We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We'll Be Back Here!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Chancellor Brisbane

Save Saved
You added Grand Chancellor Brisbane to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Chancellor Brisbane
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   23 Leichhardt St | Cnr Wickham Terrace, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #53 of 165 hotels in Brisbane
Gladstone, Australia
Top Contributor
178 reviews 178 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
147 helpful votes 147 helpful votes
“We'll Be Back Here!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

We had an emergency situation arise whilst in Brisbane and had to stay the night. The Grand Chancellor was close by and we were able to secure a room for the evening for and excellent price particularly considering it included breakfast and parking. It is a little way from the very centre of Brisbane but that suits us as it is a lot quieter. Our room (704b) must have been renovated recently as it was very modern with a peaceful ambience. There was a small balcony which let in natural light but heavy enough curtains to block out the light for sleeping. We could not hear any road noise which was surprising. We availed ourselves of room service and were very happy with the menu - our selection was enjoyable. The real surprise was breakfast. The restaurant has a great feel to it - stylish and classy with plenty of room between tables. The staff were very friendly but still professional. The buffet choices were superior to most hotels with smoked salmon and a cold selection - certainly above our expectations. We need to be back in Brisbane in a few months and will certainly consider this hotel first.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hgcbrisbane, General Manager at Grand Chancellor Brisbane, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Dear Mackasx2,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post this amazing review of your visit to the Hotel Grand Chancellor Brisbane.

I was sorry to hear that you had an emergency, but it is great we were able to help with your accommodation. It is wonderful that you found the room so modern and relaxing.
I am also happy to read that you like the buffet breakfast and that you will be visiting us again on your next trip to Brisbane.

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Best regards,

Peter Yared
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    77
    126
    81
    41
    20
See reviews for
50
105
35
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Been a few years since I had a chance to stay at the Grand Chancellor in Brisbane. Was there for one night for work a couple of weeks back. Room was very nice clean and tidy. Breakfast was excellent. Gym whilst not large had a large selection of free weights which was good. Staff friendly and helpful. All in all a fine hotel to stay for work.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hgcbrisbane, General Manager at Grand Chancellor Brisbane, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Darren B,

Thank you for your wonderful review of your short stay with us at the Hotel Grand Chancellor Brisbane.

It was nice to read that our hotel is so well suited to your needs while in Brisbane. Thank you as well for your kind comments about the breakfast and Gym facilities.

I do hope we get the chance to welcome you back again soon.

Best regards,

Peter Yared
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk vulcan
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

staff were friendly and rooms what you would expect to find in a city hotel. there is a good car park under the hotel - very busy and a bit expensive. Brisbane was OK - quite a long walk to the city center.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hgcbrisbane, General Manager at Grand Chancellor Brisbane, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Dear tcauUkVulcan,

Greetings from the Hotel Grand Chancellor Brisbane.

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us. Thank you as well for your very kind mention of our staff, I am so glad that you found them friendly.

Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to your next visit soon.

Best regards,

Peter Yared
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tipperary, Ireland
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

we stayed her over the xmas and loved the hotel the rooms are spacious and clean and staff are friendly.because most places were closed xmas day we had our dinner in the hotel and it was fantastic.normally we try to eat outside the hotels we stay in but have to say it was one of the nicest meals we had while staying in brisbane.not to far from central station a bit of a walk up hill but the area itself is very quiet and safe.they also have a pool area which we did not use as we were trying to get as much sightseeing in as we could.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hgcbrisbane, General Manager at Grand Chancellor Brisbane, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Dear travelbug Tipp,

Thank you for this very nice review of your stay with us over Christmas. I am so glad we were able to host your Christmas day dinner, and that you enjoyed the food so much. Food is one of the best things about Christmas so it is really nice to hear that we impressed you.

I am also glad that you enjoyed our central location; I hope you could fit in all the sights you wanted to see.

Thank you again for your post and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Best regards,

Peter Yared
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

I received incredibly friendly service on check-in, and the staff were more than happy to provide directions to cafes etc that might be open given the day, as well as explaining how the parking would work (only $20/night) for my boyfriend who would be arriving later that afternoon.

The superior room was clean and spacious, with a refurbished bathroom, and complimentary Lindt chocolate squares, "Morish" nibbles, and sparking mineral water. In terms of value, the room was $255pn for an upgraded room via wotif, when most of the other hotels' prices started at about $400.

I ended up settling on a late lunch from room service (a steak burger with fries, $22, or $17 without fries + $5 room service fee). The service was, again, very friendly, and very fast. It was one of the best burgers I have ever had. Served on turkish bread, it had just the right amount of sauce and salad. It also came with beer battered fries, and a yummy side salad. Delicious.

We had a great night's sleep, and had a very friendly and efficient checkout in the morning.
I would definitely recommend this hotel - especially for the wonderful service and thoughtful little extras.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hgcbrisbane, General Manager at Grand Chancellor Brisbane, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear Asuka02,

Reading your review has really made my day!

It is just lovely to read about our guests having had a great experience with us. I am so pleased that you enjoyed the friendly service, great room, and lovely food we have to offer. I am also glad you were able to get a great nights sleep on New Years Eve.

Thank you again for your very kind words, and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Best regards,

Peter Yared
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pukekohe, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

My husband and I stayed overnight.
The reception staff were efficient and friendly.
The room was quite nice and everything was clean. We enjoyed the city view from our balcony.
We were a little worried as our room was right next to the lift but we were not bothered by noise at all.
We both thought the bed was comfortable and we slept well.
We had a buffet breakfast and it was refreshing to be met with a big smile and a friendly hello by the staff member that showed us to our table, the breakfast itself was tasty and there was a good selection including fresh fruit.
We would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hgcbrisbane, General Manager at Grand Chancellor Brisbane, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Dear ThomKatz,

Greetings and thank you for this wonderful review of your stay at the Hotel Grand Chancellor Brisbane.

I am so glad you enjoyed all aspects of your stay, and that you found our staff to be so friendly and accommodating. Our team is very dedicated to providing the best experience possible for our guests so I am really pleased you were well looked after. It is also great to read that you found the room quiet and the bed comfortable as that is such an important part of a successful hotel visit.

Thank you again for your very kind feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again in the near future.

Best regards,

Peter Yared
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

Stayed here for one night for a business trip. When I check inn at the hotel I was very sick from food poisoning from the airplane. The staff was extremely helpful and worried about my health and wanted to call a doctor to come and see me. Luckily I got better within a few hours and had a great 12 hours sleep in a very nice, clean and comfortable room at the hotel. Breakfast the next day was magnificent so many choices, fruits, juices, etc and again very pleasant and friendly staff. I would recommend this hotel anytime.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hgcbrisbane, General Manager at Grand Chancellor Brisbane, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Dear JosePablin,

Thank you for this great review of your stay with us.

While it is a real shame that your stay started off with you arriving not well, I am so glad that we were able to help you get better quickly! I am also glad that you found the buffet breakfast pleasing, and that you were able to enjoy it.

Thank you again for your very kind feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again in the near future.

Best regards,

Peter Yared
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Chancellor Brisbane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Chancellor Brisbane

Address: 23 Leichhardt St | Cnr Wickham Terrace, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Chancellor Brisbane 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda, Otel and Venere so you can book your Grand Chancellor Brisbane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Chancellor Brisbane Hotel Brisbane
Grand Chancellor Hotel Brisbane
Brisbane Grand Chancellor Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Chancellor Brisbane, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.