We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific room but to get a balcony is expensive” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pullman Brisbane King George Square

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Pullman Brisbane King George Square to your Saves list
Pullman Brisbane King George Square
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cnr Ann and Roma Sts, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia (Formerly The Sebel & Citigate King George Square Brisbane)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Breakfast Offer
Ranked #43 of 161 Hotels in Brisbane
Geelong, Australia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Terrific room but to get a balcony is expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel on many occasions when it was the Sebel. The change to the Pulman see much better furniture and fittings and the soft bed is awesome. Unfortunately under the Sebel I was always given a room with a balcony free of charge where the Pullman asks for an additional $50. The hotel is in a great central location.

Room Tip: Try and get a free upgra to a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grant P, General Manager at Pullman Brisbane King George Square, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for your thoughts regarding your recent stay at Pullman Brisbane King George Square.

It is always great to receive positive feedback and I will ensure your comments are passed onto our team.

Sincerely,
Grant Parnell
General Manager
Pullman Brisbane King George Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

883 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    384
    184
    52
    24
See reviews for
119
320
70
272
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

The room rate was $388 for a completely ordinary hotel room . Everything seemed clean. The bathroom was compact with the shower over the bath. The room had anti-theft coat hangers and this fact always sets a low tone for a hotel. Why it is not possible to have respectful furnishing that are for-sale is beyond me; assuming guests are dishonest just is not a good attitude to have.

The bed was very firm and I didn't sleep well on it. The beds must be a known problem since they come with after-market pillow tops - mine felt like a low quality egg crate style one.

The wifi speed was good although it did not work until the access point was reset. Wifi was included in my room rate but isn't in all booking categories.

The air conditioning is configured to prevent the selection of a temperature lower than 19C. This is a mean spirited thing to do - most properties I stay at allow 17C as a selection and perhaps I'd have slept better here had I been able to select my preferred temperature for sleeping.

Overall this is a very average hotel. It's the sort of place I'd tolerate staying at again if the rate was $240 or lower but on the other hand my first preference would be to try for somewhere nicer.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grant P, General Manager at Pullman Brisbane King George Square, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at Pullman Brisbane King George Square.

It is disappointing to hear that the hotel did not meet your expectations. Please be assured that we take all feedback very seriously. It is through such feedback, that we can improve our service to meet our guests needs. I will ensure your comments are passed onto our team for review.

Sincerely,
Grant Parnell
General Manager
Pullman Brisbane King George Square
Mercure Brisbane King George Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Wotif mystery deal: Arrived just after the city got smashed by a super storm. Trees down, windows blown out of other buildings, flooding! But we literally got a park on the street right outside the hotel..had to double check the signs to make sure we could stay there so that saved us the exorbitant $40 parking fee. Everything else was great.. friendly, efficient staff at reception and concierge desk.
The room was great..good size with the best bed i've slept in..beautifully decorated (newly refurbished) great views of the Uniting Church Cathedral (3 weddings in 3 hours), and a short hop over King George Square into the mall. Loves: views, bed, decor, bathroom kit (soap etc), kettle fits under the sink, easy to use in-room safe. Could have been better: tv constantly cracking, shower screen didn't stop torrent of water escaping to the bathroom floor.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Brisbane, good value for money and great rooms and location!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grant P, General Manager at Pullman Brisbane King George Square, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thankyou for the great feedback regarding your recent stay at Pullman Brisbane King George Square. I have taken on board your comments about the TV and shower screen and will let our engineering team know to keep an eye out for it.

It is always wonderful to receive positive feedback and I will ensure your comments are passed onto our team.

Sincerely,
Grant Parnell
General Manager
Pullman Brisbane King George Square
Mercure Brisbane King George Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Booked this hotel through wotif for a very good deal on a friday night. We stayed in a renovated tower and had a corner room. It was great size and good view. It was our aniversary so i wanted something special. The room did not dissapoint.

With staff we however had mized experiences. They were very friendly and available always, however on a number of occasions when we had requested something it was not followed up at all. Not wanting to worry about that we have just left it.

We did not eat at the hotel, however had room service delivery of some food and it was although expensive, very nice. Be warn there isnt that much choice available, especially for special diet needs.

Room Tip: Make sure you check which part of the hotel you are stayin at as there appear to be renovated and no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grant P, Manager at Pullman Brisbane King George Square, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at Pullman Brisbane King George Square. It’s great to hear the room made your anniversary special. When you stay with us next time, please let the Food & Beverage staff know if you have any dietary requirement, our chefs are always happy to tailor a meal to suit your needs.

We like to receive positive feedback at the hotel and I will ensure your comments are passed onto our team especially your comments regarding the staff.

Sincerely,
Grant Parnell
General Manager
Pullman Brisbane King George Square
Mercure Brisbane King George Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

As I was spending the night in the city to celebrate my birthday with my two daughters I wanted it to be a bit special, and the girls were excited to be going into the city overnight. Unfortunately as soon as I walked into the room I was left extremely disappointed. It felt like we were sleeping in a broom cupboard. I don't think I have ever seen a window so small in a hotel room. It was almost claustrophobic. The room was very old and dated. The bathroom wasn't much better.
We got over that and walked into the mall area looking for somewhere to eat. We decided to go back to the hotel restaurant fronting Ann Street. The restaurant wasn't busy but the meals took forever to come out. The food was average, and my daughter asked for her steak to be medium, but it was bloody to say the least. We told the waitress and she said she would speak to her manager, but that was the end of it. We got sick of waiting, so paid the bill and left disappointed with the service. I am always looking out for hotels for colleagues to stay in and certainly won't be recommending this particular one :(

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room that has a decent size window and maybe ask if the room has been renovated
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grant P, General Manager at Pullman Brisbane King George Square, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at Mercure Brisbane King George Square. It is disappointing to hear that the service you received did not meet your expectations and I have certainly taken on your comments regarding the room and restaurant.

Please be assured that we take all feedback very seriously. It is through such feedback, that we can improve our service to meet our guests needs. I will ensure your comments are passed onto our team especially our Food and Beverage team.

Sincerely,
Grant Parnell
General Manager
Pullman Brisbane King George Square
Mercure Brisbane King George Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pullman Brisbane King George Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pullman Brisbane King George Square

Address: Cnr Ann and Roma Sts, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia (Formerly The Sebel & Citigate King George Square Brisbane)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Brisbane
#30 Business Hotel in Brisbane
#33 Romantic Hotel in Brisbane
#35 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Pullman Brisbane King George Square 5*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish Brisbane accommodation located within walking distance of the Queen Street Mall shopping precinct offering guests a full range of services and facilities in relaxed yet sophisticated surroundings. Facilities include restaurant, cafe and bar, fully equipped gymnasium, rooftop swimming pool and Brisbane's largest hotel conference and meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, ACCOR and TripOnline SA so you can book your Pullman Brisbane King George Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citigate King George Square Brisbane Hotel Brisbane

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pullman Brisbane King George Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.