We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent business hotel, river side” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mantra South Bank

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Mantra South Bank to your Saves list
Mantra South Bank
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   161 Grey St | South Bank, Brisbane, Queensland 4101, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay Longer and Save
Ranked #57 of 161 Hotels in Brisbane
perth
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Excellent business hotel, river side”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

Have stayed at the Mantra on many occasions and never fail to enjoy the location of Southbank. Both the rooms and studio apartments are of good size although ask for a room overlooking Grey Street / river rather the railway line. On many nights you will think the trains are going straight through your room from midnight until 5 am.
Would appreciate a change in in-room menu but thats a minor issue when there are so many restaurants across the road.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking Grey Street are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leah F, General Manager at Mantra South Bank, responded to this review, March 27, 2012
Dear Tracey,

Thank you for letting us know how your stay with us was recently and we're very happy that you keep returning to stay with us.

The new room service menu and improved minibar is on it's way! Just waiting on the new menu covers to arrive!

We look forward to seeing you again.

Kind regards

Leah Feldmann
General Manager
Mantra South Bank Brisbane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    175
    68
    23
    13
See reviews for
42
129
29
136
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

Unpleasant circumstances can't be controlled but they can be dealt with in different ways and some effort to ensure a contingency plan could be made. I'm afraid that Mantra South Bank failed this test. I note that most of the recent reviews are generally good so I imagine in the average week with a bit of luck, the stay will be fine.

So yes we were unlucky. It was busy and we paid close to full price. The weather was terrible but we presumed that the dripping noise which kept my collegue up the first night was just airconditioning outside or something. The next morning I found some water round the window and realised there must be a leak and informed the main desk. The area round the window was dried but I can only assume to effort to sort the problem was made.

The next night didn't rain so there was no issue but by the late afternoon before the 3rd night, it became apparent, it wasn't just a leak but a major flow of water into our room from the rain. So we asked for another room. So a technician came and tried to plug the hole with a towel which was soaked within 30 mins and then made the dripping worse. Then we asked for another room. Oh we don't have any. Are you serious? But we can have a free breakfast and a bit off the room.

Finally a miraculous room arose from a cancellation. The approach to the incident by management was really pretty poor and the suggestion that staying in a flooded room was in anyway appropriate was ridiculous. An apology from a senior member of management would have been appropriate but wasn't forthcoming. I'm sad to write such a review and you'll see by my others that this is not the norm. I hope this might go some way to prompting management to review their service and maintenance staff training procedures.

Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leah F, General Manager at Mantra South Bank, responded to this review, April 1, 2012
Dear Berri_1981,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback from your recent stay with us.

You're right, the weather was particularly terrible and we seem to have had a small problem with the wind and the driving rain the weekend you stayed.

Luckily this doesnt occur too often however if we're fully booked our contingency plans do fly out the window. Thank goodness we did have a cancellation at the last moment and we were able to move you to another room as soon as we could. I apologise we were not able to offer you anything sooner however our team at Reception were doing their very best to find you another room or an alternate hotel - it seems much of Brisbane was fully booked too.

I hope you choose to return to stay with us again in the future so that you can experience our usual high standard of service and accommodation.

Kind regards

Leah Feldmann
General Manager
Mantra South Bank Brisbane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012

We stayed at the Mantra for 2nights when working in Brisbane, this is a nice hotel with all of the amenities required, great rooms good breakfast, all in all a good setup, in a great location, a special mention to a guy called Rhys who helped me with something's out of my car, which was much above the call of duty, we will certainly stay at the Mantra on our next visit to South Bank.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norwich
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012 via mobile

When booking this hotel i didn't realise how close this hotel is to the southbank area. There are lots of bars and restaurants around the hotel. It took me about 25 minutes to walk to the city centre along the river. The hotel is nice. Rooms are of a very generous size. Mine had a small kitchenette which was fully equipped with kitchen utensils. Very impressed. On the return i decided to get the train to the airport rather than a taxi. It was a little bit of a walk especially with heavy luggage!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

Nice new hotel in the lovely South bank precinct. Has all the facilities and is new in design. The Aussie cricket team were staying there on the same night, so must be ok!

Room Tip: Look for alternatives to park your car - is a bit pricey!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leah F, General Manager at Mantra South Bank, responded to this review, March 18, 2012
Dear Nevtraveller,

Thank you for your feedback. We're very lucky to be located in such a fantastic spot in Brisbane and very happy that we have such a great hotel surrounded by all the wonderful things to do in South Bank. Passing celebrities and heroes in the foyer is just an added bonus!

Thank you again for your comments and we hope to welcome you again soon.

Kind regards

Leah Feldmann
General Manager
Mantra South Bank Brisbane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medina, Ohio
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

We had the pleasure of checking into the Mantra for two nights in March. The check in was great, people at front desk very friendly. All the staff is so willing to answer questions of how to get to places, where to eat (though we had a great breakfast included in our package as well as eating at the hotel for dinner at it was great!) This hotels rooms are very clean with everything you need! We stayed two nights, then left for the Sunshine coast, rechecked back in for our last night in Brisbane before we had to leave for the USA. Checkin our second time was just as good and we had a fabulous room facing the river with a balcony! So nice to sit outside that night enjoying the beauty of Brisbane lite up at night! This hotel is in walking distance of the Queen Street Mall, across the street are lots of resturants, and a darling beach area. We were very pleased with the Mantra and would stay again for sure!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the street with a balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leah F, General Manager at Mantra South Bank, responded to this review, March 18, 2012
Dear Eileen,

Thank you for your lovely feedback regarding our team members and our hotel.

We take much pride in helping our guests to make the best out of their stay so I am very happy to see your comments. It's a great view of Brisbane at night isn't it?! I think more people are discovering how fabulous South Bank is and how close it is to the city without having to be in the thick of the city traffic.

Take care and thank you.

Kind regards

Leah Feldmann
General Manager
Mantra South Bank Brisbane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epsom, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

Stayed here on business for one night. Big room, functional room, no comparison with the intercontinental or Hilton where I stayed in Sydney, Adelaide and Kuala Lumpur. But it is clean, comfortable, but pricey actually and wifi doesn't work in the rooms, which is not good in this day and age - although, it does work in the Lobby. You have to pay for Wifi, which seems the norm in Australia - you need to sort this out!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leah F, General Manager at Mantra South Bank, responded to this review, March 12, 2012
Dear Polycarp L,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback from your recent stay with us. It sounds like you had a busy itinerary during your visit to Australia.

The team and I are glad that you found your apartment to be comfortable, spacious and clean and that it fulfilled your needs for your overnight stay. We're in the process of introducing WI-FI in our guest rooms however in the interim we still offer access to fast Broadband. In Australia it seems the majority of hotels do on-charge guests for internet services as it is expensive here compared to overseas however we're all hoping that changes very soon.

Take care and happy travels.

Kind regards
Leah Feldmann
General Manager
Mantra South Bank Brisbane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mantra South Bank? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra South Bank

Address: 161 Grey St | South Bank, Brisbane, Queensland 4101, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Brisbane
#41 Business Hotel in Brisbane
#44 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra South Bank 4.5*
Number of rooms: 161
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Mantra South Bank reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra South Bank Brisbane
Mantra South Bank Hotel Brisbane

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mantra South Bank, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.