We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“can't see the wood for the trees” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Mantra South Bank

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Mantra South Bank to your Saves list
Mantra South Bank
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   161 Grey St | South Bank, Brisbane, Queensland 4101, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay Longer and Save
Ranked #57 of 161 Hotels in Brisbane
Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“can't see the wood for the trees”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We enjoyed our stay here 5 years ago, so on a return trip to Brisbane chose the Mantra on South Bank as a well designed and well located site. This visit it appears we accidentally booked, through 'central reservations', a remote, satellite-like business group that told us we couldn't have 5 nights at the one hotel for our two rooms we needed for an extended family visit. So we planned to relocate to Queen St for our fifth night. On being here we found out there are spare rooms for our final night and we asked to transfer our booking. Central reservations have told us we needed to release our booking within 24 hours of 2pm the day we are due to stay. So unless we are happy to lose $500 we have to transfer. Mantra's overall ownership needs to understand the wider brand management is deteriorating rapidly.

While the hotel is good, Mantra is run like a very poor budget airline where flexibility, customer service and helping solve issues in the 'I will' mode is the last thing that crosses the minds of a rule bound management team.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leah F, General Manager at Mantra South Bank, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Dear Sophie J,

It is very concerning to hear that you are unhappy with the Central Reservations team. If possible, please do give me a call so I can get some further information from you.

The Central Reservations team based in the Gold Coast make around 2000 reservations per day across Australia and New Zealand so they're usually very good and experienced in helping our guests.

On your next trip to Brisbane please feel free to contact our hotel reservations team directly so that we can tailor your booking exactly to your needs. On this occasion we may have received a late cancellation at our hotel which allowed us to extend your stay here however that cancellation may not have interfaced with our Central Reservations at that time.

Thank you for your feedback and I look forward to hearing from you.

Kind regards
Leah

Leah Feldmann
General Manager
Mantra South Bank Brisbane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    175
    68
    23
    13
See reviews for
42
129
29
136
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

I stayed at the Mantra last week as a conference was in town and this hotel was part of the conference package.
The hotel is in a great location with many restaurants to choose from in little stanley st etc. The staff were very good and the hotel is spotless.
I was on level four facing the back of the hotel and was woken up every morning at around 5:30am by the trains going past ( there is a railway line behind the hotel). I was only there for a few nights but should have asked to be moved. Not sure if it is general but the air con in my room was difficult to set right and fan speed was strange. Highest speed was like the lowest speed elsewhere.
The restaurant/cafe/bar open up to the street so great for sitting outside and people watching.

Room Tip: Don't book a room that faces the back of the hotel as the trains are likely to wake you up very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leah F, General Manager at Mantra South Bank, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Dear JohnofSydney,

Thank you for your lovely feedback with regards to our staff and the cleanliness of our hotel. We take pride in providing our guests with friendly, warm and efficient service. Our Housekeeping team are exceptional and our rooms are spotless so the team are very happy you have noted this in your feedback.

We are in a fantastic location central to the hub of everything that goes on within South Bank and more and more people are discovering this.

We do have City View rooms and these are our premium rooms however the view of the city during the day and at night is spectacular - next time you stay with us, call us direct and we can help find the best type of accommodation for you.

Kind regards
Leah

Leah Feldmann
General Manager
Mantra South Bank Brisbane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

The Brisbane South Bank is a great place to visit, and the Mantra South Bank is in a perfect location. Check in was efficient, courteous and quick. The room was very modern, extremely comfortable, and very well-equipped with a little kitchen area. Despite overlooking a busy street, with a railway close by, I had a very peaceful night. Breakfast was buzzing! A generous buffet with freshly squeezed fruit juice, fresh fruit as well as the usual bacon, sausage, pancakes, pastries, eggs, etc. My solitary regret, was that I only stayed for one night!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leah F, General Manager at Mantra South Bank, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Dear Nandu T,

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to let us know how your stay with us was.

We hope to welcome you back next time you visit Brisbane!

Until then, take care and thank you again.

Kind regards
Leah

Leah Feldmann
General Manager
Mantra South Bank Brisbane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Nice experience from when you walk into the foyer till you leave, had to check out later and that was arranged in seconds! Very Tidy and neat as a pin!
Room was at the back and there is a rail line behind the hotel. Trains did not bother us at all!
Can recommend!

Room Tip: Ask for a River view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leah F, General Manager at Mantra South Bank, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Dear Ferns_Mel,

Great feedback from your stay with us! Our team are very happy that you enjoyed your experience and we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards
Leah

Leah Feldmann
General Manager
Mantra South Bank Brisbane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

The hotel rooms are lovely suites, complete with stocked kitchenette and washer/dryer. Our room faced the train tracks which proved to be only slightly noisy. The biggest complaint is the temperature difference between the sitting room and the bedroom (which could get quite stuffy). The room is clean, staff is helpful and it is conveniently located to coffee shops, restaurants and the convention/expo center.

Room Tip: ask for a room on the street side (as opposed to the train tracks)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leah F, General Manager at Mantra South Bank, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Dear Mcgoldrd,

Thank you for taking the time to pass on your feedback about your stay. We're very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We'll take a look at the air-con in your room as there are vents in each room in our apartments to ensure the temperature is consistent.

Until we welcome you back again - happy travels!

Kind regards
Leah

Leah Feldmann
General Manager
Mantra South Bank Bribane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Wonderful, wonderful, wonderful. What else can one say about this hotel? From the very attentive front desk staff and concierge to the very neat and thorough cleaning of the rooms and the fantastic restaurant staff, what else can one say? Not much, I enjoyed it so much. We were there on business but will stay there again on a holiday.....Great location as well...Very reasonable prices with the buffet breakfast included....My only grizzle would be the fact that being a vegan, I lived on the mushrooms and tomatoes....Needs a little more variety for vegetarians and vegans at breakfast time...But other than that, all was wonderful....

Room Tip: We were fine where we stayed but my sister in law over looked the railway...Maybe check before check...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leah F, General Manager at Mantra South Bank, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear Cat0407,

Thank you, thank you, thank you - what else can I say to such wonderful feedback about our fantastic team members and hotel?

I'll get our Chef to come up with some extra ideas about Vegan/Vegetarian breakfast items. Next time you stay with us, please do not hesitate to call us in advance and we will have this ready for you at breakfast.

Until then take care and happy travels.

Kind regards
Leah

Leah Feldmann
General Manager
Mantra South Bank Brisbane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed at the Mantra when over in Brisbane for the Festival. The location is absolutely superb - so close to the events, museum, art galleries, cinemas and Oh! so many bars and restaurants. Walking along by the river early in the morning as the City woke was a pleasure in itself. The hotel is certainly not "flash" but staff were very helpful, the place was very clean and the cafe very good And my friend loved having San Churrio on the doorstep!! Having read some reviews on TA before going we were worried about noise but our rooms were certainly very quiet.
Will definitely stay here again when we go back next year for the Festival - the convenience of not having to drive and park or catch public transport and the proximity to much that we love to do makes it a winner

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leah F, General Manager at Mantra South Bank, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear Dragonfield,

Fantastic feedback thank you! So many more guests are starting to realise how great it is to stay at South Bank and travel to the CBD if need be rather than the other way around. We're very lucky to have a friendly, modern and spacious hotel located in the centre of everything that makes South Bank the best place in Brisbane.

Kind regards
Leah

Leah Feldmann
General Manager
Mantra South Bank Brisbane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mantra South Bank? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra South Bank

Address: 161 Grey St | South Bank, Brisbane, Queensland 4101, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Brisbane
#42 Business Hotel in Brisbane
#44 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra South Bank 4.5*
Number of rooms: 161
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Mantra South Bank reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra South Bank Brisbane
Mantra South Bank Hotel Brisbane

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mantra South Bank, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.