We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth the visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Commissariat Store

Commissariat Store
115 William Street, Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
+61 7 3221 4198
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #76 of 280 things to do in Brisbane
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The heritage listed Commissariat Store, situated on the the river in Queens Wharf Road, was hand built and completed by convicts in 1829, using Brisbane Tuff from the Kangaroo Point cliffs. The Store (now a Museum run by the Royal Historical Society of Queensland) and the Windmill on Wickham Tce, are the only buildings remaining from the Moreton Bay Penal Settlement. The Commissariat Store is Queensland's most significant heritage building/landmark, as it represents the commencement of European settlement. This historic site, located in Queen's Wharf Brisbane in the CBD, is also considered the birthplace of Brisbane.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Well worth the visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

I sometimes rue the fact that there is very little of significance for us to do/see in Brisbane when compared with major global cities, but the Commissariat Store is well worth a visit. For a relatively small building, there is a great depth of history preserved here.

The depth of knowledge of our tour guide was exceptional and he took the time to answer all the questions of my 10 year old whilst still engaging my 16 year old son, myself (45) and my mum (78).

Do NOT miss out on visiting this historical site. We had envisaged spending an hour there but, as all good places do, it enthralled us for much longer.

It was a great walk from QUTs new Cube (ultra modern) to the Commissariat Store (heritage) and then onto the revamped City Hall (the only City Hall in Australia!).

Now if only we can preserve the Old Museum to the same level as the Commissariat Store, I will be a much happier Brisbanite!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    8
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Coolangatta, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

As I have always taken a class here, I have never been able to relax. It's a shame as I haven't had a chance to really look at the collection. It's a place for a whole rainy afternoon. It reminds me of the Old Queensland Museum when it was in Bowen Hills; wonders at every turn. The convict finger in a jar was a favourite.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“One of the last convict built buildings in Brisbane”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Along with the windmill up on Wickham terrace the Commissariat Store is one of the last two remaining convict build buildings in Brisbane city. The stones it is built from are carved from the Kangaroo Point cliffs and you can even see the chisel marks in some of them. The guides (who don't cost any extra on top of your entry fee) are knowledgeable, quite funny and will tailor your tour to the amount of time you have available.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great History”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

What an exceptional way to find out about Brisbane`s History. I have driven past many times & never realised the importance of what one building meant

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Interesting museum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Excellent tour guide and well laid out displays about the life of convicts in Brisbane. Beautiful stonework excavated manually by the convicts from the Kangaroo Point Cliffs. Close to Queen Street Mall, Citycat jetty and free City Hopper ferry to Southbank Parklands.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Commissariat Store also viewed

 

Been to Commissariat Store? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Commissariat Store, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.