We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean and friendly welcome” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Airport Clayfield Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Airport Clayfield Motel to your Saves list
Airport Clayfield Motel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   772 Sandgate Rd | Clayfield, Brisbane, Queensland 4011, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #83 of 165 Hotels in Brisbane
Airlie Beach, Australia
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Very clean and friendly welcome”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

Not sure what previous reviewer is complaining about, we found the receptionist (owners girl friend) welcome on our arriving extremely warming and welcoming.
We usually select any accommodation near the airport when passing through Brisbane and while the Airport Clayfield Motel is not 5 star it is clean and located near some nice restaurants unlike some other airport accommodation.

Would recommend.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms near stairs and reception end as they will have noise due to luggage lift, stairs and pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SJC127, Manager at Airport Clayfield Motel, responded to this review, November 20, 2014
Hi RonLorri,

Thank you for taking the time to post a great review. Yes we are not 5 star but we do try to provide the best possible accommodation we can. We aspire to the utmost cleanliness of facilities and to provide our best possible service at all times. We appreciate your feedback and we look forward to you staying with us again one day.

Kind Regards

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    32
    7
    3
    5
See reviews for
6
25
8
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cairns, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

We arrived on a Saturday afternoon and checked in for a one night stay before a long international flight the next day.

When we asked for extra blankets in our room the guy on Reception didn't want to help us, so I had to explain that we live in a warm climate and feel cold in our room.

Then at about 12am two people entered the room next door to our room, on the first floor and were screaming and playing music all night. I rang Reception at 3am to complain, not expecting them to answer at that time of course but expecting to be contacted about this.

So from 12am until 6am we were awake listening to our neighbours screaming and playing music whilst we were trying to sleep.

Three weeks on and we haven't heard anything from this Motel.

I wouldn't recommend it or stay there ever again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SJC127, Owner at Airport Clayfield Motel, responded to this review, November 20, 2014
Hi. I am not pleased to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay. If there are loud neighbours late at night I would always encourage people to approach the people themselves in the first instance (in the right manner of course). If you did ring at 3am, I am not sure I heard the phone and there was definitely no message on the answering machine the next morning for me to follow up.

I hope you enjoy your stay next time.

Regards

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bargara, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

We stayed here last week overnight,between flights. after other disapointing overnight stays at other places I checked on Tripadvisor and on other recommendations decided to try Airport Clayfield. We arrived by taxi at a cost of $25 from airport at midnight {too late for shuttlebus}. We had been given a code to open the nightsafe fro our key.All went smoothly,we were happy with the room and cleanliness. Had lots of extra amenities not often found in a budget motel.Bed was comfy and had nice sheets. We had no noise issues and slept well. We didnt have breakfast as we had an early flight out. Desk ordered a shuttle bus for airport at a low cost of $10 so it worked out well. We arrived in 10 min to airport. All up would recommend this place with no hesitation. It had plenty of eating places and minimarts nearby i noticed,also buses went past. i reckon would be a good base to stay and see Brisbane if you were a tourist. I booked direct with the Hotel and it was a pleasure to do business with them

Room Tip: we were on the first floor ,so had a flight of stairs to walk up.Not sure there are any rooms on gro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SJC127, Owner at Airport Clayfield Motel, responded to this review, November 20, 2014
Hi Aussiecruiser. Thanks for taking the time to post a review. Yes we do try to make the experience as seemless as possible for guests. We appreciate that you and many others just want the simple things done right, quick and efficient service, a comfortable bed and cost effective accommodation and transfers. It sounds like we delivered on this for you, which I am pleased about. Thanks again.

We look forward to your next stay.

Kind Regards
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

Stayed one night in Brisbane, prior to flying out. Clean room, all facilities as expected; good noise insulation from road, unfortunately not from our very noisy neighbours ..., but that is not something the motel could help. Very helpful and friendly front desk staff who provided us with a toaster, essential for a good breakfast! Car can stay over, while we are away, for a minimal charge and airport transfers are swift and not too expensive. Easy trip into the city with train station just across the road. All in all, would recommend.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SJC127, Owner at Airport Clayfield Motel, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Hi. Thank you very much for writing a review about our motel. Although we are not a 5 star motel/hotel we do try to make up for this by going out of our way to make sure your stay with us is enjoyable in any case. I am very glad that you found this when you stayed with us. We look forward to your next stay with us.

Kind Regards

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
304 helpful votes 304 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

We recently stayed here twice, night before an international flight and a night on our arrival back.
After researching nearly every motel/ hotel in Brisbane close to the airport The Clayfield was as close to perfect for what we were looking for. What sealed the deal was, we didn't need two rooms, we could leave our car there for a very small fee, a shuttle/transfer could pick us up and return us back for $10...no where else came close to this.
We had the same family room for our family of five, huge spacious room with queen and 3 singles.
Eating out was within a short walk of the motel, huge variety of restaurants to suit everyone.
So if you want an easy trouble free start to your holiday you really can't go past the Airport Clayfield.

Stayed January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SJC127, Owner at Airport Clayfield Motel, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Hi. Thanks for taking the time to write a review about the establishment. We are very glad you enjoyed your stay. We pride ourselves on trying to make your stay and your transit to and from the airport (which is the majority of our customers) as convenient and seemless as possible. The $10 shuttle bus (total price for up to 4 people) is certainly a huge plus for people especially families when they otherwise would have had to pay for a maxi-taxi which can be expensive. The numerous restaurants, take-aways, bottle shops etc (all within 100m) are also very convenient for people. We are glad to hear when people take advantage of the super convenient location. We look forward to having you come and stay with us again soon.

Kind Regards

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

We stayed here twice on our recent holidays (on our way to and from our destination). We travelled with 2 adults and 2 children (aged 14 and 11).

It's a constant annoyance of ours that many hotels and motels don't offer family rooms and instead expect you to buy two rooms. This certainly was NOT the case here. We got one of their family rooms (a different room each time we stayed). The room was quite large with a queen and three singles (and a folded cot in the corner). Even with that layout of beds (plus the table and chairs and lounge), the room didn't feel cramped and there was still more than enough space to move about. We found the room (which was located to the back of the motel) to be comfortable and well kept, with a good stock of tea and coffee etc. The room was quiet and were not disturbed by street noise (and I am usually a light sleeper).

The motel is over three levels so the luggage lift certainly came in handy.

The other item I should mention is that the motel has an arrangement with a local business to provide a shuttle bus to and from the airport. At the time of writing the cost was $10 for up to 4 people, which is great value considering the cost of a taxi into town. Admittedly this is not in the CBD (but you can get to the CBD by public transport fairly easily from here) but it is a good alternative if you are overnighting in Brisbane and don't want to stay at the hotels right at the airport (we investigated one of the hotels at the airport and found that it didn't provide a family room and two rooms was way to expensive).

The motel is close to (ie 2 minutes walk) several restaurants, fast food places and a 7-Eleven and is about 10 mins walk to Toombul shopping centre.

The only problem I could note, and this is not the first motel to do this, was that the motel expected guests to was their used cups and saucers but didn't provide any dishwashing implements (eg brush, tea towel, dishwashing liquid), but that's a minor concern.

One more note, front office staff are friendly and helpful (much more so than when we stayed there several years ago).

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SJC127, Owner at Airport Clayfield Motel, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Hi. Thank you for taking the time to give such an in-depth review. I am sure this will assist other potential customers to work out whether our establishment and specifically our family rooms are what they are after. We do find that people are very impressed with size of our rooms but even moreso our family rooms. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to your next visit with us. Thanks again.

Kind Regards

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalby
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Great location for the airport, easy walk to plenty of eating spots. We had a family room, very spacious and clean. We were surprised at how little traffic noise we heard (weeknight stay). Didnt get to use the pool (had a storm!). Although we didnt use them, there were complimentary DVDs available from reception, and umbrellas which i thought was a great touch!

Will definitely stay there again when we next go to Brisbane.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SJC127, Owner at Airport Clayfield Motel, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our motel. We are pleased when we hear that people find our services and location to their requirements and exceed their expectations. We certainly think they are great but is wonderful to receive this feedback also. All the best with your next trip and we look forward to the next time you choose to stay with us. Kind Regards Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Airport Clayfield Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airport Clayfield Motel

Address: 772 Sandgate Rd | Clayfield, Brisbane, Queensland 4011, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#30 Business Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Airport Clayfield Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Airport Clayfield Motel is located within a 5 min drive from Brisbane Airport and 10 mins from the city centre. We are conveniently located within a 2 minute walk to many award winning restaurants, fast food outlets and takeaways, (approximately 25 establishments to choose from), not to mention the Clayfield Tavern. Buses and Trains depart from our doorstep, linking us with the city centre, the Entertainment Centre, Showgrounds, Suncorp Stadium, Southbank, and Race Tracks, all being within 10-15 mins. The DFO and Toombul shopping centre are less than a 5 mins drive, and are conveniently located between the motel and the airport, perfect for a quick shop before your flight. A free shuttle bus runs from the DFO complex to the domestic and international terminals making it even easier to get around. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Airport Clayfield Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Airport Clayfield Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Airport Clayfield Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.