We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing special” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Oaks Lexicon Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Oaks Lexicon Apartments to your Saves list
Oaks Lexicon Apartments
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   347 Ann Street | Corner of Wharf Street, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #71 of 165 Hotels in Brisbane
Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2008

We stayed in a one bedroom apartment for one night and I have to say compared to other accommodation I've stayed in they weren't anything special. Everything about them was quite average. The air-conditioner was noisy, the bathroom was tiny (nowhere to put anything in the shower or any room on the vanity), and the couch was uncomfortable. However the rooms were clean and relatively modern. The apartment did feel a little pokey though.

The staff were friendly, although when asking advice on things to do or places to go they had no idea, and didn't sell their city very well!

Overall I defintely wouldn't call the accommodation 4.5 stars, however it was clean and relatively comfortable. I've been to better places for the cost and I've been to worse!

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    68
    22
    11
    11
See reviews for
31
23
5
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Scamander, Tasmania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2008

We recently had a 2 night stay at the Lexicon. I had read the reports on Trip Advisor and contacted the Lexicon directly as I was a bit put off by the comments. They assured me they have a lot of positive comments.
I took a chance and booked it, a good price. We arrived at 1am and check in was fast and efficient.
No problems with our apartment at all, very clean and attractively decorated. Good comfortable bed, spacious balcony.
It is situated in a convenient place for walking around the city. Front desk staff helpful when asked for directions, etc.
I am very particular with cleanliness and cannot complain at all about our apartment.
It is however, fairly noisy as it is on a very busy road. So are a lot of other apartments and motels, so it is not a negative comment. If you stay in the heart of the city you have to expect some noise.
It was pretty quiet once the doors/ windows were shut. We had no problem sleeping at all.
Overall very happy and would stay here again.

  • Liked — location, spacious apartments
  • Disliked — road noise
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2008

We stayed for the weekend and found the room excellent. Clean and tidy and the furniture was all in very good order. The nighly rate was only $150 which is very reasonable for the location and the quality of the unit. The reception staff were very helpful and had a great local knowledge.

Only a short walk to the river and early morning breakfast at one of the many breakfast spots.

Parking was an extra $14 for the night , but not bad considering you are in the centre of Brisbane.

The church bells are fine if you are wanting to go to church, but otherwise starting up their peeling at 7 am was a bit of a downer.

Overall a very pleasurable experience though. We would go back

  • Liked — Clean and tidy
  • Disliked — Church Bells if pushed for a dislike
  • Stayed April 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2008

I can only agree with those who have gone before me. This is a wonderful location for most things within the city. It is very conveniently placed to all types of public transpor, and if the level of daily service is not important, then, by all means, stay there.

We had 5 days at the Lexicon for a sporting competition in the Valley, and for that purpose, the location was super. However, after a day in the sun, it would have been pleasant to have returned to a place that had had even a cursory vacuum, and the lower sheets on the beds straightened. To have had the complimentary toiletries replaced, rather than confiscated (and I include in this some of my own) would have been appreciated. The towels, however, were replaced daily, so maybe management has taken some note of previous reviewers. Spent light bulbs, suggestively placed, remained in situ for the duration, though.


Desk staff were adequate, though we did not place any demands upon them.

If you can tolerate the general laxity of daily servicing, this is a great place. There are good restaurants within a short walk, and a well stocked supermarket also. We only used the kitchen for toast, so servicing of that remains a mystery.

Good luck!

  • Liked — location and laundry
  • Disliked — daily servicing utterly inadequate
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2008

The noisiest place we have ever stayed. The air conditioner was very noisy and when turned off with the doors open we were deafened by the road noise. Views were of the brick walls of adjoining buildings. The balcony could therefore not be used.The so called serviced apartment amounted to pulling the sheet and quilt up but certainly not making the beds. The carpet was not cleaned once in 5 days. 3 small cakes of soap were provided for 2 people for 5 days. The BBQ in the pool area was filthy dirty and over- run with ants.The staff at the reception desk could not even raise their heads to say good morning. They had little to offer in assisting with advice on public transport. The broadband system did not work, the hotel staff could not fix the problem and told us to phone an external service advisor which we did at our cost. We will definetly NOT be returning to this dump!

Stayed February 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2008

As it was a special occasion (my hens weekend) decided to have a sensational weekend with no expense spared and booked the girls and I into this so called 4.5 star establishment. We had the 2 bedroom apartment. What a dissapointment it was. The room itself was large, but the state of it was appaling. I have stayed in places all over the world, and even in Thailand a 3rd world country the accomodation was 100 times better. We had a 2 night stay and first thing I noticed was the filthy carpets and rugs. Some of the lamps were missing the shades off them, the balcony area was dirty and there were cigarette butts littered all over it. On the Saturday after getting back from brunch I could not believe the way the beds were made. They were just pulled up and very creased. The pillows were just thrown on the beds. There were no refills of shampoo and conditioner. We didn't even get fresh towels. When I queried this I was told we could have fresh towels at a cost of $1.50 each!!! On check out I complained to the duty manager but it fell on deaf ears. He was not interested at all. Would I reccomend this place?? Not a hope in hell. How do places like this get a 4.5 star rating when it is seriously no more than a 2.5 at best. Do these places rate themselves? For the cost it is not worth it at all. Next time I will go back to Rydges at Southbank!

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2008

2 bedroomed unit was not clean, carpets dirty, both toilets dirtybath had to be cleaned before we could wash children in it, lamps not working. Sliding door to small bedroom unit kept on falling off track and glass sliding screen on other bathroom nearly fell off when kids in bath! Overall very dissapointed with service and feel that it is false advertising to say this is 4.5 star it is barely a 2.5 star in my opinion. Would never go again. Also paisd a premium rate as it was New Years Eve so Not Happy!

  • Liked — The View although we could not open windows
  • Disliked — The lack of cleanliness and customer service
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Oaks Lexicon Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks Lexicon Apartments

Address: 347 Ann Street | Corner of Wharf Street, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#30 Business Hotel in Brisbane
#55 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oaks Lexicon Apartments 4.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated in Brisbane’s financial, entertainment and shopping precinct, Oaks Lexicon Apartments provide a striking balance of modern, self-contained accommodation, a picturesque city setting and quality onsite amenities, perfectly suited to all types of stays. Providing an idyllic mix of city and valley, Oaks Lexicon Apartments sit between the CBD and Fortitude Valley, located on the corner of Ann and Wharf Streets. Surrounded by countless restaurants, cafes, bars, nightclubs and boutiques as well as some of Brisbane’s most popular cultural and tourist attractions including Chinatown, Queen Street Mall, Eagle Street Pier, Treasury Casino and South Bank, our hotel is a great choice for a weekend away, weeklong stay or extended holiday. Oaks Lexicon Apartments are just a short walk to Central Station, various bus terminals and the CityCat – Brisbane’s unique river transportation system – ensuring guests have easy access to all the nearby hot spots. Comprising a selection of one and two bedroom, self-contained apartments, Oaks Lexicon Apartments are stylishly designed and feature full kitchen and laundry facilities, private and spacious balconies overlooking the vibrant city, reverse cycle air conditioning, Internet access and contemporary decor. Our hotel also boasts a number of popular leisure facilities, perfect for a touch of recreation and relaxation, including a heated swimming pool, barbeque facilities, entertaining area and a fully equipped gymnasium. Oaks Lexicon Apartments also offers onsite car parking for guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Oaks Lexicon Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaks Lexicon Apartment Hotel Brisbane
Oaks Lexicon Apartment Brisbane
Hotel Oaks Lexicon Apartment

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oaks Lexicon Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.