We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value option” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bowen Terrace International Accommodation

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Bowen Terrace International Accommodation to your Saves list
Bowen Terrace International Accommodation
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   365 Bowen Terrace | New Farm, Brisbane, Queensland 4005, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #54 of 161 Hotels in Brisbane
Dili, East Timor
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent value option”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Even though I was there for only a short stay, the owner kindly offered great supermarket, eating and sightseeing tips for my 24hrs in Brisbane.
Opting for a 4 bed room, Bowen Terrace provided great value for money as hostel-style accommodation, the downstairs rooms being quieter than upstairs, and conveniently closer for east access to the showers and kitchen.
My two room-mates were friendly but quiet, as expected from a non-party hostel, and the free wifi was extremely welcome and quite rare as compared to most of my Aus travels. Would stay again.
Close to the great restaurants and bars of the valley, and a few mins walk from the ferry stop for easy daytime access to the CBD and south bank.

Room Tip: Ask for room options downstairs to better avoid the noise issue from thin walls and allow easy acces...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    41
    16
    6
    4
See reviews for
11
32
31
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dalat, Vietnam
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

This is a great snag, the people are really friendly and accommodating. We have come back to stay again in this fantastic Queenslander. The pool is great to cool down when you need. Beautiful place and a great location with a perfect touch of Queensland Australian culture in the bosom of the valley. Enjoy Australia

Room Tip: They are perfect for your choice of needs, only ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I visited Brisbane in early November 2012 and stayed in Room #7, a single bedroom with share bathroom use for five nights. The room was fine; clean and functional. There is no air con, but a ceiling fan. The room also had a TV, fridge and water kettle.
A bedside lamp would have been nice, given that the room was quite long and narrow and the switch for the ceiling light was on the wall farthest away from the single bed. My suggestion for a small improvement!
The mattress was also too much on the soft, soggy side for my taste, but this comes down to individual preferences, of course.

As others have noted, the walls are super thin, so be prepared to hear most of what is going on in the adjoining rooms and definitely pack earplugs if you are a light sleeper.

The house itself is charming; a breezy old Queenslander located on a quiet residential street in New Town. Shared facilities include kitchen, big veranda, small pool, common room with TV. All guests get 2 hours free WIFI per day. Staff are very friendly and helpful but reception hours are limited to the first half of the day. Check-out time is 10 am.

Bowen Terrace Accommodation is close to various bus routes (some just across the road), the Sydney Street ferry wharf and a 10-15 minute walk away from Fortitude Valley train station. It is also very easy to walk to the CBD.

New Farm Park, the Powerhouse, a supermarket and various cafes, restaurants and bars are also close-by.

If you want cutting-edge amenities, luxury and to be fussed over, Bowen Terrace is not for you and it does not claim to be either. I'd rate it 3,5. I enjoyed the neighbourhood and staying in a more authentic place, so I would definitely consider returning and/or recommend to independent travellers.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

When I started my search for accommodation in Brisbane, I was doing so almost 7 months in advance and therefore was absolutely shocked at the high cost of hotel rooms, even with such advance notice. When I stumbled across the Bowen Terrace website I book marked it as a "last resort" in the event I could not find a central hotel at an affordable price. When I finally came around to booking Bowen Terrace I was a bit worried as to what I would find on arrival, simply because I am not used to staying in this type of accommodation. One thing is for sure, the Bowen Terrace website provides a very accurate portrayal of what awaits you. Simple, clean and comfortable budget accommodations. I was in room #4 which had a comfortable queen sized bed, a massive window and an ensuite bathroom. Two hours free wifi use each day is also included in the room price. I was pleasantly surprised by how comfortable I was at Bowen Terrace and I definitely saw the charm in staying in what is referred to as a typical "Queenslander" style home. The neighborhood is lovely and there are many unique restaurants and cafes just a few steps away. Central Brisbane is accessible on foot and by ferry. Both methods of transport make for an enjoyable trip into town. I would definitely stay at Bowen Terrace again and highly recommend it for anyone who doesn't want to spend a fortune on a Brisbane hotel room.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Looking at the room-types offered (e.g. some dorms with shared bathrooms), I knew that there was a back-packer element to Bowen Terrace, however we opted for a room with with an en-suite, so I thought it was a little more like a B&B, especially given the price they were charging for such a room. However upon arrival, it was clear that it was a back-packers, albeit a very nice one. The building is a beautiful old Queenslander and it appeared that if you were willing to forego the privacy of your own bathroom, you could have had a very nice room, however the price one paid for an ensuite was having to have a room downstairs which were part of a renovation so rooms are only separated by thin gyprock. I was woken in the middle of the night, and kept awake for some time by the couple in the next room having sex... So, with another night still to go, I hastily invested in some earplugs in case the love birds were staying another night as well. In addition, there was not ventilation in the bathroom, apart from opening a large window which was from waist to ceiling height, but also right next to a pathway leading down the side of the house and directly opposite the neighbour's window. Ultimately the room sort of felt dank most of the time we were there.

We really only needed somewhere to sleep and drop our bags as we were visiting my in-laws who lived nearby in New Farm and so, spending almost all day and evening with them, so we didn't want anything too fancy, however I guess I wanted something better than this. For the same price, you can get a king room at Edward Lodge, just a few blocks away which is more like a B&B.

Room Tip: If you don't mind sharing a bathroom, opt for one of the rooms upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BowenTerrace, Owner at Bowen Terrace International Accommodation, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Hi and thanks for taking the time to write a review.
You are correct in saying that we are not a B&B, none of our marking says this either, we market ourselves as a guest house and we cater for a wide range of travellers, anything from a shared room with 3 other people to single rooms on your own sharing a bathroom or a private room with your own bathroom. Bowen Terrace is 100 years old and a traditional Queenslander, I’m sorry to hear that you were not happy with your room, we have 5 Queen rooms all very different you can see every one of them on the net, If you are back in Brisbane please pop in so we can show them to you, we would like to have you back to stay and make it a happier experience.
Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

It's not luxury accomodations but it's reasonably priced, clean, centrally located, and the staff is very friendly. There are individual rooms and hostel style as well, refrigerator and tea service in room, as well as a fully equipped common area kitchen.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

I was joining a cruise out of Brisbane last month and needed one night's accommodation. Bowen Terrace International Accommodation fitted the bill. The house itself is a Victorian Bungalow, spacious and airy. The location is easy to fine, has a great French Bakery very close,other good eateries, and a supermarket 10 mins walk away.Bus stop at door.
The room was clean, spacious and had a fan rather than AC which was lovely.The only small niggle I had was that another bathroom would be great, especially if the house was full. The other guests were friendly and casual. The receptionist was helpful and attended to my needs without fuss. She booked me a taxi which arrived on time. It was a very reasonable, pleasant stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Bowen Terrace International Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bowen Terrace International Accommodation

Address: 365 Bowen Terrace | New Farm, Brisbane, Queensland 4005, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane
Amenities:
Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bowen Terrace International Accommodation 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, HostelBookers, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Bowen Terrace International Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bowen Terrace International Hotel Brisbane

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bowen Terrace International Accommodation, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.