We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good short term stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Oaks Felix

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Oaks Felix to your Saves list
Oaks Felix
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   26 Felix Street, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Direct & Save 10%
Ranked #67 of 165 Hotels in Brisbane
Riga
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good short term stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

The small apartment was fully equipped, clean and conveniently located in the city near Queen Street shops and mall as well as Riverside restaurants and City Cat. Good views to the Story Bridge from the high floor balcony and living area. Pleasant staff.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksFelix, Manager at Oaks Felix, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Thank-you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay at Oaks Felix. We are glad our self contained apartments suited your needs during your short stay for business and the staff are pleased to be acknowledged. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
With Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    133
    43
    20
    12
See reviews for
53
79
25
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Coolangatta, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Just enjoyed an overnight stay at this property. We are travel agents and looked at many options and found Oaks on Felix ideal. Spotlessly clean and great location only a two minute walk to Eagle Street Pier. We were on a high floor overlooking the Storey Bridge. Would definitely recommend and Reception Staff were excellent.

Room Tip: High floor with river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksFelix, Manager at Oaks Felix, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
We are pleased to read your review and extremely happy that you enjoyed your stay. Thank-you for acknowledging our friendly staff and not to mention the amazing views we have here at Oaks Felix.
We look forward to welcoming you back next time your in Brisbane.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

This was one of the appointed apartments / hotels in the list for APAM 2014. It seems to be the most convenient place to catch the CityCat to Brisbane Powerhouse and even walking distance to many eateries, cafes and pharmacies.

Chosen this apartment due to convenient, value for money and equipped with simple set-up kitchen, washing machine, dryer, outdoor drying clothing rack, etc. The service at the front desk was good, although not great. The house-keeping helper comes everyday to tidy the apartment and did good justice.

The main drawback is that the rooms are only equipped with ceiling fan. The air-conditioner unit is only available in the living room.

Room Tip: Request for the room that has a view of the river. That's what we got. The sun rises near my roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksFelix, Manager at Oaks Felix, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
We are pleased to read your review and extremely happy that you enjoyed your stay. Thank-you for acknowledging our spacious apartments with full kitchen and laundry facilities that suits the needs of our short and long term visitors.
The team at Oaks Felix look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundowran
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Well appointed suites with spectacular views to the bridge and beyond. Close to so many great restaurants and within easy walking distance of Queen St etc - a really pleasant and handy retreat for either a family fun or business stay. Minor irritations have made me hold back from awarding top marks (remotes with missing batteries, no small kitchen knife, no ice in freezer for G&T on arrival!). The devil is in the detail! However would certainly recommend and will go back based on vfm - make sure that you work with them to lower the price a bit.

Room Tip: Go high on bridge side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksFelix, Manager at Oaks Felix, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Thank-you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at Oaks Felix. We continuously receive great feedback with regards to our handy location and spectacular River and Story bridge views and for a small upgrade fee you can guarantee one of these amazing views for your next visit to Brisbane or for an up and coming special occasion.
Due to health reasons we can not fill the ice trays ourselves however, we do have a handy convenience right next door.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

I'm very unimpressed with the service here. I'm currently here for 6 days. First evening that I arrived, the room light wasn't working. Rang reception who said they will get someone to fix it tomorrow. Waited next day, wasn't fix, had to go down to reception to tell them again and found out that they didn't even had it down on their maintenance list to have a look. Day 3, used the washing machine and dryer. Dryer wouldn't work. Called reception who said to press the reset button. I did, but it worked for 5 mins, before the dryer overheats and stopped working. Tried it a few times with the reset button but dryer keeps overheating. My clothes came out wetter than it went in. Morning of day 4, personally went down and spoke to reception who said they will get someone to look at it during the day. Came back in the evening, dryer was still not working. Rang reception about it, and they said it was not even on the maintenance book. And because day 5 will be the weekend, they can't get someone to look at it until the wkend is over. Options they left me with was they will see if I can have another room the next day or I can just use one of the other room's dryer to use.
I'm disgusted that for a paying customer,not only am I not getting what I paid for, the hotel is not even rectifying the problem or trying to keep the customers satisfied. What more, I have to leave a $150 deposit in case of damage. I wouldn't be surprised if they decided to bill me the repairs. Well, thank goodness I only have 2 days left here. Never am I going to use them again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksFelix, Manager at Oaks Felix, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Thank-you for taking the time to post your comments about your recent stay at Oaks on Felix. The reception staff at Oaks Felix often receive positive feedback with regards to customer service so I was very disappointed to hear your stay was affected in such a way. I can not alter any matter of the past however, I would appreciate if you contacted me directly on hmfelix@theoaksgroup.com.au to discuss this matter further.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

Everything about the apartment was great, except for the bathroom, which was quite dirty and we needed to clean it ourselves before we used it.

The view was great, the aircon works really well so staying in summer is pleasant. The kitchen area was well stocked with basic utensils and everything worked properly (fridge door sometimes didn't stay closed though)

The balcony for our room was a little cramped however. You have to squeeze between the wall and the table to get around it.

Service was okay. The cleaning man I encountered was the friendliest.

Pool and gym were decent too. The spa and pool were a great place to spend time, however no free weights in the gym if you are so inclined...

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksFelix, Manager at Oaks Felix, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Thank-you for taking the time to post your comments we greatly appreciate it. It’s always great to hear that the handy location and the facilities have met your expectations. Your feed back allows us to continue to improve our standards and your comments will be pasted on to the Housekeeping contractors.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

I stayed here in late April 2014. My stay was for pleasure only - however if I were coming to Brisbane on business, Oaks on Felix would be my first choice. Having stayed in a lot of hotels in different parts of the world - I can say with confidence that Oaks on Felix is world class.
The suite was well appointed and spacious. We had a large kitchen and dining/living area. A separate bedroom with a very comfy bed and a large bathroom. The bathroom also included a washer and dryer and laundry facilities. If you have ever had the misfortune of having to wash clothes in a hotel sink, you would probably appreciate the washer and dryer as much as I did. We were on a higher floor with a spectacular(!!!!) view out onto the Brisbane river, CBD and mountains. There was a small table and chair for sitting and enjoying the view.
Everything was clean and housekeeping did a great job every day.
The reception area was clean and the staff friendly and professional. If you need it, parking is also good and easy to access in the hotel. The hotel is located close to Eagle Street Pier (5 min walk), a vibrant riverside area with a range of bars and restaurants to suit all budgets and tastes. It is also a safe and well lit walk in case you are coming home later at night.
Overall I would totally stay here again next time I visit Brisbane whether it be for business or pleasure. Thanks Oaks on Felix!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksFelix, Front Office Manager at Oaks Felix, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Dear Msgeocat,

Thank you very much for taking the time to provide us with such a positive feedback. Its is great to hear that we have met you expectations and we completely agree that we have some of the best views of Brisbane - not to mention our fantastic location.
We are definitely looking forward to welcoming you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Oaks Felix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks Felix

Address: 26 Felix Street, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Brisbane
#36 Romantic Hotel in Brisbane
#52 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oaks Felix 4.5*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Positioned to take full advantage of Brisbane's exciting and unique lifestyle, Oaks Felix is a winner with business and leisure travellers alike, promising deluxe, self-contained apartment accommodation in the heart of the city's CBD and a variety of resort-style leisure facilities, catering to the discerning needs of all types of guests. Our property stretches 40 storeys high and boasts a distinctive curved design, offering some of the most spectacular views of the Brisbane River, bustling city and Story Bridge in all of Brisbane. Adjacent to Eagle Street Pier, guests of Oaks Felix will enjoy the myriad tastes, sights and sounds that are on offer in this entertainment and dining precinct; featuring an abundance of casual and fine dining restaurants, cocktail bars, pubs and weekend Riverside Markets, there is something for everyone. Also within walking distance is the iconic Botanic Gardens, the shopping emporium that is Queen Street Mall and the CityCat Ferry Terminal where travellers can spend the day cruising the Brisbane River and hopping on and off at their desired landmarks, whether it be South Bank, the Queensland Museum or Newfarm to name just a few. Oaks Felix offers an impressive selection of one and two bedroom self-contained apartments, all featuring full kitchens, laundry facilities, Internet access, stunning floor-to-ceiling windows, private balconies and superb appointments. Leisure facilities include a 25m-heated lap pool surrounded by a modern sun deck and comfortable sun lounges, sauna, spa, gymnasium and barbeque area - perfect for entertaining and soaking in the cityscapes below. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Oaks Felix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaks On Felix Brisbane
Oaks On Felix Hotel Brisbane

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oaks Felix, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.