We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location and service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Airport Clayfield Motel

Save Saved
You added Airport Clayfield Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Airport Clayfield Motel
772 Sandgate Rd | Clayfield, Brisbane, Queensland 4011, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Great Nightly Rate!$$
Ranked #68 of 165 hotels in Brisbane
Lismore, Australia
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Excellent location and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This very nice motel also has a great shuttle service to the airport. Both manager and shuttle driver were very helpful with bags, and the location is very convenient, with numerous food options just across the road. The only minor inconvenience is all rooms are up one or two flights of stairs.

Room Tip: All rooms are upstairs. Important to remember if you have mobility issues. Let management know if yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    16
    0
    1
    3
See reviews for
5
9
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed in the family room for 4 nites. Very spacious and clean. The premium against the twin room is well worth it. The nearby amenities like the open-7day market and restaurants cannot be more convenient. The buses right outside the motel can bring you to most places with some bus transfers. Do check out the translink website for the bus frequency so as to minimise your waiting time. The $10 airport shuttle for multiple pax is so cost effective for travellers. Only take about 10min to reach the airport. The only downside is the safe to retrieve the room key during our wee hour arrival. It was not working and took a while before someone came to rescue us from cold.

Room Tip: Choose the family room if you have 3 or more pax. The premium is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alice Springs. NT. Australia
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

Not sure what previous reviewer is complaining about, we found the receptionist (owners girl friend) welcome on our arriving extremely warming and welcoming.
We usually select any accommodation near the airport when passing through Brisbane and while the Airport Clayfield Motel is not 5 star it is clean and located near some nice restaurants unlike some other airport accommodation.

Would recommend.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms near stairs and reception end as they will have noise due to luggage lift, stairs and pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

We arrived on a Saturday afternoon and checked in for a one night stay before a long international flight the next day.

When we asked for extra blankets in our room the guy on Reception didn't want to help us, so I had to explain that we live in a warm climate and feel cold in our room.

Then at about 12am two people entered the room next door to our room, on the first floor and were screaming and playing music all night. I rang Reception at 3am to complain, not expecting them to answer at that time of course but expecting to be contacted about this.

So from 12am until 6am we were awake listening to our neighbours screaming and playing music whilst we were trying to sleep.

Three weeks on and we haven't heard anything from this Motel.

I wouldn't recommend it or stay there ever again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bargara, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

We stayed here last week overnight,between flights. after other disapointing overnight stays at other places I checked on Tripadvisor and on other recommendations decided to try Airport Clayfield. We arrived by taxi at a cost of $25 from airport at midnight {too late for shuttlebus}. We had been given a code to open the nightsafe fro our key.All went smoothly,we were happy with the room and cleanliness. Had lots of extra amenities not often found in a budget motel.Bed was comfy and had nice sheets. We had no noise issues and slept well. We didnt have breakfast as we had an early flight out. Desk ordered a shuttle bus for airport at a low cost of $10 so it worked out well. We arrived in 10 min to airport. All up would recommend this place with no hesitation. It had plenty of eating places and minimarts nearby i noticed,also buses went past. i reckon would be a good base to stay and see Brisbane if you were a tourist. I booked direct with the Hotel and it was a pleasure to do business with them

Room Tip: we were on the first floor ,so had a flight of stairs to walk up.Not sure there are any rooms on gro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

Stayed one night in Brisbane, prior to flying out. Clean room, all facilities as expected; good noise insulation from road, unfortunately not from our very noisy neighbours ..., but that is not something the motel could help. Very helpful and friendly front desk staff who provided us with a toaster, essential for a good breakfast! Car can stay over, while we are away, for a minimal charge and airport transfers are swift and not too expensive. Easy trip into the city with train station just across the road. All in all, would recommend.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SJC127, Owner at Airport Clayfield Motel, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Hi. Thank you very much for writing a review about our motel. Although we are not a 5 star motel/hotel we do try to make up for this by going out of our way to make sure your stay with us is enjoyable in any case. I am very glad that you found this when you stayed with us. We look forward to your next stay with us.

Kind Regards

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
243 helpful votes 243 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

We recently stayed here twice, night before an international flight and a night on our arrival back.
After researching nearly every motel/ hotel in Brisbane close to the airport The Clayfield was as close to perfect for what we were looking for. What sealed the deal was, we didn't need two rooms, we could leave our car there for a very small fee, a shuttle/transfer could pick us up and return us back for $10...no where else came close to this.
We had the same family room for our family of five, huge spacious room with queen and 3 singles.
Eating out was within a short walk of the motel, huge variety of restaurants to suit everyone.
So if you want an easy trouble free start to your holiday you really can't go past the Airport Clayfield.

Stayed January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SJC127, Owner at Airport Clayfield Motel, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Hi. Thanks for taking the time to write a review about the establishment. We are very glad you enjoyed your stay. We pride ourselves on trying to make your stay and your transit to and from the airport (which is the majority of our customers) as convenient and seemless as possible. The $10 shuttle bus (total price for up to 4 people) is certainly a huge plus for people especially families when they otherwise would have had to pay for a maxi-taxi which can be expensive. The numerous restaurants, take-aways, bottle shops etc (all within 100m) are also very convenient for people. We are glad to hear when people take advantage of the super convenient location. We look forward to having you come and stay with us again soon.

Kind Regards

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Airport Clayfield Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airport Clayfield Motel

Address: 772 Sandgate Rd | Clayfield, Brisbane, Queensland 4011, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 165 hotels in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Airport Clayfield Motel is located within a 5 min drive from Brisbane Airport and 10 mins from the city centre. We are conveniently located within a 2 minute walk to many award winning restaurants, fast food outlets and takeaways, (approximately 25 establishments to choose from), not to mention the Clayfield Tavern. Buses and Trains depart from our doorstep, linking us with the city centre, the Entertainment Centre, Showgrounds, Suncorp Stadium, Southbank, and Race Tracks, all being within 10-15 mins. The DFO and Toombul shopping centre are less than a 5 mins drive, and are conveniently located between the motel and the airport, perfect for a quick shop before your flight. A free shuttle bus runs from the DFO complex to the domestic and international terminals making it even easier to get around. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, T4B and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Airport Clayfield Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Airport Clayfield Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Airport Clayfield Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.