We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious Indian Food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bengal Curry House

Bengal Curry House
17 Fox Sreet, 17 Fox Street | Wynnum, Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
(07) 3893 4266
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #193 of 2,980 Restaurants in Brisbane
Cuisines: Indian
Description: Lovely Authentic Curry Dishes, in a lovely locale.Wide variety, and many options for "Heat", so everyone can enjoy the wonderful flavors. Plenty of heat for those authentic Indian Food devotees too. Great service, Incl "doggy bags" Well priced and good sized meals.
Restaurant details
Description: Lovely Authentic Curry Dishes, in a lovely locale.Wide variety, and many options for "Heat", so everyone can enjoy the wonderful flavors. Plenty of heat for those authentic Indian Food devotees too. Great service, Incl "doggy bags" Well priced and good sized meals.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Delicious Indian Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

We moved into the area approx. 1.5 years ago and we love our Indian and struggled to find a decent Indian in the area until we were taken the Bengal. It is delicious and Roo (the owner) always come out and says hello to all the patrons. There is some delicious curry's here and you wont be disappointed. We frequent Bengal very very regularly. FYI it's BYO as well.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    3
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo, Japan
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Interesting but great value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

Have been here a couple of times this month. The service is interesting, staff young and inexperienced but this is made up for with eager friendliness. Orders get messed up and things develop but it is worth it because The food is to die for. Indian hot is seriously hot - really good but so hard to find nowadays.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, USA
Top Contributor
189 reviews 189 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“I am so glad my friend took us here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

The Aussie friend who took us here had been here 15 years ago so its an old restaurant and that says something. The mutton dish we had was so unique that I have never had this combination and would have been back next day again for the same if it was convenient. I recommend this restaurant and will have on my bucket list to go back to again.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Once you eat here you will never go anywhere else for Indian food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

Lets start firstly with the amazing chef Roo, who makes anyone feel at home, he will explain everything about any of the curries on the menu and all is authentic Indian. The entree's are the perfect start and very tasty, I recommend the meat Pakora's, then onto mains, which are delectable, our favorite is the 'Shahi-Korma', it is the most unbelievable curry we have ever tasted!
Be sure to try this little gem out, you will not be disappointed, but be sure to book as this restaurant fills up, and also during the week also....

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Night out with friends”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Looked on internet for good indian restaurants in our area, we always go to the Indian Palace in Cleveland (exceptionally good), and wanted to try a different venue, so we went to Bengal Curry House in Wynnum, it is a cosy restaurant, wasn't noisy, but was full of people, ordered our curries, my hubby likes HOT curry and ordered accordingly, the chef came out with a sample of the extra hot vindaloo and asked him to try it, as he thought it may be too hot for him, but it wasn't. He loved it. the rest of us had mild & medium curries and they were excellent. I did read that the naan breads weren't very good, and they weren't. But the other breads were. We all had a great night. The price wasn't hefty, and no they didn't charge corkage, and he even asked us if we would like to split the bill (usually restaurants have a strict policy on 1 bill per table!) Will definitely go back again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bengal Curry House also viewed

 
Brisbane, Queensland
Brisbane, Queensland
 

Been to Bengal Curry House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bengal Curry House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.