We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kingsford Riverside Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Kingsford Riverside Inn to your Saves list
Kingsford Riverside Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   114 Kingsford Smith Drive, Brisbane, Queensland 4007, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 165 Hotels in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

My last five days at the Kingsford Riverside Inn was excellent. The room and facilities are clean. They have unlimited free wifi, free continental breakfast, and its idealy located within close proximity to the CBD and the airport. It faces the Brisbane river and has beatuful views. They also have ample car park space and the staff are very friendly and helpful. I felt at home!
The rooms are spacious and have a huge LCD TV, Bar Fridg and balcony. You cant find a better deal at the same price.

Room Tip: All rooms are good. For those with large bags it will be advisable to get the rooms on the ground fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles D, Owner at Kingsford Riverside Inn, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Dear Jeffrey,
Thank you for your kind comments.
It means a lot to us when our efforts to provide a nice stay are appreciated! This has gone a long way to restoring our morale after the ungraciousness of the previous review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    32
    4
    6
    11
See reviews for
22
29
28
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

It was never made clear when I booked a room at this hotel that the showers and toilets are public and worse than a high-school locker room. The men's shower room/toilet door to the hall didn't even close. No elevator. Traffic noise all night long. Filthy kitchen. Showers that give barely a trickle. The back looks onto a seedy race track. Stay away.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles D, Owner at Kingsford Riverside Inn, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Yes, we do have shared facilities, but as this guest booked from our website which does say so, the complaint is a bit “dog ate my homework” on the shared facilities front . A few seconds perusing the website or reading up onTrip Advisor before the event might have spared us his ungracious presence and this sad and uninformed rant.

If a guest feels they have any problem, just communicate with us. We’re here to help! We would love to be able to provide 5 star facilities but that is not the market we are in. We are very happy that the great majority of reviews that our guests appreciate the clean rooms and facilities, our supremely convenient location, our helpful staff, the free internet, free breakfast, free parking, and the value they get for their money.

Our kitchen is for everyone’s use and it is cleaned several times a day. If a guest may have left it untidy a comment to any of the staff will have it set right in seconds. Or you could get off the high horse and muck in like like a True Blue would do!

Our showers generally have excellent water pressure and we have lots of hot water, but Australia is the world’s driest continent and all showers in Brisbane establishments are limited by law to 6 litres per minute. Most people don’t even notice. We inspected all of the shower heads and replaced a few just in case , which is what we would have done on the spot had anyone advised us of a problem.

All of the bathroom doors do close, but sometimes in hot weather people wedge them open for extra airflow. You don’t need to be a rocket scientist to notice the rubber door wedge and when you remove it; it allows the door to close! While checking we did discover a missing door latch which has been replaced.

Albion Park Raceway which we overlook at the back is broadcast frequently on national TV. It also contains one of the best venue restaurants in Brisbane. I’m not sure how the owners would react to it being described as “Seedy” but I imagine they won’t lose a lot of sleep over it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bundaberg
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

We had been looking for someone to stay close to the Brisbane city area to stay with our dog. We finally found this place which is convenient and the selfcontained pet friendly room suited our needs. It is fully selfcontained, clean and it was great being able to have our pet with us too.

Anyone who whinges about this place obviously is very hard to please as it is very diffcult to obtain budget accommodation in this location in Brisbane.

We'll be back.

John & Nono

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles D, Owner at Kingsford Riverside Inn, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Dear John & Nono,
Thank you for your review.

This is the only such facility we know of in Brisbane, where you can genuinely have your pet with you, just like at home, and we are so happy that it's appreciated!

Some years ago we had a lady stay with us who was waiting for her beloved dog to arrive from UK. She looked and looked for somewhere to stay with her pet, to no avail. We couldn't see her putting him in a kennel, so the idea for our Pet Friendly Room was born.

Many motels are leased or under corporate control and simply won't countenance pets on the property. As we're the owners that decision is ours, and we're fortunate to have this little facility, separate from the normal guest areas. We know it's a little basic, but that's perhaps some of its charm, because you know you can relax. No regulations, no petty restrictions, we want you to feel at home.

It's a real pleasure for us to be able to offer this facility, we've met so many nice people and we're just delighted that we're able to help.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

I recently stayed one night at the Kingsford Riverside in with my elderly mum and 2 young sons in a family room, and was very happy with our stay. The rooms are basic, but very clean and comfortable. The facilities are shared but we didn't have to wait at all, and didn't find that an inconvenience at all. The staff were very helpful and friendly, especially helping us with our luggage and chasing up taxis that were running late. I thought that it was great that a continental breakfast was available, especially as many of the more expensive hotels don't include it. I would definitely stay here again. The rooms are a little noisy, as it is on a main road, but that didn't bother us at all.

Room Tip: Dosn't have a lift, so if you have any mobility issues, then ask for a room on the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles D, Owner at Kingsford Riverside Inn, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Hello Sharon,
It was a pleasure to read your review and it is a real boost when peole appreciate our fairly humble (but clean, comfortable and good value) establishment. We do try to make it so that once people have checked in, they don't then have to keep putting their hand in their pocket for a cup of tea, a biscuit, the internet, car parking etc etc.
We often feel that there are many people in the "hospitality" business who have no idea of the meaning of the word. It was my pleasure to chase up the taxi. Luck I did because the'd cancelled the first one!
Thank you for reviewing us, and we're looking forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

If you are wanting value for money and a very clean place to stay close to the City (Brisbane), then Kingsford Riverside Inn is the place to check in. Room choices vary in size and bed count. All have flat panel TV (digital), Fridge, Coffee/Tea/Biscuit facility and hot/cold running water in basin. The room rate includes a continental breakfast. Also, provided free is wireless internet access with no restrictions and excellent connection speed.

The hotel provides a well appointed kitchen for making and cooking your own meals. However, if you prefer not to make/cook your own then the Breakfast Creak Hotel is within 5 minutes walk where you can purchase one of their famous steak meals.

If you don't have your own transport, bus and taxi facilities are easily accessible and bus stops are literally at the front door. Parking is available at the hotel if you have your own vehicle.

On the negative side, the rooms do not have ensuites. But, the shared ablution facilities are on each level and women and men facilities are separate and kept very clean with abundant hot water. Due to the hotels location, traffic noise can be noticeable but I suspect a room located at the rear would reduce this considerably.

Overall, this hotel is very clean, comfortable and very affordable for accommodation so close to the CIty. The staff are friendly and super helpful wanting to ensure your stay encourages you to return. I recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms with balcony are larger (east side). Rooms to the rear and on upper levels would be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles D, Owner at Kingsford Riverside Inn, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Hello IcedSpud, we've finally finished re-fitting the whole building with new laminated windows, ranch sliders and reverse cycle air conditioners, so you'll find the street noise is now a lot less noticeable... Belated thanks for your review and looking forward to seeing you next time, Regards, Charles.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

I recently stayed at this hotel for over a week (discount if you stay for a week).The room was very clean with TV, Fridge, Sink, Air con, and Tea & coffee also wi fi worked good the shared bathroom and toilet was also clean and never occupied when I went there. The staff were friendly and very helpful if I needed any info about Brisbane or how to get from A to B. There is a Continental all you can eat breakfast which is available early in the morning. I have traveled all over the World and would be happy if I could find budget accommodation near as good as the Kingsford.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles D, Owner at Kingsford Riverside Inn, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Hello Toni, we enjoyed having you with us, some people just fit in! Best of luck wherever you are, maybe we'll see you again! Regards,
Charles.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012 via mobile

Traffic noise, no parking, no lift, no toilet or shower in room, Internet doesn't work in room, these days expect a bit better ..even at that price. At very least disclose openly and clearly that room has no ensuite. Never again!

Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles D, Owner at Kingsford Riverside Inn, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
In August we replaced “Our Faithful” wi-fi transmitter with the latest superfast router which was indeed fast but lacked the penetrating power of the older one.
Our solid brick structure keeps our rooms relatively quiet and the new router wasn’t able to drive the signal to a small number of rooms. Problem solved – we located our new transmitter in the hallways opposite the rooms and installed a booster on each level. Now it’s better than ever – fast, reliable and still FREE!
We make no secret of what we are – a budget hotel in one of Brisbane’s best locations. We’ve been here for over 60 years. As anyone reading our ads or your reviews will already know, we don’t have ensuites but we’re still regarded by our many satisfied guests – families, businessmen, tourists, backpackers, workers - as the best value-for-money hotel in Brisbane. Many of our guests have been coming here for years and won’t stay anywhere else!
We find that people who are comfortable with themselves are comfortable here but there will always be those who have expectations of 5 star facilities at a 3 star price.
This particular guest happened to book a room at the last minute on a night when there was a major event in Brisbane. The hotel was full when he arrived and he had to use overflow parking because our main parking areas were full. You can’t please all of the people all of the time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kingsford Riverside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingsford Riverside Inn

Address: 114 Kingsford Smith Drive, Brisbane, Queensland 4007, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kingsford Riverside Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Kingsford Riverside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingsford Riverside Hotel Brisbane

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kingsford Riverside Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.