We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for a great price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mantra South Bank, Brisbane

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Mantra South Bank, Brisbane to your Saves list
Mantra South Bank, Brisbane
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   161 Grey St | South Bank, Brisbane, Queensland 4101, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay Longer and Save
Ranked #45 of 165 Hotels in Brisbane
Jeju, South Korea
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Great location for a great price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

The Mantra Southbank is in a great location for downtown Brisbane. It is close to the boardwalk, Southbank man-made beach/park, and lots of restaurants and cafes. Despite its excellent location, it only cost us just over $100 for a night's stay. It also has an excellent breakfast included in the price, with loads of fresh fruit, grains, eggs, lattes, etc.! Definitely recommended if staying in Brisbane!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leah F, General Manager at Mantra South Bank, Brisbane, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Dear Mrs Parnell,

Thank you for your lovely feedback from your stay with us and thank you for recommending us. It is wonderful to hear that our guests are enjoying their stay and that our hard work pays off when we hear lovely comments from our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us again. Until then take care and happy travels.

Kind regards
Leah

Leah Feldmann
General Manager
Mantra South Bank Brisbane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    203
    72
    26
    15
See reviews for
49
163
31
157
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We stayed at the Mantra, Southbank and the first thing we noticed was the parking valet service at an extra $35 per night. After paying $557 per night for a 2 bedroom suite (with breakfast) I thought this was a little expensive.
I requested 2 single beds for the kids room and a king for our room and was a little surprised to find that the main room with en suite, tv etc was the one set up with the two single beds. The room was bland and run down with frayed carpet, and some smudges in the kitchen and bathroom. When it was time for bed we were upset to find that the plumbing from either the adjoining room or upstairs seemed to pass though the wall above the bed head which meant that each shower, flush or running tap was heard very loudly in the bedroom. These noises continued throughout the night in addition to the train tracks nearby meant for a lousy nights sleep. The room was on the 5th floor which meant there was only a view of the roof below which was littered with cigarette butts.

The location is great and breakfast was ok, however as we stayed during the Brisbane International tennis tournament we felt that perhaps the focus was not on all of their clients as we were not asked how our stay was at any time. We travel to Brisbane yearly and would not stay here again as there are less expensive and better options available.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leah F, General Manager at Mantra South Bank, Brisbane, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Dear RegOz,

Thank you for your feedback from your recent stay with us. We have noted several of your comments and are looking into them now so thank you for letting us know.

Next time you're in Brisbane please give us a call direct and we can discuss a package which includes parking and breakfast.

Until then take care and thank you again.

Kind regards
Leah

Leah Feldmann
General Manager
Mantra South Bank Brisbane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013 via mobile

Nice one night stay while attending the Brisbane International Tennis. Rooms were spacious, bathroom a little on the small side and extension of the bench top wall -to -wall would provide more room. However , this was a minor detail. Breakfast was fine. Staff were friendly and accommodating, valet parking efficient and concierge prompt and helpful. A great location if you are attending anything in Southbank area

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leah F, General Manager at Mantra South Bank, Brisbane, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Dear Bon2005,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know your feedback - we really appreciate your comments especially that our team members were friendly and accommodating.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards
Leah

Leah Feldmann
General Manager
Mantra South Bank Brisbane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

We were very pleased by this hotel. Huge, comfortable rooms. Good location near to the South Bank restaurants, cafes and shops. A short and pleasant walk to the CBD.

Staff helpful and welcoming, and the breakfast was fine.

The hotel is located near to a main road and railway line - hence light sleepers may want to request a room at the front of the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leah F, General Manager at Mantra South Bank, Brisbane, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Holidayspeak1,

Thank you for your lovely feedback - especially that our staff were helpful and welcoming and our rooms are comfortable and spacious. It's great to hear that our hard work pays off and our guests are enjoying their stay with us.

Take care and Happy New Year!

Kind regards
Leah

Leah Feldmann
General Manager
Mantra South Bank Brisbane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

The best price I could find for 1 person for 2 nights, mid-week was > $250/night. The room was fine, though bland. Noone offered to help me with my luggage at check in. A selling point was the pool/spa, however the spa (hot tub) had apparently been broken for quite a while. I ran into some fellows who lived there and said it had not been heated in 2 years. Other than that, it was a very fine, comfortable hotel, but simply WAY over priced! If I had paid half what I did, I would have been satisfied.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leah F, General Manager at Mantra South Bank, Brisbane, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Frontiernurse,

Thank you for your feedback. When youre coming back to stay with us again, please feel free to call us direct and we'll get the best deal for you - especially if its a weekend.

Just FYI, our pool is heated to 28 degrees and the spa to 36 degrees for the last seven years so the private resident got that one wrong!

Until we see you again, take care and Happy New Year!

Kind regards
Leah

Leah Feldmann
General Manager
Mantra South Bank Brisbane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

We came to Brisbane for a wedding on the Gold Coast - stayed with friends Sth Brisbane and then went on to wotif to find a hotel for 3 nights so we could experience pre-Christmas in the CBD area.
It was great that we chose the Mantra hotel - we loved it! Helpful and courteous staff - nothing a bother. The rooms beautifully clean and well supplied with all the little extras (bathroom and kitchen supplies AND replenished every day!)
We loved the view of the bustle of life below us and stood on our balcony and watched the world go by and were so pleased we were on holiday.
Ate in the restaurant two nights and loved that too. A real tonic after working so hard to get away from it all. Didn't get to try the spa or breakfast (went out and sat and watched everyone go to work!!!)
Thank you, thank you, thank you. We will recommend to everyone.
Merry Christmas to you all. We will be back one day.
Denise & David Pearson - The Catlins, South Island, New Zealand

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leah F, General Manager at Mantra South Bank, Brisbane, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear NZJess,

Exceptional feedback thank you! Just says it all really.

My team and I are very happy that you found time to relax and watch the world rushing by and that we looked after you well while you enjoyed your time out.

Perhaps next time you stay with us you can watch the world whizzing by from our pool - it has a glass window at the end of it overlooking Grey St and surrounds - good people watching whilst sipping a Cosmopolitan!

Take care and Happy New Year!

Kind regards
Leah

Leah Feldmann
Mantra South Bank Brisbane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

I stayed here for one night with my husband who was in Brisbane for business. The room was clean, the bed sufficient and the shower great. Unfortunately our window was right next to the train tracks, so it was a little noisy especially when we opened the window for some non-artificial air (great to have the option of opening a window, though...)! The television was old and its sound and screen was not good. I did not think it was worth buying an in-house movie to watch on such a TV! They charge for their internet, which is a shame I think in our day and age.

The location was truly fantastic. The hotel is located right on the South Bank and all it has to offer in terms of restaurants, a good swim, a relaxed vibe and a river walk. The station with the Airtrain was also within easy walking distance.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that faces the street, so you do not get the train tracks!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leah F, General Manager at Mantra South Bank, Brisbane, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Letschillout,

Thank you for letting my team and I know your feedback from your stay with us.

We agree that our location is fantastic and are disappionted that you felt our hotel was average. We have a great variety of room types including apartments with fantastic city views, a modern very friendly restaurant, great gym, pool and spa. Internet is high speed and very accessible and is free to inhouse guests in our lobby internet kiosk. Our new TV's are scheduled to be installed over the next couple of months so when you come back to stay you can take the time to chill out and watch those movies!

Until we see you again take care and Happy New Year!

Kind regards
Leah

Leah Feldmann
General Manager
Mantra South Bank Brisbane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mantra South Bank, Brisbane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra South Bank, Brisbane

Address: 161 Grey St | South Bank, Brisbane, Queensland 4101, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Brisbane
#24 Family Hotel in Brisbane
#28 Business Hotel in Brisbane
#39 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mantra South Bank, Brisbane 5*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra South Bank is conveniently located on Grey Street, opposite the Brisbane Convention & Exhibition Centre and within walking distance of several major tourist attractions including the Queensland Performing Arts Complex, State Art Gallery, Museum and South Bank Parklands. Public transport, including buses, trains and the famous Brisbane River City-Cats are all within walking distance of Mantra South Bank, ensuring all that Brisbane has on offer is right at your doorstep. The hotel offers a range of accommodation options such as hotel rooms, studios, one and two bedroom apartments. All rooms have been stylishly designed to offer guests maximum comfort and feature air-conditioning, mini-bar, plunger coffee & tea making facilities, direct-dial ISDN telephones, voice-mail, broadband internet access (fees apply), LCD televisions and DVD player, in-house movies and personal in-room safes. All Studio rooms have a kitchenette and all apartments feature a fully equipped kitchen, laundry facilities and private balconies, some with city views. The property offers guests an array of professional services and facilities including a 24 hour reception desk, 24 hour concierge, 24 hour room service, on site Stone Restaurant & Bar, gym, pool and spa. Small conferences for up to 48 delegates can be catered for in 'The Boardroom' or 'Meeting Room' and for larger functions, Stone Restaurant & Bar can cater for up to 150 guests. Combined with the close proximity to Brisbane's major attractions, Mantra South Bank is the ideal choice for business and leisure travellers looking for comfort and convenience. **THIS IS A NON SMOKING HOTEL** Business Facilities Small conferences for up to 48 delegates can be catered for in 'The Boardroom' or 'Meeting Room' and for larger functions, Mantra South Bank's Stone Restaurant & Bar can cater for up to 150 guests. Every guest room has Broadband internet connection and secretarial support can be arranged. Fax and copying services are also available for an additional fee. Check In Instructions: (hours of operation) Check in 1400hrs Check out 1000hrs Check in is from 2pm, if you do arrive earlier we can store your luggage for you. Check out time is 10am. You will be required to leave either a credit card imprint or a $250 refundable security deposit along with photo ID on check in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Mantra South Bank, Brisbane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra South Bank Brisbane
Mantra South Bank Hotel Brisbane

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mantra South Bank, Brisbane, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.