We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What to do on a sunny Sunday” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fort Lytton National Park

Fort Lytton National Park
Lytton Road | Lytton, Brisbane, Queensland 4178, Australia
+61 (0)7 3393 4647
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #32 of 131 Attractions in Brisbane
Type: National Parks, Outdoors
Attraction details
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“What to do on a sunny Sunday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2014

We were greeted at the front gate by one of the volunteers and given a map and told that there was a guided tour starting soon. After a look at the items on display and buying the cheapest cold drinks in Brisbane, we were given a brief informative history of the Fort. We set out and inspected the Fort and were let into closed off areas. Very good experience. Thank you.

Visited October 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    19
    0
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“fun and history in a National Park”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2014

Fort Lytton is an important historic site. Built in 1881 and used for the defense of Brisbane until the end of the Second World War, it is a pentagonal fortress concealed behind grassy embankments. There are walking tours along with holiday fun specifically designed for children. Every year during the June long weekend a fabulous event called History Alive happens which is a lot of fun and this is the only time one has to pay to gain entry to the Event but worth the small amount of money.Food is available during this event.

Coffee only is available at all other times during a visit to the park..

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great day out, especially when events are on”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2014

Have been out here a few times now around the History Alive recreations. Mainly do it for the kids but suspect I get more out of it than them and they'll roll their eyes that they only came out to indulge me. Parking is problematic and you generally have to go to a carpark and take the bus back (at least when the historical shows are on). We've always done well with food, entertainment, and the cannon blasts are always a crowd pleaser.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Unexpected slice of history”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014

Our family visited the national park not knowing what was there. We were pleasantly surprised. Two boys under ten thoroughly enjoyed themselves seeing. Lots to see, and heaps of information about the place regarding what you're viewing. Suggest you take you're own food, as there isn't much on offer. Very nice way to spend an afternoon.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“An afternoon visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Visited Fort Lytton and was pleasantly surprised. There is not lots to see there however the guided tour is definitely a requirement and adds greatly to the experience. The history is quite rich and interesting - you would miss this without the guides knowledge. Limited food facilities and wear a hat. A gold coin donation is requested - I was only too happy to pay this. Best to go when they fire the guns - be sure to Google the dates for this before you plan to go.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fort Lytton National Park also viewed

 
Brisbane, Queensland
 

Been to Fort Lytton National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fort Lytton National Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.