We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brisbane Manor Backpackers?” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Brisbane Manor Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Brisbane Manor Hotel to your Saves list
Brisbane Manor Hotel
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   555 Gregory Terrace, Fortitude Valley, Brisbane, Queensland 4006, Australia (Formerly Tourist Guest House)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #55 of 63 Brisbane B&B and Inns
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Brisbane Manor Backpackers?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

I try to be fair but thought calling this place a hotel was stretching things a bit. I would put it in the hostel/back packers catagory - as such it is expensive for what you get.
Reception was helpful and gave me excellent advice on the phone when I was trying to locate them and the best manner to get there from the airport (incidentally, if you are reasonably fit, get the train to Fortitude Valley and walk up the hill !! - I got ripped by the taxi)
The bed was OK and I didnt get bitten
The shower and tea making worked
The WiFi seemed to magically disappear every time you locked onto it (6 zones in one place!!)
The rooms and general ambiance is "run down" , wall mounted A/C that may have worked if the socket it was supposed to plug into worked.
The biggest turm off for me were the paper thin walls - a sure sign of cost cutting during construction - and it shows - I didn't really expect to go to the toilet and "mid flow" feel like I was in the middle of the next room when they started chatting - embarrasing or what?
If you are under 30 and/or on a hen or stag event this may be for you - otherwise I would recommend paying a bit more and finding somewhere else.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    35
    26
    12
    26
See reviews for
6
31
32
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Room was very basic for a king Suite no cuttlery toaster or microwave, Green mold on the shower head, staff only showed you to the room and we were not told of any in house restuarant or where to have breakfast. The 2 a/c units in the room one was broken and left umplugged the other was extramely noisy. First night there was a fight and yelling match around the hotel, with verbal shouting of homophobic nature, No appology from any staff memener the next day, not a good start for a hotel that claims its " Gay friendly". A backpacker hostel would be a better stay than this place so be warned.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Walking distance from Fortitude Valley Station (less than 10mins walk). The building looks old but decent. Kind of vintage look. Quite spacious room with private bathroom, fridge, TV and sink. And there are plenty of clean shared showers and toilets as well. The hotel covered with free hi-speed wifi. However the bed was full of BED BUGS! OMG!!! It’s like a swamp of bed bugs attacking you when you’re asleep. Reasonable price for a place like this and staffs were friendly BUT I don’t think I will ever stay in this hotel again because of the horrible horrible bed bug experience. Lesson learned, would pay higher price for a better hotel and better sleep.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

Was very cheap, so I didn't expect much.
Very old fashioned, old & outdated.
Old aircon unit didn't work well & was right next to the uncomfortable bed.... Room was cheap, didn't want to pay much as was for a night out & only a few hours spent in there, so didn't mind lack of comfort!!!
Cups were dirty also.
BEWARE ; I left a $40 Tupperware container in the fridge & 2 bottles of soft drink. They were not handed in by the cleaner.. Was very upset to lose the container.. I'm so glad that I didn't leave anything valuable in the room as it would of been stolen..... PLEASE BEWARE!!!
This is thieving, no matter how big or small the item is. It has turned me off using cheap hotels :-(

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrisbaneManor, Manager at Brisbane Manor Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thankyou for your feedback, I am aware of your case. But to add a little perspective to your review. As you had checked out of the hotel and left behind the container in question it has been disposed of and not stolen as you suggest. We don't take any responsibility for items left in our rooms after a customer checks out of the hotel. This is standard procedure for all hotels as we do not know what is wanted or unwanted so assume that all items left behind are unwanted. These items were not taken from your room but left behind after you checked out maybe you should add that to your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cooloola cove
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Stayed in a single room with a private bathroom overnight, The room itself was quaint, the staff appeared lovely and the location was convenient, everything seemed very clean. I was horrified to wake up at three in the morning with literally dozens of bed bugs crawling over me. When I used the after hours phone to contact the night manager about this problem he told me I could check out early if I wanted, just drop my keys in the suggestion box and be on my way. Needless to say this was an unacceptable option for me and when I demanded something (anything) be done I was treated as if my complaint was trivial and told I needed to 'calm down.' I ended up sitting in my room until morning then left. My trip had been stressful enough. It's a shame this happened, because otherwise it would have been a lovely place to stay. Unfortunately though, you do not get what you pay for if you're paying for a place to sleep due to the bed bugs. Personally I don't recommend it, nor will I ever be staying there again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrisbaneManor, Manager at Brisbane Manor Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thanks for your feedback, You situation hasn't been brought to my attention. If you would like to contact me directly to explain what happened in more detail I'll be happy discuss it. I appologise for the problems and help we can do a better job next time. my e-mail is matt@brisbanemanor.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Located in fortitude valley which was a bit annoying to get into the city, but otherwise a decent hostel. Plenty of showers and toilets which were pretty clean most of the time. Whole place is quite dated and old but rooms are comfy enough with sinks and fridges in each. Biggest complaint I have here is that we found bed bugs and staff basically refused to believe us, certain staff members were pretty unhelpful all of the time actually. So overall a good base but be wary of bed bugs.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

In need of some modernisation, but with a faded colonial style which we liked. Room small and dark but clean with comfortable bed. Friendly helpful staff. Best suited to short stays 3-4 days. Convenient for public transport into city.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Brisbane Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brisbane Manor Hotel

Address: 555 Gregory Terrace, Fortitude Valley, Brisbane, Queensland 4006, Australia (Formerly Tourist Guest House)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Brisbane Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, HostelBookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Brisbane Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brisbane Manor Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.