We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This happened to me at the Mantra” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mantra South Bank

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Mantra South Bank to your Saves list
Mantra South Bank
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   161 Grey St | South Bank, Brisbane, Queensland 4101, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay Longer and Save
Ranked #57 of 161 Hotels in Brisbane
Cairns, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“This happened to me at the Mantra”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Arriving on the airport train, I walked down to the hotel, which is well located. The check-in happened as follows:

"I'm here to check in."
"You've already checked in Mr ........"
"No, that's not possible, I've only just arrived." Some hurried typing...
"We seem to have checked someone else into your room, because you're both with the same organisation, Griffith University."
"But I'm not with Griffith University."
"Well we will just check him out, clean the room, and there you can...."
"No, I don't want to wait for that, can you find me another room?" More typing...

I go up to the room, put the card in the door, and find a man in the bed who yelled, and so did I, apologised and ran out of the room. I went back down to the lobby where the flustered staff had already realised the mistake. I asked to speak to the manager and received an apology. I think for this sort of mistake there should be some sort of compensation because I won't be using this hotel again.

Apart from that the room was ok, no bath, bed was comfortable. One window latch was broken so the window did not shut properly, and there was a lot of street noise. The breakfast was average, the coffee from the machine was the worst I have ever drunk, burnt and bitter.

So Mantra Brisbane, unless you do something other than a desperate apology, I won't be back.

Room Tip: Try not to get the room with a man already in it
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leah F, General Manager at Mantra South Bank, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Dear TurningLeft,

Thank you for posting your comment regarding your recent stay with us and I apologise that you did not receive our usual fantastic level of service. We have been trying to contact you both during your stay and after you departed to again offer our apologies and to discuss further.

Unfortunately two guests with the same surname was the original source of the problem and our team realised their error too late to stop what occurred.

We will try again to contact you today and we look forward to working through this so that your next stay with us is at its usual high standard.

Kind regards

Leah Feldmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    175
    68
    23
    13
See reviews for
42
129
29
136
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

Stayed overnight as we had a function on in Southbank. Arrived early (12noon), room wasn't ready but staff did our check in, stored our bags and arranged valet parking for our car. We wandered and had some lunch at one of the numerous restaurants & cafes nearby. On our return, our room was ready. We stayed in a studio unit which was adequate for our needs for 1 night. Spacious unit, double glazed windows, huge bed, very comfortable pillows. We were on floor 7 and overlooked the rail line and busy road but didn't hear a thing from outside. Staff were very courteous and were helpful and knowledgable about the area. Checkout was quick and our car was delivered swiftly to us directly outside the lobby. Upon arrival, we were a little confused as to wear to park our car for check in as there is no drive-in bay but there is a 2 minute loading zone on the road directly outside the lobby which is where you are expected to park. Price wise, it was a little overpriced with $35 extra for parking on-top of $200 for a studio unit but for the convenience we absorbed the cost. Free Wifi was not included which overseas visitors would appreciate if paying the price that the Mantra asks. Overall, we enjoyed our stay at Mantra Southbank.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Stayed here during the British Lions tour and this was easily the best of all the hotels we stayed in. The staff were very helpful, rooms were sumptuous and the breakfast set us up for the day ahead. The only niggle was the cost of the wi-fi but against other Australian hotels it was not so bad. Australia in general has got to get used to delivering free wi-fi like the rest of the world..

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is ideally situated at Southbank Brisbane, close to the city but far enough away. Relaxed bar & restaurant with friendly staff. Also close to plenty of other cafes and a variety of other dining options. Good walking and cycling along the river.

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicante, Spain
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

No idea how much this costs as it was booked through a sports tour operator. It was ideally located close to the South Bank, friendly staff throughout, decent bar area but not great for groups of people, good quality breakfast, good size rooms and bathrooms. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bribie Island
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We chose Mantra due to its location....near QPAC....lovely South Bank.....restaurants etc, but the price was ridiculous at $265.00 (and this was a special deal!). If you wish to stay in this area, then the choice is very limited....Rydges is the only other hotel close by so they have no competition.
It was a special occasion for us so we just paid because it is such a lovely area and everything is in walking distance. They even charge extra for parking.....$35.00....valet....so you feel obliged to tip. The room was fresh and clean......new furnishings and we had a lovely view over the city;including the cute little coffee nook across the road (which is where we had breakfast at a much cheaper rate). I must say that the bed was extremely comfortable and absolutely huge. We were only in the room long enough to sleep so next time we will seek cheaper options or save up!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a city view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryborough, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

I first booked this hotel for my mother and by far surpassed her expectations. She was treated to a great up grade at no extra cost because they had the availability and said she'd was treated like gold by their staff. Due to her recommendation our family went to stay in February and again had the same experience. The staff at mantra need a pat on the back, great service and great city hotel so close to south banks beset features. Our family will definitely be back!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mantra South Bank? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra South Bank

Address: 161 Grey St | South Bank, Brisbane, Queensland 4101, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Brisbane
#42 Business Hotel in Brisbane
#44 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra South Bank 4.5*
Number of rooms: 161
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Expedia, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Mantra South Bank reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra South Bank Brisbane
Mantra South Bank Hotel Brisbane

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mantra South Bank, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.