We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel to stay if you get a good deal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pullman Brisbane King George Square

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Pullman Brisbane King George Square to your Saves list
Pullman Brisbane King George Square
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cnr Ann and Roma Sts, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia (Formerly The Sebel & Citigate King George Square Brisbane)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Breakfast Offer
Ranked #43 of 161 Hotels in Brisbane
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Nice hotel to stay if you get a good deal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Booked this hotel through wotif for a very good deal on a friday night. We stayed in a renovated tower and had a corner room. It was great size and good view. It was our aniversary so i wanted something special. The room did not dissapoint.

With staff we however had mized experiences. They were very friendly and available always, however on a number of occasions when we had requested something it was not followed up at all. Not wanting to worry about that we have just left it.

We did not eat at the hotel, however had room service delivery of some food and it was although expensive, very nice. Be warn there isnt that much choice available, especially for special diet needs.

Room Tip: Make sure you check which part of the hotel you are stayin at as there appear to be renovated and no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grant P, Manager at Pullman Brisbane King George Square, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at Pullman Brisbane King George Square. It’s great to hear the room made your anniversary special. When you stay with us next time, please let the Food & Beverage staff know if you have any dietary requirement, our chefs are always happy to tailor a meal to suit your needs.

We like to receive positive feedback at the hotel and I will ensure your comments are passed onto our team especially your comments regarding the staff.

Sincerely,
Grant Parnell
General Manager
Pullman Brisbane King George Square
Mercure Brisbane King George Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

876 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    236
    381
    183
    52
    24
See reviews for
118
317
69
271
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

As I was spending the night in the city to celebrate my birthday with my two daughters I wanted it to be a bit special, and the girls were excited to be going into the city overnight. Unfortunately as soon as I walked into the room I was left extremely disappointed. It felt like we were sleeping in a broom cupboard. I don't think I have ever seen a window so small in a hotel room. It was almost claustrophobic. The room was very old and dated. The bathroom wasn't much better.
We got over that and walked into the mall area looking for somewhere to eat. We decided to go back to the hotel restaurant fronting Ann Street. The restaurant wasn't busy but the meals took forever to come out. The food was average, and my daughter asked for her steak to be medium, but it was bloody to say the least. We told the waitress and she said she would speak to her manager, but that was the end of it. We got sick of waiting, so paid the bill and left disappointed with the service. I am always looking out for hotels for colleagues to stay in and certainly won't be recommending this particular one :(

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room that has a decent size window and maybe ask if the room has been renovated
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grant P, General Manager at Pullman Brisbane King George Square, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at Mercure Brisbane King George Square. It is disappointing to hear that the service you received did not meet your expectations and I have certainly taken on your comments regarding the room and restaurant.

Please be assured that we take all feedback very seriously. It is through such feedback, that we can improve our service to meet our guests needs. I will ensure your comments are passed onto our team especially our Food and Beverage team.

Sincerely,
Grant Parnell
General Manager
Pullman Brisbane King George Square
Mercure Brisbane King George Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
142 hotel reviews
Reviews in 99 cities Reviews in 99 cities
148 helpful votes 148 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Location
This hotel is located in downtown Brisbane (CBD) very much close to the centre with shops, bars and restaurants all in close vicinity. If you need to be in the heart of Brisbane, then this is a perfect location.
Room
The day spa suite as I believe it was called, was very nice. It was only for a day rest as i flew in during the day and left late at night. The room is basically a large suite on a high floor. It has a large living room decked out in modern plush grey comfortable furnishings and has a large built in tv to wall with a couch and comfortable chairs as well as a large dining room table. The room is very spacious. The adjoining bedroom was large and very comfortable double bed with soft stylish bedding. With good air conditioning facing a large tv facing the Bed also built into wall.
The windows have a really good view of below. The bathroom is very large with two sinks, a bidet and toilet with a large jacuzzi bath but for one person, however this is better because all the spa jets are perfectly aligned to the body and it is a very relaxing bath experience. There is also a very large shower with good shower heads and controls. The bathroom is very spacious and airy with good natural light. Overall,the room was very comfortable and presented clean. Not sure how much it cost as I didn't pay so cannot comment on value for money.
Facilities
Can't really comment on the facilities as didn't use but believe there is a swimming pool and various restaurants. The lobby though is nice with plentiful lounge seating. However WIFI is available in the room but they charge somewhere in excess of 20 aus dollars for 24 hours use which I think is quite unfair.
Staff
Only had minimal interaction with lobby staff as company dealt with them on my behalf, however they seemed friendly especially the door men whom always open the doors of cars and offer friendly relaxed dialogue. Be warned though members of Accor hotels to sort this out before you arrive if you want to earn points as hotel does not have system as yet or taking membership cards even though it is member of Accor hotels group.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grant P, General Manager at Pullman Brisbane King George Square, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at The Sebel King George Square. What a great review, its sounds like you really enjoyed the room! With regards to been an Accor Club member, we have recently had a change of ownership from one company to Accor. We have now implemented the process so that Accor members will now be recognised.

It is always wonderful to receive positive feedback and I will ensure your comments are passed onto our team.

Sincerely,
Grant Parnell
General Manager
The Sebel King George Square Brisbane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

This is the first time I had stayed at this hotel, only stayed one night when in Brisbane on business recently. Myself and two others arrived at the hotel to be pleasantly surprised by the newly renovated reception area, we were then told all three of us had been upgraded to the newly renovated tower rooms. The rooms are really nicely done, great modern furnishings and not your standard hotel decor. The bathroom however had not been done, while it still presented well the shower over the bath was disappointing and it was impossible to shower without flooding the bathroom as the seal on the shower screen did not seal!

What was quite impressive about this hotel however were the staff who seemed very helpful at every encounter, one of my travelling companions was having trouble with an injured leg and needed a doctor and the staff went to great lengths to try and assist.

We ate dinner in the in house restaurant also recently renovated and were again pleasantly surprised with a good quality meal at a reasonable price. Breakfast was typically hotel expensive $29.00 and not great quality.

As always though a pretty good stay there were a few things on the down side. In room broadband connection was expensive at $29.00 for 24 hours with a small download limit which was very poor value at a time when many cheaper hotel are now making broadband free. Secondly the air conditioning fan in the rooms was very noisy and hard to sleep with, I tried turning it off then the room became to hot, my companions also complained of this problem so I think all rooms are the same.

A good stay overall though and at $289 reasonable value for the central location.

Room Tip: I don't think all rooms are yet renovated so ask for one when booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalow, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

This was the second time we had stayed in the Sebel & Citigate King George Square in the past six months. The first stay was great, the location is really central and handy to everything. The rooms were fine the first time, a bit dated but nice all the same. The last stay was excellent. Same great friendly and competent staff. This time we were thrilled to find the rooms had been renovated and updated. The new look is great. Ultra modern. It felt a bit like a little city apartment. The bathroom was the same, I imagine they are going to work on those too. Overall the experience was excellent. The staff were fantastic and I really enjoyed the stay. We would definitely stay here again for the superb location and staff. Probably best to request a newly refurbished room. I think it is about to switch to a Pullman Hotel, we will stay there again regardless.

Room Tip: Request a newly decorated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

It was a bit of an effort to actually find the Sebel (with a bus parked in front of the sign on the footpath). We were greeted by friendly staff and found our way to a dated but clean room. We were lucky the weather had closed in and it was not the predicted 35 degrees as the pool was closed for repair. This hotel is in a great location and there were no issues leaving the car in the carpark after we checked out to allow us some time in the city. Not bad for a night or two.

Room Tip: Our room on level 5, tower side had a metal plate above the window that made quite a noise when it r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waikato
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

As a regular international traveller for twenty years, you know what constitutes a good hotel, and what price range to expect. Sebel Citigate is over-priced for what it is.

Yes the location and breakfast is good. However, the room I stayed in for 3 nights was shabby, old fashioned and mediocre. All of the mirrors were corroded, the bathroom tiles were stained, and the bed cover threadbare. Additionally the exchange rate on payment was considerably more than the exchange rate on the internet and banks, with no explanation offered.

I believe that the hotel is being upgraded. It is a shame that guests are subjected to old rooms.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pullman Brisbane King George Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pullman Brisbane King George Square

Address: Cnr Ann and Roma Sts, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia (Formerly The Sebel & Citigate King George Square Brisbane)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Brisbane
#30 Business Hotel in Brisbane
#31 Romantic Hotel in Brisbane
#35 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Pullman Brisbane King George Square 5*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish Brisbane accommodation located within walking distance of the Queen Street Mall shopping precinct offering guests a full range of services and facilities in relaxed yet sophisticated surroundings. Facilities include restaurant, cafe and bar, fully equipped gymnasium, rooftop swimming pool and Brisbane's largest hotel conference and meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, ACCOR and TripOnline SA so you can book your Pullman Brisbane King George Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citigate King George Square Brisbane Hotel Brisbane

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pullman Brisbane King George Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.