone who clearly takes pride in his work. We had dinner next door at Mecca Bah and that was beautiful too. Definitely the nicest place I've ever stayed in and I can't wait to go back. I've already told my friends that's where I want to have my hen's night. Loved it, loved it , loved it!!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minneapolis
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2010

We spent two nights at Emporium while visiting friends in Brisbane. We had just arrived from the US so we really needed a nice, quiet, posh pad. The Emporium delivered! The room was new and nice, with very high quality bed linens, down comforter and great pillows. Also, great Molton Brown products (including a lavender temple balm to help you sleep) that made for luxurious bath experience. Cozy robes and slippers too.

Our luggage went missing somewhere along the way and hotel staff gave us constant updates on the status of our bags, right up to the point of the luggage arriving at the hotel.

The gym was small but nice. Rooftop pool deck was beautiful but it was a tad chilly to enjoy whilst we were there. Our room also included a refrigerator, microwave, tea pot and some dishes, should you wish to enjoy food in the room.

In the US, my preference is Kimpton or Starwood (W or Westin) and this delivered a similar experience (minus the W attitude). Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Emporium Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emporium Hotel

Address: 1000 Ann St | Fortitude Valley, Brisbane, Queensland 4006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 165 Hotels in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Emporium Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Established in June 2007, the award-winning Emporium Hotel is Brisbane’s leading luxury boutique property presenting a tangible vision of contemporary elegance and highly personalised service. Offering 102 studio suites, all custom-designed and individually finished with marble kitchenettes and the exquisite sleep pillow menu, the hotel sets a new benchmark for the discerning guest. Located in the heart of Brisbane’s stylish Emporium precinct in Fortitude Valley –a haven for lovers of fashion and food – the Emporium Hotel is just minutes from Brisbane's city centre and chic Valley nightlife. Emporium Hotel is the perfect property for Business, Leisure or Pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz and Despegar.com so you can book your Emporium Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Emporium Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.