We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, roomy, helpful” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Oaks 212 Margaret

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Oaks 212 Margaret to your Saves list
Oaks 212 Margaret
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   212 Margaret Street, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #103 of 161 Hotels in Brisbane
Aalborg, Denmark
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Clean, roomy, helpful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2010

The Oaks on Margaret is a great place to stay for any amount of time if traveling alone or with a friend. Staff was helpful, and the conveniences are just right.

I did not try the breakfast at the hotel restaurant as there are plenty of inexpensive breakfast/coffee places right nearby.

The hotel is close to shopping, nightlife and relaxation alike, all within walking distance.

The only minus was the nearby nighttime construction work on my first night, which was of course not the hotels fault. However, the surrounding area is very busy and it can be noisy at times.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    64
    34
    22
    15
See reviews for
34
47
13
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Australia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2010

We stayed here for two nights over Easter weekend. The apartment was nicely fitted out with every thing we needed. The bed was big and comfy but the sheets were scratchy like hospital ones. We needed to cover the window in the bedroom as it was a bright as daylight. The pool, bbq and gym were great however the claim that the pool is heated to 24 degrees seems untrue- very chilly. There were only two lifts in a 30 level building and unfortunately one broke down during our stay which made for some very long waits for it.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2010

Stayed here for 2 nights and Oaks Festival Towers (just down the road) for 2 nights also. Lobby is quite small, quiet surroundings, about 10mins walk to main shopping area. Apartment is clean and comfortable. Shower stall is quite small
though. Bedroom is of average size. Light comes into the bedroom as they do not have blackout curtains. However, the helpful and friendly staff at the reception made all the difference. Wouldn't say the same for Oaks Fesitval Towers down the street. Nicer room, slightly better location but shame about their poor service attitude. A little smile goes a long way.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South of England
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2010

Stayed in the Oaks 212 for 5 nights at the start of February and was looking forward to having a bit more space after spending over a week in a fairly cramped hotel. The rooms are lovely but we were on the 5th floor which is the same floor as the pool and gym which meant a bit more noise than most of the other apartments. Good location, right near the botanic gardens.

Had a problem with the door locking one morning, went to reception and they said the maintenence man would be coming today so he would look at it and to just leave it unlocked while we went out as there was a CCTV camera virtually pointed at our front door which was strange. When we got back they said they 'think' someone has looked at it but weren't sure, which was reassuring!! Had problems with the air conditioning leaking, spoke to reception again who said we were to turn the temperature up which we did but it made no difference, we ended up putting a bucket underneath the unit! Two lifts is not enough for such a tall building, quite often we had a wait of 5 mins or more for a lift!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto,
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2010

My wife and have stayed here for a week during our visit to Brisbane. We found the hotel to be quiet, and located in a quiet area, close to the Botanical Gardens, while also being close to the city centre (7 minutes walk).
The staff were very helpful and pleasant. The apartment was clean and well kept, and the price was very reasonable.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballarat, Australia
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2010

We stayed here in early jan 2010. all 12 of us !! (2 families with teens going to dreamworld and then onto a 7 day cruise) I was a little dubious at booking in here after reading a couple of "old" reviews here on T/A but this place has new management and it shows !! - IT WAS GREAT. The staff were excellent... the rooms we had (2 suites) were clean AND BIG and the location is perfect if you want to be right in the heart of brisbane... Excellent resturants and services very close by.
The front office staff need particular praise! - from the way our booking was handled thru to the checkout !
We would definitely stay here again.. WELL DONE TO 212 MARGARET

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, West Oz
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2009

I read some reviews about places like Oaks 212 and wonder what people are expecting. For under $200 in the heart of the CBD, I get a big bedroom, kitchen, comfy living area, laundry in the bathroom and a great balcony. If this were an hotel, I'd be paying $500 for this much space!! So, the reason there is no staff, no mini-bar, no room service, and no fancy foyers and fawning flunkies is that you pay for space not service. That's fine by me - the Oaks 212 is one of the better of these apartments if just a wee bit pricey. (Oaks owns a lot of properties in Brisbane and has a bit of a lock on the market IMO).

What's to like? First, space - it seemed a shame I was only staying a night - but I wanted the big balcony I remember from when I was here before, and the general sense of being in a proper apartment, not a room (which is what these are - some of the people in the Oaks are, I believe, residents). Second, good internet rates - if you are settling in for a week or more for work or something, then you can get good rates, with fast (cable I think) access - better than hotels.

What's not to like: don't be fooled by the kitchen - you are not going to gourmet cook here, since utensils etc are minimal, but it works for a quick meal. The location MIGHT be bad - at the moment, Oaks 212 overlooks a huge hole in the ground which might suddenly become a building site (see some earlier reviews). As of Dec 2009 no problems - it was quiet as a grave. Check before you book in. The locale is a little out of the way - bit of a walk to the main part of Brisbane CBD, but that also means it is handy to Gardens Point and the river end of the City. Desk set up could be better, given that this place probably appeals to biz travellers. tip - there's no alcohol in the room; if arriving late, bring it with you since local bottleshop closes early.

This is the kind of place you should stay in for utility, sense and longer-term. This is not romantic, luxurious, trendy, boutique or stylish. It's a massive space with a kitchen to save money, good net access and so on.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Oaks 212 Margaret? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks 212 Margaret

Address: 212 Margaret Street, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#62 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oaks 212 Margaret 4.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oaks 212 Margaret offers a range of luxurious one and two bedroom self contained apartments all with air conditioning and state of the art room facilities. There is also a luxury two storey four-bedroom penthouse which boasts the pinnacle of facilities, services and uninterrupted views. The hotel also has an in-house heated pool and gym.It is the perfect base from which to enjoy everything Brisbane has to offer. Cool café precincts and fine dining, theatres, nightclubs, busy streets and leafy corners. Enjoying breathtaking river, city and parkland views, 212 Margaret is just an easy stroll from the financial, commercial and shopping heart with its great restaurants and entertainment venues. Excellent access to public transport makes getting around a breeze.Adjacent to the Botanical Gardens, overlooking the Brisbane River, and yet only minutes from the CBD, Oaks 212 Margaret is a logical choice for you to explore Brisbane’s historic centre, entertainment options or when visiting for a conference or event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Oaks 212 Margaret reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaks 212 Margaret Brisbane
Oaks 212 Margaret Hotel Brisbane

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oaks 212 Margaret, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.