We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Broken room.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Oaks 212 Margaret

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Oaks 212 Margaret to your Saves list
Oaks 212 Margaret
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   212 Margaret Street, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #101 of 161 Hotels in Brisbane
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Broken room.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

We stayed at this place for two nights and were very dissappointed. The room did not have a peep hole in the door and no security latch for the door. I have a daughter who sometimes sleepwalks and had to push the table up against the door at night for fear she may have opened door and walked out. The door did have a kind of deadlock on it but it was broken. When my husband informed staff told they are all like that for "Fire Safety". I know in NSW a hotel needs to have peep hole and secure lock for regulations. When we went to use dryer at 9pm at night did not work. Again husband rang and told could not be fixed. We were on 22 floor and had to go to 14 floor to dry clothes at 9pm night real inconvenience. The range hood had oil build up and just to turn rangehood on for a kind of night light fingers got very oily. Yuck! The shower heads are very basic do not move and bad water pressure. Light bulbs on three lamps in the bedrooms broken. Really average stay for the rate, considering the place is quite new and modern. Just these little things a lack of attention to detail made it very frustrating. As it was the long weekend we could get nothing fixed! Stay at Quest next time.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks 212 Margaret, responded to this review, June 20, 2012
We appreciate you taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Oaks 212 Margaret. It is disappointing to read that some aspects of your stay did not meet your expectations. In regards to the maintenance issues in your apartment, I will pass your comments onto the Hotel Manager and Maintenance Manger for their immediate attention. We do hope that you will consider returning to Oaks 212 Margaret or another one of our fine properties soon to experience the best of what Oaks Hotels & Resorts has to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    64
    34
    21
    15
See reviews for
33
47
13
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012 via mobile

Booked on line for a 2 bedroom apartment (one double bed and 2 singles). The single beds were pushed together so we pulled them apart and of course there was no single bed linen in the room. Too late to organize replacement sheets etc. One child had an uncomfortable 2 nights on a bedspread used as a sheet and as the desk staff were so uninterested in us did not bother to speak of this.
On arrival the staff could barely look up and acknowledge us to give key. Did not explain how to get the lift works with the little tag. They did not offer any information at all.
The smaller bathroom was quite cramped. The larger bathrooms door handle was broken on the inside. We reported that but the receptionist again looked disinterested.
The food smell in the foyer was quite alarming given the "restaurant" wasn't open. I'm surprised the staff can sit there in it.
The receptionist who we handed the key back to was very nice much more animated than the weekend staff.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks 212 Margaret, responded to this review, June 20, 2012
We appreciate you taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Oaks 212 Margaret. We apologise for the issues you experienced in regards to the bedding in your apartment and the service you received from our staff. I will pass your feedback onto the General Manager of Learning and Development for immediate attention. We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

We have used The Oaks in other cities in Australia and have always been delighted with the comfortable accomodation. But not here. We were given a complimentary upgrade from a one bedroom to a two bedroomed apartment, but found a note saying that if the second bedroom and bathroom were used we ould be charged $50 a night extra!! There was an unpleasant smell in the en-suite bathroom to the main bedroom. And a gale blew under the door to the corridor and I had to put pillows dowwn to stop the draught and noise. Not good value, but a good location.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks 212 Margaret, responded to this review, June 5, 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Oaks 212 Margaret. We apologise for the issues you experienced with the apartment you were allocated and I will be passing your comments onto the Hotel Manager for immediate attention. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again to experience the best Oaks Hotels and Resorts is known for.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

We recently spent 4 nights when visiting our daughter. It was the first time we had visited Brisbane itself, normally just the arrival point to the coast.

We found the location great - only 5 minutes to Queen Street Mall, train station etc. Really enjoyed the short distance to the river front walkways and gardens - great for before breakfast walks. Very handy to a varity of restuarants as well.

Found the accommoation clean and had no issues like previous posts. The apartment was smaller than we have experienced in the past but was very adequate for what we required. We were there from Thursday through to Monday and experienced no noise from the building site.

The only negative was that since we brought our room on Wotif, we found that we had no daily room service (not mentioned at time of purchase, only when we enquired why the room had not been serviced - clean towels etc).

We would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks 212 Margaret, responded to this review, May 21, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback on your recent stay at Oaks 212 Margaret. We are glad to hear that you were happy with your apartment and were able to enjoy the location of our hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunsborough, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

We recently spent a night here prior to flying home. Despite being a bit concerned about the mix of reviews for this property, we were pleasantly surprised. The rooms were well fitted out with comfortable furniture and beds, as well as everything we needed for meals. There was a spacious balcony (albeit there is a very large vacant lot next door which has a very deep looking pit of water) with good views between other building of the river. Our bathrooms were spotlessly clean although there was a bit of noise from the vent in the second bathroom. We were travelling with our three children, and had asked for a rollaway bed, which was provided. The second bedroom is not huge, so having the extra bed in there would not be ideal for a longer stay but was fine for the night. The reception staff were helpful and efficient. There was a little street noise in the early morning but I guess this is to be expected to some degree in a city. Overall, we found it to be a comfortable place for our family to stay, with good access to the things we wanted to see.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks 212 Margaret, responded to this review, May 14, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Oaks 212 Margaret. We are please we were able to play a part in making your short stay with us enjoyable for you and your family. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

We stayed here while we looked for a house to rent and couldn't wait to get out. It would be quicker to list the things that did work rather than the equipment that was broken. The second day we were there I went and bought a bottle of bleach to clean the bathroom properly and to get rid of the smell from the drains. The staf were fairly disinterested even though we were there for 6 weeks. We used to get woken up each night with street noise and now that the construction next door has started I wouldn't go anywhere near this place.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks 212 Margaret, responded to this review, May 8, 2012
We appreciate you taking the time to comment on your recent 6 week stay at Oaks 212 Margaret. We apologise that some aspect of your stay with us did not meet your expectations and we will pass your feedback in regards to the cleanliness of your apartment onto the Housekeeping Team for further attention. If you wish to discuss the issues further, please do not hesitate to contact our Customer Feedback Team on customerfeedback@theoaksgroup.com.au. We do hope to welcome you back again soon so you can experience the best Oaks Hotels and Resorts is renowned for.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

Our second stay at an Oaks Apartment Hotel. last time on Charlotte, this time around the corner on Margaret Street. Both facilities great quality and so centrally located you can walk to everything in the CBD you wish to visit. Oaks 212 on Margaret also very well located for a range of quality restaurants, cafes and take outs...all excellent. When we were drowned by a rain storm after checkout, having left our bags for later collection, staff were very helpful and allowed us to use facilities attached to pool and gym to dry off and restore ourselves for flights out of australia. Room was excellent with stunning views of city. Only downside, that we also encountered in Oaks on Charlotte which has nothing to do with each venue and is a problem for many of the down town hotels is the noise from some large ongoing construction sites that seem to have been going on forever....Ok during week but they dont stop on weekends and have early start.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks 212 Margaret, responded to this review, March 28, 2012
Thank you for commenting on your recent stay with us at Oaks 212 Margaret. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and were able to indulge in the facilities and the local restaurants. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future and hopefully it will be sunnier for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Oaks 212 Margaret? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks 212 Margaret

Address: 212 Margaret Street, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#61 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oaks 212 Margaret 4.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oaks 212 Margaret offers a range of luxurious one and two bedroom self contained apartments all with air conditioning and state of the art room facilities. There is also a luxury two storey four-bedroom penthouse which boasts the pinnacle of facilities, services and uninterrupted views. The hotel also has an in-house heated pool and gym.It is the perfect base from which to enjoy everything Brisbane has to offer. Cool café precincts and fine dining, theatres, nightclubs, busy streets and leafy corners. Enjoying breathtaking river, city and parkland views, 212 Margaret is just an easy stroll from the financial, commercial and shopping heart with its great restaurants and entertainment venues. Excellent access to public transport makes getting around a breeze.Adjacent to the Botanical Gardens, overlooking the Brisbane River, and yet only minutes from the CBD, Oaks 212 Margaret is a logical choice for you to explore Brisbane’s historic centre, entertainment options or when visiting for a conference or event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Oaks 212 Margaret reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaks 212 Margaret Brisbane
Oaks 212 Margaret Hotel Brisbane

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oaks 212 Margaret, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.