We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Plenty of great points, but a lack of attention to the details” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Emporium Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Emporium Hotel to your Saves list
Emporium Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1000 Ann St | Fortitude Valley, Brisbane, Queensland 4006, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Summer Special
Ranked #5 of 161 Hotels in Brisbane
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Plenty of great points, but a lack of attention to the details”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2010

We booked into a Standard Room in the Emporium for a weekend for a bit of a break. We enjoyed our weekend at Emporium, but during our stay, we found the hotel lacked the attention to detail that would have made it worthy of its price tag.

First of all, there's plenty to recommend Emporium: amazing cocktails in the bar downstairs, nice Molton Brown products in the bathroom, attentive staff, lovely pool area and gym, funky decor. Clearly a lot of time and effort has gone into making this a great venue.

But there were a lot of little things that missed the mark too during our stay:

For example, there was a slight delay on check-in as staff couldn't find our booking. Seems there had been some kind of data entry error as they found it under a different/ misspelled version of (what might have been) my name when they searched for my email address. This was surprising, given we'd booked it all online and our details should have been clear.

We ordered dinner from room service and it took over 40 minutes, although in fairness we had been warned there would be a wait. No such luck with breakfast on Sunday though, which we had to chase up after waiting 15 mins and call down a second time as they'd forgotten part of our order, an inconvenience when trying to organise timely check-out. (And also when our phone line to the kitchen kept diverting to reception, who would then put us through to the kitchen...!).

It was also surprising that at the time of our stay, none of Emporium's collatoral had been updated to reflect the fact that Belle Epoque has closed down (a note on the website or insert in the in-room information pack would have been less confusing... it was a big drawcard for us in deciding to stay at Emporium in the first place).

We'd hoped to get a session in the sauna in the morning of check-out, but when we arrived upstairs we found the sauna hadn't been turned on (3 hours after pool opening) and it would have required us waiting around for 40 mins to heat up - again, far too long for the morning of check-out.

There were other little things too, too numerous to list, e.g. the charges to our account were listed inconsistently (e.g. sometimes the tray fee was included together with the food, sometimes it wasn't, etc.), which made it difficult to see what we were being charged for on check-out.

FInally - and this was the smallest thing, but the thing that bothered me the most! - after dinner one evening we left our tray outside our door for collection as instructed by the in-room information booklet. But we woke up to find a handwritten note pushed under our door signed by housekeeping, telling us off for not ringing down to the restaurant to have it picked up...

In summary, this is a great hotel, the amenities are excellent and the staff were helpful, but there is a lack of attention to detail across the board that lets the experience down overall.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmporiumManagement, Front Office Manager at Emporium Hotel, responded to this review, October 19, 2010
Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay overall, and we appreciate the honest feedback regarding some experiences that were less than perfect.

As we are constantly operating at a high occupancy, it is imperative for the hotel operations to keep track of any procedures that may fall short during any guest visit. Please rest assured that your constructive comments have been well received and will be immediately addressed wherever possible.

Thank you again for taking the time to pass on your experiences and feedback.

Kind Regards,
Paul Davis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

637 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    465
    126
    28
    9
    9
See reviews for
35
327
39
153
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Surfers Paradise, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2010

We were a bit nervous about booking this hotel because it was fairly expensive and last time we booked from reviews the hotel was a disappointment. The Emporium was anything but. It was better than we expected - the room was beautiful, the bed was enormous, the spa bath was deep; I honestly couldn't fault anything about the night. Down in the bar, the cocktail list was really impressive (the ones I remember were The Avenue, the Munthari Cooler and the Velvet Fog). The staff were all friendly and helpful but Dan in the bar was a stand out - it's nice to be served by someone who clearly takes pride in his work. We had dinner next door at Mecca Bah and that was beautiful too. Definitely the nicest place I've ever stayed in and I can't wait to go back. I've already told my friends that's where I want to have my hen's night. Loved it, loved it , loved it!!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minneapolis
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2010

We spent two nights at Emporium while visiting friends in Brisbane. We had just arrived from the US so we really needed a nice, quiet, posh pad. The Emporium delivered! The room was new and nice, with very high quality bed linens, down comforter and great pillows. Also, great Molton Brown products (including a lavender temple balm to help you sleep) that made for luxurious bath experience. Cozy robes and slippers too.

Our luggage went missing somewhere along the way and hotel staff gave us constant updates on the status of our bags, right up to the point of the luggage arriving at the hotel.

The gym was small but nice. Rooftop pool deck was beautiful but it was a tad chilly to enjoy whilst we were there. Our room also included a refrigerator, microwave, tea pot and some dishes, should you wish to enjoy food in the room.

In the US, my preference is Kimpton or Starwood (W or Westin) and this delivered a similar experience (minus the W attitude). Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marbella, Spain
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2010

We spent our anniversary at the Emporium hotel, we were greeted with a bottle of Champagne. The room was lovely and spacious, you have the choice between 5 different cushions so you are sure to have a good night sleep! Right next door you have an amazing French brasserie called " La Belle Epoque". I do recommend this hotel is you want to escape for a few days.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sa
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2010

The rooms were lovely, stylish decor attentive staff. Gorgeous French restaurant next door which unfortunately is closing. The bar fridge had a half eaten cookie in it which was a little unfortunate! I was appreciative of the water bottles in the evenings and the "molton brown" products were gorgeous. Overall a top hotel which I would revisit.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HK
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2010 via mobile

stylish but the room is so small,the lamp is dusty but overall is ok. however same value can be staying in Sheraton on the park in Sydney. Internet needs to pay.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2010

My husband & i stayed for a weekend getaway. I read previous reviews before booking, and I was not disappointed. The room was beautiful, modern warm & welcoming. I loved the sip & crave bar in the room, great selection of drinks & snacks. The staff were wonderful and our room was spottless. We had breakfast next door at the french restaurant - they have the best eggs benedict. A great relaxing weekend away.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Emporium Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emporium Hotel

Address: 1000 Ann St | Fortitude Valley, Brisbane, Queensland 4006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 161 Hotels in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Emporium Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Established in June 2007, the award-winning Emporium Hotel is Brisbane’s leading luxury boutique property presenting a tangible vision of contemporary elegance and highly personalised service. Offering 102 studio suites, all custom-designed and individually finished with marble kitchenettes and the exquisite sleep pillow menu, the hotel sets a new benchmark for the discerning guest. Located in the heart of Brisbane’s stylish Emporium precinct in Fortitude Valley –a haven for lovers of fashion and food – the Emporium Hotel is just minutes from Brisbane's city centre and chic Valley nightlife. Emporium Hotel is the perfect property for Business, Leisure or Pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Emporium Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Emporium Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.