We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not really a hotel” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Oaks Lexicon Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Oaks Lexicon Apartments to your Saves list
Oaks Lexicon Apartments
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   347 Ann Street | Corner of Wharf Street, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #71 of 165 Hotels in Brisbane
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Not really a hotel”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

Stayed two weeks in January 2014 and I'm not a fan. The room itself was just OK. It was fairly large two bedroom with full kitchen, well stocked, and washer and dryer. The carpets were noticeably worn in places. The "king" beds were twins pushed together with an impossible stiff lump down the middle. The front desk staff were untrained and absent at night. Parking was a nightmare as there are too few designated spots in the garage. The weather was quite hot, in the nineties, and the air conditioner was inadequate. There are no dining or beverage services at the hotel and they give you a printed statement upon your arrival that any guest found with too much wine or beer in their room will be expelled! The worst complaint goes to the cleaning staff. We were assured that we had daily maid service, but in fact we had only beds made and clean towels. I had to "special request" if I wanted vacuuming. They never cleaned countertops, bathroom, or dusted in the living room. If you want to rent an apartment in Brisbane for a week you might want to look elsewhere. If you want something more like a hotel, definitely cross this property off your list.

Room Tip: If you want a good room try the hotel down the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksLexic0n, Manager at Oaks Lexicon Apartments, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback about your recent stay at Oaks Lexicon and I am disappointed to hear that we did not meet your expectations. In relation to the carpet, this is certainly on the agenda to address with the owners in the very near future as it is a matter of priority to continue maintaining a high standard. I appreciate your comments and have spoken to the front desk staff and passed your comments onto the housekeeping manager to address the cleaning issues. Reception is only open 6am to 10pm however we have an onsite caretaker so there is always someone you can contact if you have an issue. The parking is limited and needs to be pre-booked as we only have the spaces that are allocated to us. Although we don’t have food and beverage facilities at the hotel we are a short walk to many bars and restaurants. The no party policy may seem strict however this is in place to allow everyone to peacefully enjoy the stay. I thank you once again for your invaluable feedback and do hope that you choose to stay at another Oaks property again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    68
    22
    11
    11
See reviews for
31
23
5
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Stayed here a few years ago with some girlfriends. Great apartment for a weekend. The only downside was that there are better located Oaks apartments in Brisbane City and is a pretty dead corner of the city on the weekends. Being locals, we were aware of this, however it may not be best suited for tourists.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksLexic0n, Manager at Oaks Lexicon Apartments, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Thank you taking the time to provide your feedback about your recent stay and I am pleased that your stayed matched your expectations.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

We Tried this place because it was offered as a red hot deal on watif.com .. We only stayed 2 nights and found it quite good . We had a baby with us that had black knees and feet from crawling on the carpet .. And the front balcony was worse .. Hadn't been mopped for a while .. But apart from that .. Lovely set up , nice big shower ..lovely little kitchenette , Nicely designed overall .. Happy with our stay concidering the fantastic price we payed :-)

Stayed December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksLexic0n, Manager at Oaks Lexicon Apartments, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback on your recent stay and I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay.
I have passed your comments onto the housekeeping manager to address the cleaning issues on the balconies and carpets.
Kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

I booked into this hotel overnight on a trip to Brisbane. I wish I could have stayed longer as this was an apartment, well furnished and comfortable. The view over the city from the balcony was fantastic and overall the staff were very courteous. Only problem was the air-con wasn't working, but it didn't matter as it was a cool night anyway. It was fixed during my stay, so that was good. Would happily stay there again.

Room Tip: I stayed on the Ann St side and had a really good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksLexic0n, Manager at Oaks Lexicon Apartments, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide your valuable feedback.
I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and on behalf of the Lexicon team, I look forward to welcoming you back to Oaks Lexicon next time you are in Brisbane.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

I stayed during the ashes was on and I couldn't be happier. I was a little worried by the last couple of reviews about the service, as it was our first time to Brisbane and we didn't know where things were around the area. When we arrived the girl at the reception greeted us very friendly and smiling and informed us where all the handy places where around which was fantastic including a gem of a cafe called pour boy on wharf street to bad it's not open on the weekend. A woolworths very short walk through the cathedral square and restaurants on Eagle street 4 minutes walk down wharf street which is a hill FYI. Coming back u basically wear off your dinner.

Our room was very spacious with a large balcony we had the room facing the mountains and ann street very lovely! It seems a quiet hotel so anytime we needed help with bus timetables, directions and where to go etc the reception girls were always available and wanted to help us. That gives me thumbs up with all boxes! I had a great stay and will return in the future when we travel to Brisbane again.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksLexic0n, Manager at Oaks Lexicon Apartments, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to provide your feedback about your recent stay and I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

I have passed your valuable positive comments onto the front desk staff and look forward to welcoming you back to Oaks Lexicon when you next visit Brisbane.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

After spending 4 weeks in the USA, we had a one night stop over in Brisbane.

I decided to get a 2 bedroom apartment for the night, as after 4 weeks of living in each others pockets...space was a priority. I found the rates for a 2 bedroom apartment very reasonable.

When we arrived 12th October there was nobody at reception and we waited around for a good 10 minutes before a young girl attended to us. We were checked in and given the keys to our apartment.

On the whole the apartment was nice, cleanish, had the space we required and was comfortable. The lounge suite and soft furnishings did look like they needed a deep clean though.

The following day early at about 8am my husband contacted reception to ask if we could have a late check out, as our connecting flight was only at 6pm that evening. My daughter and I both had bad chest infections and we needed a room for the day. He came back to me saying that the person at reception has said we need to be out by 10 am as the hotel is full and they cant do a late check out. I then got back on the phone, and explained our situation to the young girl on reception. She was so not interested from the start of my conversation. Very disinterested and matter of fact....not helpful and rude. I pleaded with her, asking even if we could pay for another room.... anything that she had available, just so my daughter and I could rest as we were both so unwell. All I got from her was a... we are booked and we cannot help you. Please be out by the check out time. I then asked to speak to the Manager and was told that the manager is only on duty Monday to Fri. Oh , I said..... ok then..... can you at least recommend another hotel, apartment anything that is in the local area that we can try get a room at. No .... I don't know of any.... was her answer!!!!. I was furious. How rude and unhelpful she was. I could almost see her rolling her eyes on the other side of the phone.

I also went onto webjet to see if we could find some other accommodation, as the apartments said they had availability, so I cannot understand how we could not be accommodated in some way.

My husband and I went out on the balcony and basically across the road were two other hotels. We phoned and managed to get a day room at the Novotel.

I guess if you leave your business to be run by young inexperienced kids, these are the kind of reviews you will be getting.

Never again!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksLexic0n, Manager at Oaks Lexicon Apartments, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and I am astonished and very disappointed to hear that the front desk staff member was unable to offer you assistance regarding your late checkout as Oaks pride themselves on great customer service at all times. I sincerely apologise for the stress and inconvenience that this caused you.
Late checkouts are subject to availability but I can confirm we did have a little availability and although your family would have had to move apartments, you could have checked out at 5pm on the Sunday for an additional fee. I have spoken to the staff member involved as the service she provided you is simply unacceptable and I assure you out of the ordinary.
The front desk is manned by one member of staff at most times therefore if they have to attend to another guest's needs then they have to close up reception but are still contactable on the onsite mobile number which is listed on the closed sign.
Once again thank you for your invaluable feedback and really do hope that you choose to stay at an Oaks property again so you are able to experience the customer service that we pride ourselves on.
Kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
99 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
151 helpful votes 151 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

This is an ok apart-hotel in central Brisbane, it is a little run down but still acceptable, the room I had was quite comfortable, when i first checked in I was happy to see the Foxtel box but then when I went to use it I was disappointed only 10 channels out of 200 are open for viewing, this must be the super basic package as most places in Brisbane I have stayed have the 'Platinum Accommodation' package which has every channel except for HD. Bed was very comfortable, firm but i like a firm bed, balcony was also great to look out over the west of the city. The reception staff, well just the two on Wed 9 Oct lunchtime were very rude as one of them whispered (loudly) a very rude comment about myself and the other one laughed, as I walked through the lobby, I guess this must be normal in a small town like Brisbane, very sad, they really should not be working in hospitality as they obviously do not want to be there nor do they care about their guests.
Overall the property is acceptable but the quality of the staff is very poor so I would not recommend this property to anyone, perhaps once there has been a clear out of reception staff, but no, I will not be back.

Room Tip: Higher the better as Ann St is very busy 24/7, anywhere below level 15 you will need ear plugs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksLexic0n, Manager at Oaks Lexicon Apartments, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Thank you for providing your feedback about your recent stay at Oaks Lexicon and I am very disappointed to hear that you believe that the staff were being rude about you as we pride ourselves on our excellent customer service. I will address this issue immediately with all the staff as the behaviour you have reported is not acceptable.
Regarding the Foxtel, I note your comments and have passed them to our Head Office department who deal with the Foxtel agreement.
We are working on a painting refurbishment plan which will hopefully be rolled out across all the apartments in the next couple of months.
I thank you once again for your invaluable feedback and do hope that you choose to stay at another Oaks property again.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Oaks Lexicon Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks Lexicon Apartments

Address: 347 Ann Street | Corner of Wharf Street, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#30 Business Hotel in Brisbane
#55 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oaks Lexicon Apartments 4.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated in Brisbane’s financial, entertainment and shopping precinct, Oaks Lexicon Apartments provide a striking balance of modern, self-contained accommodation, a picturesque city setting and quality onsite amenities, perfectly suited to all types of stays. Providing an idyllic mix of city and valley, Oaks Lexicon Apartments sit between the CBD and Fortitude Valley, located on the corner of Ann and Wharf Streets. Surrounded by countless restaurants, cafes, bars, nightclubs and boutiques as well as some of Brisbane’s most popular cultural and tourist attractions including Chinatown, Queen Street Mall, Eagle Street Pier, Treasury Casino and South Bank, our hotel is a great choice for a weekend away, weeklong stay or extended holiday. Oaks Lexicon Apartments are just a short walk to Central Station, various bus terminals and the CityCat – Brisbane’s unique river transportation system – ensuring guests have easy access to all the nearby hot spots. Comprising a selection of one and two bedroom, self-contained apartments, Oaks Lexicon Apartments are stylishly designed and feature full kitchen and laundry facilities, private and spacious balconies overlooking the vibrant city, reverse cycle air conditioning, Internet access and contemporary decor. Our hotel also boasts a number of popular leisure facilities, perfect for a touch of recreation and relaxation, including a heated swimming pool, barbeque facilities, entertaining area and a fully equipped gymnasium. Oaks Lexicon Apartments also offers onsite car parking for guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Oaks Lexicon Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaks Lexicon Apartment Hotel Brisbane
Oaks Lexicon Apartment Brisbane
Hotel Oaks Lexicon Apartment

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oaks Lexicon Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.