We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Place for Breakfast in Brisbane” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shouk Cafe

Shouk Cafe
14 Collingwood Street, Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #32 of 3,101 Restaurants in Brisbane
Cuisines: Middle Eastern, Australian, Israeli
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“The Best Place for Breakfast in Brisbane”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

I have been here a couple of times now with friends for breakfast and brunch. The menu is a decent size and the food is fantastic. I particularly recommend the potato stacks as they are great. I also like the flexibility of the breakfasts as you can add and remove elements of each dish as much as you like.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    9
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Victoria Point, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“What a surprise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Not being one for out and about in the 'high end of town,' least of all for a pseudo business breakfast, there was no-one more surprised than me to find, tucked away in a side street, on the side of a hill and with warm morning winter sun streaming in the front area of the cafe but "Shouk".
Sounds middle eastern? Yes it is!
Even more pleasantly surprising was the menu utilising fresh local produce. What a choice, something for all tastes and styles. If you haven't tried Shakshuka - then you must. Yum. maybe something a little sweeter - its all there - what about pear fritters? Pear fritters served with rose water syrup and a pistachio and halva semifreddo. Of course there's 'The Jackson' Shouk's big breakfast for those wanting a more traditional Aussie type brekky.
Friendly staff and a great chef - what more could you ask for to start a work day or spend a leisurely Sunday morning - Great coffee by the way - or end a stressful day? I'm spreading the word - its a' must go again':)

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

I have been here 3 times now, with friends for brunch and breakfast. Every time it is excellent. They have that extra flavour infused into what they cook - the dukkah and pomegranate molasses on the smashed avocado and eggs for example, give it that gorgeous taste. Coffee is good and the service is also just right - helpful but not in your face. They even have a rug for those who sit near the door and might be cool.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great coffee, great food, great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Shouk cafe is tucked away in Collingwood St, near the antique centre in Paddington.
The service is always friendly and efficient. The menu consists of a delightful variety of offerings, some with a middle eastern flavour...which is no surprise as the owner hails from that part of the world! Coffees are delicious.
It is open for breakfast and lunch and is always busy, especially on weekends...a good sign of its quality, I think!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful middle eastern breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

Without a booking on a Sunday morning we were lucky to get a table such is the popularity of this latest addition to Paddington. We were seated in the rear section with lovely views over Brisbane. Food is very different and delicious. We tried the Shakshuka (baked eggs) and the Jackson (their version of a big brekky). Both were superb. The waiters could not have been more attentive and eager to please. If I have one tiny criticism, it would be the size of their "mugs" which are really only cup size. Will definitely add Shouk to our list of favourites.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shouk Cafe also viewed

Brisbane, Queensland
Brisbane, Queensland
 
Brisbane, Queensland
Brisbane, Queensland
 

Been to Shouk Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shouk Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.