We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and well fitted out, but beware the hidden charges” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mantra South Bank, Brisbane

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Mantra South Bank, Brisbane to your Saves list
Mantra South Bank, Brisbane
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   161 Grey St | South Bank, Brisbane, Queensland 4101, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay Longer and Save
Ranked #45 of 165 Hotels in Brisbane
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Good location and well fitted out, but beware the hidden charges”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

One of the better hotels that I stayed at for work. Had a one bedroom apartment which had a separate sitting room. Hotel is well kept, very clean, quiet and extremely well located to restaurants and the Soutbank arts precinct. It was also very good value based on the daily rate we paid - howevever, the goodwill was somewhat undone by the $27 internet access fee plus the 2% credit card surcharge (regardless of what credit card was used). It would be five star rating without these surcharges. I know that this is pretty typical Queensland - but it's one of the reasons that Australians have stopped travelling to Qld - its too expensive and not service oriented. Make sure you factor these costs into any planned stay. I also had issues with there being no hot water in the shower in the morning - lucky it was 36o outside and a cold shower wasn't the worst way to start that particular day.

Room Tip: Try not to get a room overlooking the railyards.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    203
    72
    26
    15
See reviews for
49
163
31
157
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

Great location, good facilities (lap pool could probably do with a clean but otherwise fabulous gym etc), nice big room, friendly staff that were flexible to early checkin, great car valet service, a very positive experience on the whole.

Room Tip: Request a city facing view so that you're not overlooking other buildings in South Bank
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leah F, General Manager at Mantra South Bank, Brisbane, responded to this review, January 5, 2012
Dear Shelley C,

What wonderful feedback from you thank you! I will pass your comments on to our team today which will make them all very happy.

I am just on my way to check the pool to make sure it is sparkling.

Thank you and regards

Leah Feldmann
General Manager
Mantra South Bank Brisbane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2011

Fantastic rooms with quite possibly the most comfy bed I've ever slept in my life. Breakfast buffet was quite impressive and high quality, but for the price point it is what you would expect.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

My wife and I stayed here for one night and were very happy with our room. The hotel is well appointed and very conveniently located directly across from South Bank. Staff were friendly with the only minor problem was when the concierge brought the wrong car from the car park, poor bloke. The standard room was huge with a balcony and was very modern and clean. The only complaint was that the train line ran directly behind the hotel and was quite noisy. We would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front of the hotel away from the train line.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

I've been to a few Mantra hotels and this one is one of their best - probably cause it's fairly new. First time I stayed there was for the 2006 Ashes and I was pleased to find out that the Australian Cricket team (along with the WAGS) was also staying there. Can't be a bad hotel if they're staying there.

Just like most Mantras I've been to this is also an apartment style hotel with a full kitchen, lounge and dining areas and a separate bedroom (if you get a one bedroom apartment). The hotel is located in the South Bank area and right across the road there are loads of restaurant. Also, there's a South Bank "swimming pool" area on the river bank.

Rooms are big and comfortable and very clean. Staff are really helpful as well. There is a restaurant and a bar although I haven't eaten there since 2008 so can't really comment anymore.

The open air swimming pool is really nice as well. All in all a really nice hotel worth staying at.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JNordkamp, Manager at Mantra South Bank, Brisbane, responded to this review, November 23, 2011
Dear Ch0gi,

Thanks for your fantastic review and for taking the time to post on Trip Advisor. You're right South Bank Parlands is an absolute must on your trip to Brisbane...

I am quitlety confident that Australian Cricket team will have a win at the upcoming test match.

Our Chef, and Stone Restaurant have just launched a brand new steak menu, which we are extremely excited about and our current Tapas menu contiunues to be quite popular. Stone Restaurant is open 6 nights a week (Monday - Saturday).

We look forward to welcoming you back to Mantra Soth Bank in the not-too-distant future.

Kind regards,
Jeremy Nordkamp - Executive Assistant Manager
Manta South Bank, Brisbane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingen, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

Booked a one bedroom king city views apartment. Reception staff were courteous, friendly, helpful & tended to all our needs very promptly & professionally.
Special mention to reception duty manager Rebecca Watts for her exceptional service in handling our extra requirements we asked of her.
Room was spacious, very clean & suited our needs.
Hotel location is fantastic, so close to everything Brisbane city has to offer including Southbank just across the road & the CBD a short walking distance away.
We had the buffet breakfast which was somewhat average, mantra may look at improving this important component of the business. It was just not to the standard of other nearby hotels we have stayed at in the past. Still adequate & enjoyable though.
We paid $288 which included breakfast for 3 & then $30 on top for valet parking which initially I thought was steep untill I had to park in one of the cbd car parks one day which cost $75 for 3.5 hours. The hotel even let us leave the car at the hotel after checkout so we could explore the city for the rest of the day.
Overall a very enjoyable & pleasant experience that I expect from a hotel of this caliber.
We will be back & we will refer our opinion to friends & family.
Thankyou Mantra

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JNordkamp, Manager at Mantra South Bank, Brisbane, responded to this review, November 23, 2011
Dear Shaolinka,

Thanks for taking the time to write about your recent stay at Mantra South Bank, Brisbane- we appreciate it and will be sharing with all of our staff, including Rebecca our Duty Manager.

We have taken your comments on board re breakfast and will review with our Executive Chef. As you touched on, our parking prices are quite competitive to the area and we pride ourselves on being flexible (where we can) to ensure our guest’s needs are met.

We're glad you enjoyed your stay and we do and look forward to welcoming you back again.

Kind regards,

Jeremy Nordkamp - Executive Assistant Manager
Mantra South Bank - Brisbane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2011

This Southbank hotel was selected for its very close location to the conference centre and the Southbank eateries. I booked a room that claimed to be a basic studio apartment but it was really just a standard room with a sink and microwave added in the corner. There was no table and chairs for eating. The bathroom was spotless and the bed very comfortable. There was an adequate business desk. I discovered at check out that the bottle of drinking water beside the bed that I thought was complimentary was a $6 item from the minibar. The staff service was perfunctory at best.

Room Tip: don't pay more for the studio apartment
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JNordkamp, Manager at Mantra South Bank, Brisbane, responded to this review, November 14, 2011
Dear maggie53,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with us. We read our reviews closely and use them for both employee recognition and find ways on improving our product.

I will be sure to share your comments with the entire team so they can see how their attention to detail and great customer service pays off. We look forward to welcoming you back to Mantra South Bank.

Thanks again for your honest feedback.


Kind regards
Jeremy Nordkamp – Executive Assistant Manager
Mantra South Bank, Brisbane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mantra South Bank, Brisbane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra South Bank, Brisbane

Address: 161 Grey St | South Bank, Brisbane, Queensland 4101, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Brisbane
#24 Family Hotel in Brisbane
#28 Business Hotel in Brisbane
#39 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mantra South Bank, Brisbane 5*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra South Bank is conveniently located on Grey Street, opposite the Brisbane Convention & Exhibition Centre and within walking distance of several major tourist attractions including the Queensland Performing Arts Complex, State Art Gallery, Museum and South Bank Parklands. Public transport, including buses, trains and the famous Brisbane River City-Cats are all within walking distance of Mantra South Bank, ensuring all that Brisbane has on offer is right at your doorstep. The hotel offers a range of accommodation options such as hotel rooms, studios, one and two bedroom apartments. All rooms have been stylishly designed to offer guests maximum comfort and feature air-conditioning, mini-bar, plunger coffee & tea making facilities, direct-dial ISDN telephones, voice-mail, broadband internet access (fees apply), LCD televisions and DVD player, in-house movies and personal in-room safes. All Studio rooms have a kitchenette and all apartments feature a fully equipped kitchen, laundry facilities and private balconies, some with city views. The property offers guests an array of professional services and facilities including a 24 hour reception desk, 24 hour concierge, 24 hour room service, on site Stone Restaurant & Bar, gym, pool and spa. Small conferences for up to 48 delegates can be catered for in 'The Boardroom' or 'Meeting Room' and for larger functions, Stone Restaurant & Bar can cater for up to 150 guests. Combined with the close proximity to Brisbane's major attractions, Mantra South Bank is the ideal choice for business and leisure travellers looking for comfort and convenience. **THIS IS A NON SMOKING HOTEL** Business Facilities Small conferences for up to 48 delegates can be catered for in 'The Boardroom' or 'Meeting Room' and for larger functions, Mantra South Bank's Stone Restaurant & Bar can cater for up to 150 guests. Every guest room has Broadband internet connection and secretarial support can be arranged. Fax and copying services are also available for an additional fee. Check In Instructions: (hours of operation) Check in 1400hrs Check out 1000hrs Check in is from 2pm, if you do arrive earlier we can store your luggage for you. Check out time is 10am. You will be required to leave either a credit card imprint or a $250 refundable security deposit along with photo ID on check in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Mantra South Bank, Brisbane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra South Bank Brisbane
Mantra South Bank Hotel Brisbane

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mantra South Bank, Brisbane, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.