We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location is good” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mantra South Bank

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Mantra South Bank to your Saves list
Mantra South Bank
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   161 Grey St | South Bank, Brisbane, Queensland 4101, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay Longer and Save
Ranked #56 of 161 Hotels in Brisbane
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Location is good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

The rooms are spacious and fully equipped. A very comfortable bed and pillows. However cleaning was negligible during our five day stay, even after we requested it. Bathrooms could certainly do with a makeover and the shower with its glass wall is a tight squeeze and I am not on the large side of the scale. While the reception staff were very apologetic about the rooms not being cleaned after a number of requests, action would have been preferable.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the city side, otherwise you will hear the trains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leah F, General Manager at Mantra South Bank, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Dear Mischka1,

Thank you for letting us know your feedback from your stay with us last week.

One of the options that some of our guests choose when staying with us, especially for longer periods, is to purchase accommodation specials either directly or through their travel agent and the special that you were on had a fantastic special rate and the deal involved cleaning your room every 3 days rather than every day.

By offering our guests these types of specials we find that we are better able to provide a number of options to suit the majority of our guests and their budgets. I believe where we may have let you down was not reiterating on check-in that this was the special deal that your travel agent had booked on your behalf. Your feedback brought this to our attention and we have introduced a welcome letter noting this so thank you for your comment.

Kind regards
Leah

General Manager
Mantra South Bank Brisbane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    175
    68
    23
    13
See reviews for
42
129
29
136
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

As part of a geek week known as YOW I travelled to Brisbane for work related purposes staying at the Mantra with my fellow coworkers.

The hotel is extremely well located, next to the Brisbane Convention Centre and a bunch of restaurants at walking distance is an ideal hotel to stay for business related topics as well as sparing some days for recreational endeavours.

One of those nights, after a workshop my brain was fried and decided to walk around to relax... it was a great just to know the hotel was so close to the river and you could just chill out along the walk with the certainty the hotel is located a few blocks away and if you didn't want to eat at the hotel you could easily walk to one of the docent restaurants on the front block.

The rooms are pretty nice although during summer the temperature might be really high and the A/C turns off as soon as you remove your card from the switch... So you have to wait about 10 minutes for your room to be at a very liveable condition for you to sleep properly. As you probably noticed, my highlight was resting at the hotel. I have no complain what so ever.

Another good thing for people planning to do a business trip is that each room has a great desk for you to take a seat, pull out your computer and start doing your stuff.

Breakfast at the hotel is continental (or just fruit if you don't want to pay 30 something dollars for bacon and eggs) but is not worth it. You could get a much better breakfast just around the corner for a fraction of the cost.

Finally the pool is quite interesting, it has a view to the street (as is located at the first or second level of the hotel and you could see people walking pass the hotel) but to me it was a little bit small to do lap swimming (which sucked as I was training as well for a coming event).

Be aware the hotel is also an apartment building and there are lots of people in it. Is quite easy to find a resident with his/her bicycle in the elevator with other 5 guests.

Room Tip: Try to get rooms facing the river. The view is so much better as the other side just points to back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leah F, General Manager at Mantra South Bank, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Dear Rodrigoelp,

We agree and thank you! We're located in the best area of Brisbane with everything you need either in our hotel or within a minute or two walking distance.

Just FYI for your next stay, if you're environmentally inclined, you can take the card out which will turn off the air-con however on check-in ask for a spare card and then keep the card in whether you're in the room or not - then your room will remain at that 'just right for you' temperature!

Thanks again and good luck for your swim event that is coming up.

Kind regards
Leah

General Manager
Mantra South Bank Brisbane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Booked in here by a university and advised to transfer from airport by train to South Brisbane. A short walk in the winter sun to the lobby, a brisk and friendly check in, and I was unpacking in a large, well appointed room.

The location is excellent and the facilities are fine for business or holiday travel. The staff are unobtrusive but helpful.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leah F, General Manager at Mantra South Bank, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Dear Ingram10,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know how your stay with us was. We're delighted you found our team members helpful and unobtrusive, our location excellent and your room large and well appointed.

We hope to welcome you back to stay with us again soon.

Kind regards
Leah

General Manager
Mantra South Bank Brisbane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brisbane
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

This is a great location in Brisbane, Southbank is ideal for a holiday and within walking distance or easy city cat ride to the CBD. The area is improving all the time with new places to eat and things to do.
The one bedroom apartment we had was modern and clean, TV in the lounge area and the bedroom, desk available if work is required. However, the apartments feel a bit cold and sparse, the furnishings and decor are not in the luxury bracket and the rooms on the small side. Our apartment was at the rear of the building which backs onto the railway although to be fair the double glazing keeps out most of the noise.
There are a number of extras when you stay here, for example valet parking is the only option at $35 per night and wifi is another $40 for 3 nights so things start to mount up.
On the plus side the staff are friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Opt for a room at the front, the rear is a railway line
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leah F, General Manager at Mantra South Bank, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Dear WhamBrisbane,

Great feedback thank you, especially about our friendly and helpful team members.

Just to keep you up to date, we are working through a soft refurbishment of our rooms and thus far have completed the following in all our rooms/apartments: new carpet, new Digital TV's, new bedside lighting, new minibars, new linen and toweling and double-glazing of all our urban view rooms and, the best is yet to come with new bedding, new art work, new sofas and occasional chairs! Our Stone restaurant and gymnasium have just been refurbished as well and are looking fabulous. We're not trying to be a luxurious hotel but we are succeeding at being a modern, comfortable, warm and inviting place to stay and I believe we are just that.

Come back and see us soon so you can see some of the changes occurring. Until then, take care and happy travels.

Kind regards
Leah

General Manager
Mantra South Bank Brisbane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Arriving on the airport train, I walked down to the hotel, which is well located. The check-in happened as follows:

"I'm here to check in."
"You've already checked in Mr ........"
"No, that's not possible, I've only just arrived." Some hurried typing...
"We seem to have checked someone else into your room, because you're both with the same organisation, Griffith University."
"But I'm not with Griffith University."
"Well we will just check him out, clean the room, and there you can...."
"No, I don't want to wait for that, can you find me another room?" More typing...

I go up to the room, put the card in the door, and find a man in the bed who yelled, and so did I, apologised and ran out of the room. I went back down to the lobby where the flustered staff had already realised the mistake. I asked to speak to the manager and received an apology. I think for this sort of mistake there should be some sort of compensation because I won't be using this hotel again.

Apart from that the room was ok, no bath, bed was comfortable. One window latch was broken so the window did not shut properly, and there was a lot of street noise. The breakfast was average, the coffee from the machine was the worst I have ever drunk, burnt and bitter.

So Mantra Brisbane, unless you do something other than a desperate apology, I won't be back.

Room Tip: Try not to get the room with a man already in it
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leah F, General Manager at Mantra South Bank, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Dear TurningLeft,

Thank you for posting your comment regarding your recent stay with us and I apologise that you did not receive our usual fantastic level of service. We have been trying to contact you both during your stay and after you departed to again offer our apologies and to discuss further.

Unfortunately two guests with the same surname was the original source of the problem and our team realised their error too late to stop what occurred.

We will try again to contact you today and we look forward to working through this so that your next stay with us is at its usual high standard.

Kind regards

Leah Feldmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

Stayed overnight as we had a function on in Southbank. Arrived early (12noon), room wasn't ready but staff did our check in, stored our bags and arranged valet parking for our car. We wandered and had some lunch at one of the numerous restaurants & cafes nearby. On our return, our room was ready. We stayed in a studio unit which was adequate for our needs for 1 night. Spacious unit, double glazed windows, huge bed, very comfortable pillows. We were on floor 7 and overlooked the rail line and busy road but didn't hear a thing from outside. Staff were very courteous and were helpful and knowledgable about the area. Checkout was quick and our car was delivered swiftly to us directly outside the lobby. Upon arrival, we were a little confused as to wear to park our car for check in as there is no drive-in bay but there is a 2 minute loading zone on the road directly outside the lobby which is where you are expected to park. Price wise, it was a little overpriced with $35 extra for parking on-top of $200 for a studio unit but for the convenience we absorbed the cost. Free Wifi was not included which overseas visitors would appreciate if paying the price that the Mantra asks. Overall, we enjoyed our stay at Mantra Southbank.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Stayed here during the British Lions tour and this was easily the best of all the hotels we stayed in. The staff were very helpful, rooms were sumptuous and the breakfast set us up for the day ahead. The only niggle was the cost of the wi-fi but against other Australian hotels it was not so bad. Australia in general has got to get used to delivering free wi-fi like the rest of the world..

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mantra South Bank? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra South Bank

Address: 161 Grey St | South Bank, Brisbane, Queensland 4101, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Brisbane
#29 Family Hotel in Brisbane
#40 Business Hotel in Brisbane
#44 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra South Bank 4.5*
Number of rooms: 161
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Mantra South Bank reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra South Bank Brisbane
Mantra South Bank Hotel Brisbane

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mantra South Bank, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.