We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Lucerne” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lucerne on Fernberg

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Brisbane
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lucerne on Fernberg
Save
You added Lucerne on Fernberg to your Saves list
23 Fernberg Road | Paddington, Brisbane, Queensland 4064, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 63 Brisbane B&B and Inns
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Lucerne”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

Lucerne on Fernberg is a great B & B. Fine accommodation, quietly located in a great part of Brisbane. We enjoyed the comfort of its well appointed charm, nestled in the historic homestead's private grounds. Hosts Brian and Helen were very welcoming to make our stay even more enjoyable. Ever picked a place to stay from website information and testimonials, only to be disappointed? Not Lucerne, it is everything it promises to be and more. Experience Lucerne and you'll want to stay forever.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
39
4
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Stayed at Lucerne early Dec. The reviews on tripadviser were all very positive so we booked a 2 night stay. The room we had was superb with great facilities. Brian and Megan were great hosts and as we travel to Brisbane often we are pleased to have found such a great place to stay.
All the reviews talk about the great eggs supplied from the hens and they are right they are great.
Thanks Brian and Megan you are great hosts.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

When we self-arranged our first trip to Australia, we never thought how very much we'd learn to love Oz. We've just arrived back in the United States - after our 3rd trip - and ALL the previous accolades we gave to Brian and Helen, owners of Lucerne on Fernberg, remain ones of complete delight. I have to admit that we are now very good friends of Brian and Helen and thus our "standing applause" might be suspect. Believe that if you will, but listen to all the others who've stayed at Lucerne on Fernberg. Final note: Each time we return to Brisbane, we immediately notice more and more improvements. What we thought was already near perfection, has been improved even more. I could go on and on, but do yourself a real favor and stay in the Best B&B in the world located at 23 Fernberg, Brisbane, QLD.

Room Tip: There are two separate self-contained cottages. Thus, one can have complete privacy and the loo, ki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

This is a terrific place to stay in Brisbane. I was in Rose Cottage and found it very comfortable; the homey-ness of it and the peace and quiet made it very restful. Brian is the kind of host who truly makes you feel welcome. I would highly recommend this place in particular to foreign tourists looking for a more in-depth Aussie experience than you would get in a hotel. At Lucerne you can stay in a residential neighborhood that is close to two areas packed with restaurants and shops (Thai, Indian, Italian, Mexican, coffeeshops, ice cream, gourmet food store, etc. within 10 minutes' walk); a short walk to the train station; a longer walk to the river ferry; and within walking distance of some of the Brisbane rent-a-bike program's bike stations (lovely to bike along the river!). Having a kitchen means it's easy to cook simple meals or reheat leftovers from restaurant meals. You can even use the barbeque and enjoy the lovely grounds. It's central enough to be convenient while being removed enough to be quiet and peaceful. And it's above flood line! Highly recommend to all. To top it off, it is excellent value. You won't find accommodation of similar quality at this price elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

We stayed 3 nights in the Coach house and everything was just wonderful. Brian is a fantastic host always helpful, approachable and just a lovely person! The Coach house was spotless with a small kitchen on the ground floor well-stocked with everything you need for a good breakfast (cereals, milk, eggs, cheese, butter, vegemite, honey, peanut butter, tea, coffee, juice, water, crackers, bisquits). On the top floor there is a bedroom with a super comfy bed, a small lounge with TV, DVD player + CDs and a modern bathroom.
Close to Lucerne is Rosalie where we found several nice restaurants and the whole area of Paddington is a mix between old wooden residential villas and streets with cafes and shops, the right spot for a stroll. It's also close to the stadion and if you are into footy it cannot get any better. We loved the whole experience to be able to explore the neighbourhood as well as jumping into the train and drive 2 stops into the city.
ISo whenever you come to Brisbane this is the address to stay! It's the right spot to relax after a busy day cruising through the city or being out for business

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orpington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

Rose cottage in the grounds of Lucerne on Fernberg is a great location in its own right and so covenient for central Brisbane-only 2 stops on the train from nearby Milton station.
We appreciated the peace and quiet of being able to cater for ourselves with free range eggs laid by the owner's chickens, fresh fruit and home made bread. The bedroom/lounge was very comfortable and the large wet room superb -an experience in itself. To cap it all you have Brian the perfect host who goes out of his way to help, even offering to guide me to the airport-he'll tell you the story.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

Rose Cottage is fully self contained, well furnished and in a fabulous secure location. Breakfast, including eggs from their own chickens, is included in the price and the owner, Brian Hollins, is extremely friendly and helpful - goiing that extra mile to make the stay more enjoyable. I would recommend it to anyone, be it a holiday or business trip, who wants quiet, secluded, good quality, clean accommodation.

Room Tip: Both Rose Cottage and the Coach House are both at the back of the property.away from the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lucerne on Fernberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lucerne on Fernberg

Address: 23 Fernberg Road | Paddington, Brisbane, Queensland 4064, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in Brisbane
Number of rooms: 2

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lucerne on Fernberg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.