We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing special but fit-for-purpose” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Wellington Apartment Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Wellington Apartment Hotel to your Saves list
Wellington Apartment Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   192 Wellington Road, Brisbane, Queensland, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 165 Hotels in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Buckinghamshire
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Nothing special but fit-for-purpose”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Adequate place to stay overnight particularly if you have a car (free parking) and need wifi at no extra cost. Not a great location on a busy/noisy road though very straightforward for commuting to Ipswich, our priority. There's a reasonably good supermarket across the street, though we didn't use the cooking facilities as sleeping in a kitchen didn't appeal. (There's a microwave, kettle and fridge in the room but no coffee pot nor toaster.)

We had requested a quieter room and they provided one to the side of the building which was fine if you kept the balcony door closed. Our hosts were also very helpful in accommodating a friend in our room at short notice though space proved too tight for three.

The room was relatively spartan and not as clean as it should have been. The bathroom was small and basic (eg mean toiletries and no effective ventilation) and although there was a bathtub, the tap was seized so only the shower worked. (If you wanted a bath you had to fill it with the fixed shower!)

Trying to find somewhere decent for dinner in Kangaroo Point is a challenge. The nearby Thai Korath was the best we visited. We tried the hotel restaurant a couple of times - unimpressive. "Market fish" was barramundi each time we enquired - apparently from Western Australia. Downtown Brisbane was the preferred option for dinner despite the outrageous parking charges. The CAT ferry is good but took us 30 minutes or so to reach Eagle St pier from the hotel, depending on waiting time. The return fares for 3 people made the driving option more attractive.

Laundry facilities on-site were useful, around $4 a load washed and dried. The room was only serviced once a week including towels and linen changes and we had to make our own bed.

Inconsiderate guests impacted our stay on a couple of occasions when we were awoken in the early hours by their raucous return. Reception closed at 7:30pm on a weekend.

Be warned regarding payment. Our credit card was debited the full accommodation charge for 9 nights when we booked - 10 weeks in advance. It was described on the invoice as a "deposit"!

Overall, the experience was below expectation though given it was significantly cheaper than CBD hotels, "average" seems the fairest assessment.

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear probably quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    63
    19
    5
    2
See reviews for
26
52
9
44
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Noosaville, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

we recently stayed at the Wellington with a sports team - the hotel accommodated us by allowing early access to our rooms which was fantastic - it meant we did not have to stay at our venue in the pouring rain all day!! The staff were very helpful with suggestions of cheap healthy places to eat. The rooms were clean and had plenty of space.Will use again when we take teams to Brisbane.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Greetings from Norway:
It was important to find a nice place to stay to a reasonable price while I was staying in Brisbane to visit family. My son did some reserch and found this hotel close to their appartement. It was a good choice! I stayed for two weeks and had a nice room facing the back. The bed was comfortable and everything was clean. Free wi-fi is also important these days. The staff were all friendly and helpful. They helped me with a tour booking and were always ready to answer questions. The hotel is close to the CityCat ferry and to the bus and it's very easy to get to the city center. I tested the kitchen only once for dinner and the food was good. If I'm going around the world to Brisbane once moore, I will stay here again!

Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fraser Coast, Qld
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Arrived late at night after reception was closed but that was no problem as there were very clear instructions to follow (which were also SMS'd to me the day before check in). The room was a decent size and as my 8 y.o. commented "looks just like the photos on the internet". Breakfast downstairs next morning was tasty and we were offered smaller size portions for the kids which was nice. Staff were friendly and informative about the events going on in Brisbane during our visit. The bed was comfortable and the kids managed OK on the sofa bed although I would consider getting the extra 'family room' if we were going to be there for more than a couple of nights. The kitchen contents are basic but sufficient for a short stay
The hotel is very handy to the Mowbray Park ferry stop and there is a really nice playground there for the kids. There's a pub across the street and a little shopping centre around the corner with a couple of restaurants, bottle shop, IGA and cafe/deli, so we were all set for supplies. We could see the lights of the Gabba from our balcony so this would be an excellent place to stay if you were going to a game there. On the whole I found this to be a good value place to stay with the family.

Room Tip: As other reviewers have mentioned the 'city view' rooms are the ones to get. Very little str...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mackay, Queensland, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

This is our 2nd stay now with Paul and Maria. The road noise was the only noticeable thing this time around as we were in the front room. We had a very private stay but were always looked after in every way whenever we seen staff. The room had everything we needed and was erfect or our needs. We will be returning yet again. Thanks to all ;)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new zealand
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

This hotel has good sized rooms, and is located close to city at ferry . The standard of cleanliness could be improved to truly reflect the rates and standard .It has a good restaurant and bar in the building however the chef does not cook evening meals on Saturday or Sunday , but that's fine as there are hundreds of options around the river or the pub next door.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hervey Bay, Australia
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

We needed a central place to stay while in Brisbane, and chose the Wellington Apartment Hotel. What we got was what we saw and read. We had a room to the back. Very helpful staff, and we were able to have an early checkin as we had to go to a funeral. The room was spacious, and everything you could expect.
Easy access to the road tunnels, and the bus routes. Breakfast in the restaurant was quite large!!! Well done

Room Tip: Ask for a room to the back with city views!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Wellington Apartment Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wellington Apartment Hotel

Address: 192 Wellington Road, Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 165 Hotels in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Wellington Apartment Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Kangaroo Point, close to Brisbane CBD, make The Wellington Apartment Hotel your '4 Star home-away-from-home'. Great for tourists and business travellers with secure undercover parking, balcony/courtyard in every spacious renovated studio apartment with reverse cycle air-conditioning plus ceiling fan (or open the glass doors wide for a cool breeze!), balcony with table and 2 chairs, table and 2 x chairs inside also, secure undercover parking, guest laundry. Our restaurant specialises in fresh seasonal produced to order for breakfast & dinner. Room service available plus friendly bar & minibar in-room. We have our own recommended tour of Brisbane using the fabulous CityCats which you board a short walk away - very inexpensive and a lovely way to see our river-city. No driving, just relaxing! Tour desk, google maps and loads of travel advice available from our friendly helpful staff plus free wifi throughout property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Wellington Apartment Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wellington Apartment Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.