We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff were so unhelpful, we didn't even book” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Oaks Lexicon Apartment

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Oaks Lexicon Apartment to your Saves list
Oaks Lexicon Apartment
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   347 Ann Street | Corner of Wharf Street, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #83 of 161 Hotels in Brisbane
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Staff were so unhelpful, we didn't even book”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

We stayed at this hotel about 5 years ago and it was fabulous. Great location, clean and helpful staff. We have visited the hotel recently to discuss with reception our needs. They refused to show us the different rooms types available. They said that it is now against company policy to do room showings for safety reasons? This is strange as all of the other hotels we considered had done so. We explained that it was for wedding guests and we wanted to see the rooms so that we could possibly recommend the hotel to our interstate guests. We explained that the Groom and Grooms men would only need an apartment for the Friday night and needed a late check out of 2pm. We were told that to have a late check out we would need to pay for another full night! There was no flexibility, most places charge a fee for late check out, not charge another whole night. As you can gather we will not be recommending this hotel and we feel very disappointed. Mostly disappointed that we took the time to visit the hotel to discuss our needs and we were treated as a inconvenience. We have always supported the oaks groups in the past, but will not in the future.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Lexicon Apartment, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
We appreciate you taking the time to comment on your recent visit to Oaks Lexicon. We were disappointed to read of your experience while visiting our property to potentially book some apartments for a wedding. I have spoken with the Hotel Manager of the property and are of the understanding that at the time you came to view the apartments, we were fully booked, therefore regretfully had no rooms to show. Our policy for late check out is we can accommodate guests until midday for a small fee, however any time after midday, we charge another full nights rate as this room will not be able to be resold once the guests have checked out. This policy is standard across all Oaks Hotels and Resorts properties. The Hotel Manager has informed me that extra training of the team members onsite at the time of your visit, has been performed to ensure a clear understanding of policy and procedure. There should have been the option for you to check rooms later in the day, once our departing guests had checked out. We apologise this did not occur and that it has left you to have negative thoughts about Oaks Hotels and Resorts. We do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    64
    21
    11
    11
See reviews for
30
22
5
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New Plymouth
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

Great location and good spacious apartment, but oh the noise! I had read previous trip advisor's comments and didn't think it would be that bad, but it is. Even on the 17th floor the traffic noise was constant. So loud that you couldn't enjoy the lovely deck or views. Also the very loud church bell that tolls 18 times every morning at 6am and intermittently thereafter. During the night the trains and their tooting is heard.
Cleanliness was reasonable. It was mentioned on the daily service that spot vacuuming would be done but alas this did not happen and by the end of the week the floor was in a state. There was no broom or brush and pan to do this yourself. The corners of the shower cubicle and around the vanity faucet could do with a good scrub. Pool area was being serviced so out of action.
The beds are large and comfortable although my husband thought them a little too firm. Well appointed kitchen for in house cooking and dining. Staff not overly helpful, but became friendly enough by the end of the week. Overall a good apartment. If you require somewhere quieter to sleep do not choose Oaks Lexicon.

Room Tip: Rooms on the far side away from the church bell maybe quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Lexicon Apartment, responded to this review, August 5, 2012
We appreciate you taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Oaks Lexicon. It is great to read that you found your apartment to be spacious and the location of our hotel to be great. We were disappointed to read of the issues you had with the noise of the traffic and church bells and the cleanliness of your apartment. It is unfortunate that the bells can at times cause disturbance to our guests; however this aspect is out of our control. With regards to your comments on the spot cleaning, I will address this directly with our Housekeeping Manager for review. Your feedback has been passed on to our Hotel Manager to also discuss customer service levels with our team on front desk. We do hope to be able to welcome you to and Oaks Hotels & Resorts property again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

The main glaring problem is the lack of double glazing, These apartments are in a high traffic area and road noise overnight is loud but the major reason to avoid this property is the Church across the road who tolls it bell 17 times at 6am every morning. If you want a decent nights sleep this is not the property for you. Sunday is a treat as all the Churches surrounding the property and there are about 5 have a bell tolling competition!
Otherwise the apartments are OK, however little things like the en suite being locked and out of bounds as it is the private domain of the apartment owners is very annoying. (There is a bathroom/laundry off the kitchen you can use). The rooms are spacious enough and furnished well though.

Room Tip: There is one room per floor that don't face Anne Street, it may be that they are quieter but I d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Lexicon Apartment, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
We appreciate you taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Oaks Lexicon. We apologise for the issues you had during your stay with the noise from the Church bells. We do have rooms in the building which do not face Anne Street, the bells can still be heard from these rooms however the sound is muffled and not as loud. Every attempt is made to ensure our guests are not disturbed by the bells and reception can often help with this by shuffling guests if the rooms are available. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

Be aware! I checked in tonight and was desperate to get to my room and use the bathroom. When I got to the room I tried to slide open the bathroom door, thought is was stuck, but no! It had an external deadlock mounted to the top of the door. No warning it was locked from reception at check in, and no sign on the door to look up. Why you ask? Because I am alone in a two bedroom apartment, they lock one of the bedrooms and one of the bathrooms! (Not sure how they expect me to use both at once)

I could sort of understand the reason if they locked the bathroom beside the locked bedroom. But no! They locked the ensuite so I had to go to the other part of the apartment to the small combined laundry and bathroom. After many years of travel you think you have seen it all. I was wrong!

I will never stay in this property again, and hope that others become aware of the poor level of cleanliness and bizarre bathroom locking regime.

The only positive was the receptionist. She was very welcoming and when I called about the locked bathroom, she let me know that other guests had also complained and that management were aware that guests were not impressed. Go figure.

As with one of the other recent entries - I could not understand the need for a $150 preauth given this is booked on a corporate account, and there is no mini bar, so not sure why the need for any pre-auth at all. I also agree the need for photo ID at check-in is quirky.

All part of life's rich experiences. I may have forgiven this bizarre behaviour, except that the shower in the unlocked bathroom was literally full of mildew/mould. Lucky I had my thongs with me to shower in so I could avoid the possibility of catching something nasty in the shower.

Room Tip: Choose a different property in Brisbane CBD
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Lexicon Apartment, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
We appreciate you taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Oaks Lexicon. We apologise some aspects of your stay did not meet your expectations. In some cases, we upgrade guests who have booked a 1 Bedroom into a 2 Bedroom apartment and close off the second bedroom and bathroom. This is to provide the guest with a large living area than the standard One Bedroom Apartment and not then paying for the additional rooms. As the laundry facility is in the second bathroom, we leave that one available for guests to access should they require that facility. Our policy does require a security bond from all guests on arrival at each of our properties. This is processed as a credit card pre-authorisation in which case the bank places a hold on your funds and depending on the card issuer, this will automatically release within 10 working days. Every attempt is made to ensure this information is explained by our reservations team and further information can be found on our reservation confirmation letters and guest registration cards. We apologise if this was not communicated to you correctly. This will be addressed with all team members. I will pass your comments in regards to the cleaning of your apartment onto the Housekeeping Manager. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

This was the first time we had stayed in Brisbane city itself and the staff at the Oaks were so helpful. The apartment had everthing we needed and it was so close to the Central Station and the river plus Queen St. Will be back.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Lexicon Apartment, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Oaks Lexicon Apartments. It is wonderful to read that you found your apartment to have everything you needed and in a central location. We are pleased you found our staff to be helpful and I will pass your comments onto the Hotel Manager. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

Oaks Lexicon has the familiarity of other Oaks apartments (without the toe stubbing bathroom of Oaks on Felix) which immediately helps you feel at home. Unfortunately it was a little too homely with the dishwasher having a part falling off the front but it still worked.

I was pleasant (at first) to be getting up each morning, to go to work, to the sound of the church bells from across the road. That pleasantness eroded quite quickly, as did my lay in, when the bells happily woke me from my slumber on the Saturday morning!...

The car park can be a challenge to access initially until you get used to it, I think the lowest level hits a water table as the very bottom parking spot always seemed to have water at the end of it!

The bells aside, my visit was enjoyable with helpful staff, I'll be staying at Oaks again Im sure...

Room Tip: Two tips - 1) Use the mirrors at the apex of each bend when navigating the carpark... can be embarra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Lexicon Apartment, responded to this review, June 14, 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Oaks Lexicon, we are sure that future guests will find it helpful. It is pleasing to read that we have been able to impress you with the apartments and our staff. I will pass the comments in regards to the dishwasher to our Maintenance Manager. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

After trawling the web for a reasonably priced 2 bed apartment in Brisbane for a weekend after a cruise, was thrilled to get an email from the Oaks Group offering this property for $179 a night.

Yes, there was 6am church bells (even on the Monday morning) but on the 21st floor, not much other noise, so going back to sleep wasnt a problem. We had requested a higher floor on the booking form.

Reception were helpful with storage of luggage etc. Managed to get into room at 1.30 instead of 2pm and did some shopping at nearby Woolies while waiting. Apartment was modern and spacious - 2 bathrooms a bonus!!! (2 ladies and 8yo girl) Lots of balconies and pool passed the 8yo test (even in May!)

Washer dryer and dishwasher would have come in handy if we had been there longer.

Walked down to Riverside cafes and ferry both day and night quite comfortably.

So, join the Oaks Group mailing list, you never know when it will come in handy!!! Will definately return.

Room Tip: Join the Oaks Group mailing list, higher floors would have less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Lexicon Apartment, responded to this review, June 5, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Oaks Lexicon Apartments in Brisbane. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your apartment and found it to be well equipped for your needs. It was wonderful to hear that you were able to utilise the facilities, even the pool, and found the location of our hotel to be convenient to explore Brisbane. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Oaks Lexicon Apartment? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks Lexicon Apartment

Address: 347 Ann Street | Corner of Wharf Street, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#35 Business Hotel in Brisbane
#57 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oaks Lexicon Apartment 4.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the heart of the CBD, offering perfect affordable Brisbane accommodation and one of Brisbane’s most contemporary buildings is Oaks Lexicon. Oaks Lexicon combines the outstanding facilities of a modern luxury hotel with the privacy and spaciousness of fully self contained one and two bedroom apartments, all with state-of-the-art kitchen facilities. The generous sized apartments are perfect for an intimate dinner party but cosy enough for a romantic rendezvous too! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Oaks Lexicon Apartment reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaks Lexicon Apartment Hotel Brisbane
Oaks Lexicon Apartment Brisbane
Hotel Oaks Lexicon Apartment

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oaks Lexicon Apartment, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.