We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic value for money” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pullman Brisbane King George Square

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Pullman Brisbane King George Square to your Saves list
Pullman Brisbane King George Square
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cnr Ann and Roma Sts, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia (Formerly The Sebel & Citigate King George Square Brisbane)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #46 of 165 Hotels in Brisbane
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic value for money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

My wife and I had the opportunity to celebrate our 35th wedding anniversary and we did it in style. We caught a flight from our home city of Sydney destination beautiful Brisbane. Our hotel of choice was the Pullman. Although the hotel was going through renovations, the staff were most warm and friendly and catered to our every need. The room was high and extremely clean. We had everything you could wish for. The down stairs bar was reasonably priced and the service was second to none.
Our bed was one of the inviting and comfortable we have slept in.
I recommend this hotel for its location (central to everything).

Room Tip: Ask for a high room above 7 and request to face east
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grant P, General Manager at Pullman Brisbane King George Square, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear John,

Happy Anniversary! It means a lot that you spent your anniversary here at the hotel. What’s even better is that it sounds like you had a terrific stay. We strive to cater to every guest need at the hotel, it’s fantastic you got to experience that and have a sleep in!

John, thank you for your feedback, it will serve as good encourage to the team.

Sincerely,
Grant Parnell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,030 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    290
    442
    208
    63
    27
See reviews for
147
366
79
309
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Honiara
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Twinkle Twinkle Little Star - The Star Rating for this Pullman Hotel are very small in deed.
No way that the Pullman Brisbane King George Square is a Five Star Hotel - do not be fooled by by the rating, this is maybe a Three Star at best, an old hotel with a rating way beyond the stars.
The room I was given was darkish and dingy, small too by a Five Star Standard, very dated, the bathroom was gruby, the grout between the tiles in the shower had not a good clean in a very long time, no complmentary tooth brush or razor, no free wi fi or internet.
A good location, but expensive, service or the lack of it is note worthy, asking for a taxi and being told there is Taxi Rank out on the street and pointing to the vehicles parking lot out front (none of which were taxi's) is not very professional for a Five Star Establishment, having drunken youths running wild in the reception area and no sign of security is not what I expected either. Being told at the front desk that the elevators are down there round the corner is not what I expected either, no offer of assistance with baggage, not what I expected either. A very noisy crowded bar called the KG Bar with drunks falling over one another, again no sight of security. I have to wonder why a Hotel is given a Five Star Rating and charges Five Star Prices for belonging to an Exclusive Hotel Group. We did not eat there as we were informed at reception that the Hotel is rather full and the dinning room is too busy, you could try room service??? No thanks took a short walk for take aways.
Been there, done that, ticked it off and am over it - wont be back.

Room Tip: Try a Different Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grant P, General Manager at Pullman Brisbane King George Square, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear TropoKiwi,

I would like to thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at Mercure Brisbane King George Square.

It is disappointing to us that the service you received was not of the standard that you should expect when staying in a hotel, please accept my apologies. We do take all feedback very seriously at the hotel. It is through such feedback, that we can improve our service to meet our guests needs. I will ensure your comments are passed onto our Food & Beverage Manager, Executive Housekeeper and Rooms Division Manager.

Sincerely,
Grant Parnell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

I have recently stayed at the Pullman in Brisbane for 3 nights on business.

The hotel has a nice and central location (some hotels that target business clientele are a bit further out, but this location was much more suitable). It was a 10min walk to the central business district and shopping areas - so quite convenient for work and any shopping bits and pieces you might need to pick up whilst away.

The rooms were very spacious and the bed and pillows very comfortable. The bathroom was also nice and spacious. Check in and and check out was prompt and efficient.

I did have a bit of trouble with my internet connection (Broadband Sim) whilst trying to do some work from the hotel room. It wasn't that much better in the lobby either, but worked much better once in the actual CBD. Not sure if it was just a high traffic time so badnwidth was down, but that was a little frustrating.

The ground floor has a nice bar/restaurant which was a nice place to have a drink at the end of the day. I can't comment on the breakfast buffet, but the few room service meals I ordered were okay/average.

Would be happy to return here again on business in the future.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grant P, General Manager at Pullman Brisbane King George Square, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Dear HolidayDaydreamer,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent stay at Pullman Brisbane King George Square. I’m glad the hotel met your needs while here on business. Please accept my apologies for the issues you had trying to connect to the internet.

I will share your comments with our team as it serves as good encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to meet our guests needs. HolidayDaydreamer, we look forward to welcoming you again, next time you are in Brisbane.

Sincerely,
Grant Parnell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

I needed a hotel in the centre of Brisbane. The only room available was priced at $450. I chose to add the executive lounge package for convenience.

The airconditioning in my room was too noisy, and I couldn't seem to turn the fan down, so I slept in discomfort.

The executive lounge had all the charm and attractiveness of of budget motel lobby. I would have preferred more healthy options in the canapes; they were mostly fried foods. There was a good selection of wines.

Staff was consistently friendly, and the location is great - but I'd never stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grant P, General Manager at Pullman Brisbane King George Square, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Dear Tassietraveller_348,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent experience at Pullman Brisbane King George Square. It’s great to hear the staff were friendly throughout your visit. The Executive Lounge is something we are still working on and it is through the feedback we receive from our guests that is helping identify anything that we may be able to adjust to suit our guests needs.

Please be assured that we take all feedback very seriously. I will ensure your comments are passed onto our team.

Sincerely,
Grant Parnell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Real Value for money, Breakfast for 2 included WiFi included, valet parking included.
Great spot to stay very handy, excellent food, especially the variety for Breakfast. I definitely recommend this to anyone wanting to stay in Brisbane.
Can't wait to come back again.
Thank you

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grant P, General Manager at Pullman Brisbane King George Square, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at Pullman Brisbane King George Square. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

Sincerely,
Grant Parnell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Recently re-branded to Pullman, this hotel attempts to be five star. The lobby is nice, and the service at reception is great (valet to open door of taxi, greeted immediately upon arrival, quick check-in), but the hotel isn't 5*. Old elevators, worn hallways, and a cheap & modern refurb in the rooms (though bathrooms are still old). Also annoying the gym was out of commission, but no mention of this on their website (they send you to a Mercure two blocks away, which is convenient, but the gym doesn't even have free weights). I paid $199 which included internet and free breakfast, which is a great rate in the Brisbane CBD, so for that price it was awesome value. But just don't expect a luxury hotel. The Marriott in Brisbane claims to be 5* as well and is quite rundown, but overall, it is higher quality than the Pullman.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grant P, General Manager at Pullman Brisbane King George Square, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear Andrew,

I would like to thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at Pullman Brisbane King George Square. It is disappointing to us that the hotel did not meet your expectations. The gym was out of action in April while they continued our refurbishment; however it is fully functional now with all new equipment.

Please be assured that we take all feedback very seriously. It is through such feedback, that we can improve our hotel to meet our guests needs.

Sincerely,
Grant Parnell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

In general, hotel was well located and staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful. Recently refurbished rooms with nice views and all amenities one would expect if traveling for business. Taxi rank right out front and public transport at doorstep makes it easy to get to wherever you need to go quickly.
Pillows though were terrible - good hotels nowadays offer a pillow menu to cater to all sorts of different preferences. I like firmer pillows, preferably foam or orthopedic ones and the ones in the room were these cheap microfiber things that flatten the minute your head hits it. My neck was so sore the day after.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grant P, General Manager at Pullman Brisbane King George Square, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear Holly,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent stay at Pullman Brisbane King George Square. We are very happy with our refurbishment and it’s even better when our guests enjoy it as well.

I’m sorry the pillows were not comfortable for you, unfortunately we don’t have a pillow menu but if you do stay with us again in the future housekeeping does stock a variety of pillows for our guests.

Thankyou again for your feedback, Holly.

Sincerely,
Grant Parnell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Pullman Brisbane King George Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pullman Brisbane King George Square

Address: Cnr Ann and Roma Sts, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia (Formerly The Sebel & Citigate King George Square Brisbane)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in Brisbane
#29 Romantic Hotel in Brisbane
#35 Business Hotel in Brisbane
#40 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Pullman Brisbane King George Square 5*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish Brisbane accommodation located within walking distance of the Queen Street Mall shopping precinct offering guests a full range of services and facilities in relaxed yet sophisticated surroundings. Facilities include restaurant, cafe and bar, fully equipped gymnasium, rooftop swimming pool and Brisbane's largest hotel conference and meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Pullman Brisbane King George Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citigate King George Square Brisbane Hotel Brisbane

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pullman Brisbane King George Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.