We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced and pretty tacky” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Snooze Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Snooze Inn to your Saves list
Snooze Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   383 St Pauls Terrace | Fortitude Valley, Brisbane, Queensland 4006, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #120 of 161 Hotels in Brisbane
Canberra
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Overpriced and pretty tacky”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

Booked a twin room, based on room pictures advertised - and reality bore very little resemblance. The room was tiny, the bathroom so small that you hit your hip on the sink trying to get to the toilet, and black mould in the very narrow shower recess. The hotel is on a very busy road with no parking on the street and no drop off area. I must say the staff were as helpful as could be, but I paid over $140 for one night, in a rather seedy area of Brisbane as it turned out, and think I received $70 worth of value. I won't be returning.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    25
    15
    9
    15
See reviews for
2
28
24
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

We stayed here for nearly a week in total when we first arrived in Brisbane and were looking for somewhere to live. The owners were helpful and friendly and the rooms ok size quipped with a fridge, TV and ensuite shower room. There was use of a kitchen and internet area.

As far as places go this is more like a hostel than hotel but really good location for getting into the city on either the bus or train station both situated just a couple hundred meters away.

I would definitely recomend this for anyone looking to be in Fortitude Valley without having to be at a backpackers!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2011

Clean rooms , clean sheets and pillows Very small rooms with even smaller ensuite Hair dryer test and tag sticker was done in 2006 and to be reinspected in 2007 Communal kichen cooking goes through the whole place including rooms when someone cooks a meal loud creaky floor so you can hear every footstep during the night l was in a front room which you can hear the traffic pretty clearly but the aircon/heater cuts the noise out First hotel l have been that also gives you 2 shampoos instead of a shampoo and a conditioner l asked my work collegues who were there also and they had the same

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biloela, Australia
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
90 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
204 helpful votes 204 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2011

We recently stayed for one night so that we could catch the train the next morning to Brisbane airport. It was a short uphill walk from Fortitude Valley railway station. Directions on the website are eay to follow.
We had Room 25. Room was fairly small but was clean. There was a small fridge and coffee making facilities. It suited our purposes for a short stay.
We got there after 8pm and this was the time that reception had closed. We just followed the instructions on the door to access our room key.
A downside was that there was no lift which could be a problem if you are not able to lug your own suitacases up or down stairs.
We never saw any staff so we cannot comment on service.
Hotel was also within walking distance of takeaway food. This place is a viable alternative to the other airport hotels if you wish to catch the train to the airport and it is cheaper too. I will also be lodging a review of the Airolodge Hotel Brisbane.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2011

This was a great budget hotel, the bed was comfortable and room was very clean. Location was ok, only a few minutes walk into the valley and 10/15 minutes walk into the city. There was even a communal kitchen.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Maunganui, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2011

Another hotel had messed up my booking, and Jacqueline came to my rescue! I could not have been happier with the friendliness and helpfulness of the family team in charge. The room was clean, quiet and excellent value, and this made my short stay so welcoming and comfortable.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2011 via mobile

Nice little cheapy hotel. Family run and nice and clean. Good beds and crisp linen. Rooms are small but git all neccessary for a sleep n go. Downstairs rooms bit noisy from footsteps and movements on level above ... Bring earplugs. Good communal kitchen. Area a bit dodgy but only 10 min walk to life. Recommended for budget concious or those that just need a clean, quiet bed.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Snooze Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Snooze Inn

Address: 383 St Pauls Terrace | Fortitude Valley, Brisbane, Queensland 4006, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #120 of 161 Hotels in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Snooze Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Snooze Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Snooze Hotel Brisbane

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Snooze Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.