We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend Break” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Meriton Serviced Apartments Brisbane on Herschel Street

Save Saved
You added Meriton Serviced Apartments Brisbane on Herschel Street to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Meriton Serviced Apartments Brisbane on Herschel Street
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   43 Herschel Street, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Wi-Fi*
Ranked #1 of 165 hotels in Brisbane
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Weekend Break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

What a lovely place to stay for a weekend break, spotless inside and staff were fantastic , great location in the centre of the city , handy to get about , had a fantastic sleep both nights , apartment finishes were first rate will stay here again

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSABrisonHerschelSt, Manager at Meriton Serviced Apartments Brisbane on Herschel Street, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Alpacca,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Meriton Serviced Apartments with the Trip Advisor community.

I was delighted to read your post regarding your weekend break here with us.

Our housekeeping department always strives to ensure that the apartments are clean and spotless for all of our guests. We are in a fantastic location, close to all the attractions that Brisbane has to offer, including Southbank which just across the other side of the river from us.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Brisbane.

Kind Regards

Scott N
Senior Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

857 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    664
    157
    18
    11
    7
See reviews for
105
339
80
153
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (253)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We arrived and were given an upgrade to a 1 br apartment (instead of a cube)
Very nice, well appointed, modern, clean, good views.
We knew that the building was under construction - but we were not disturbed - there was a bit of background noise during the day but not as much as I was expecting.
Problems - toilet flusher button fell apart! - dealt with promptly and we were told "do not hesitate to ring if any further problems with it", 2nd night, for no apparent reason a strong smell of tobacco smoke started in the room. The manager was mortified (it is a non smoking establishment) and immediately gave us another room and helped us move our stuff. New room was fine.
We were impressed with the attitude of the staff and management.
The location was good - 100m from Roma St Transit centre (we caught train from airport, then walked) , short walk to centre of the city or to the pedestrian bridge over the river. For breakfast , either buy your own stuff at the nearby 7/11, or use the café next to the entrance. Wifi was free (1GB) which was fine for email checking and a little browsing.
Recommended

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSABrisonHerschelSt, Manager at Meriton Serviced Apartments Brisbane on Herschel Street, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Tassiegolly

Thank you for sharing your experience at Meriton Serviced Apartments with the Trip Advisor community.

It was great to read your post, and that you enjoyed your stay with us, and our well appointed apartments.

We certainly are in a great location, close to all the attractions near Brisbane, and right across the road from Roma Street train station, which is an ideal way to get to our property if travelling from the airport.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Brisbane in the future.

Kind Regards

Scott N
Senior Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Modern with new elevator concept. Service attitute world class as with room facilities.
No balcony. Gym no eqipment. No breakfast. Had an excellent stay here for a reasonable price of 120 per night as it was undergoing construction. Same room is now 300 which I think is too much for a one bedroom.
High floor does have superb views however.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSABrisonHerschelSt, Manager at Meriton Serviced Apartments Brisbane on Herschel Street, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear greg n

Thank you for sharing your experience at Meriton Serviced Apartments with the Trip Advisor community. I twas great to read your post and see that you enjoyed our apartments, and the view.

We hire staff here at Herschel Street, that have a commitment to excellent customer service, and it was great that you received that.

Our location is fantastic, as you mentioned just near Roma Street train station, and close to all other attractions that Brisbane has to offer.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Brisbane.

Kind Regards

Scott N
Senior Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

I stayed in a one bedroom apartment on the 11th floor for five nights. The building noise was not a problem - you could hear/see things swinging past via the crane occassionally, and hear a distant rumbling, but it didn't worry me.

Really high standard of apartment, generous space - storage, kitchen (well stocked with all the utensils you'd need), laundry and lounge. Lovely staff on the front desk too. The best apartment I have ever stayed in. Great location too - really handy to shopping and the South Bank. I used the Citycycles to zoom around - there are bike racks about a block away from the apartment. I found them to be a fantastic way to see the city.

Room Tip: The view from the 11th floor over Herschel St wasn't spectacular - if you're after a good vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSABrisonHerschelSt, Manager at Meriton Serviced Apartments Brisbane on Herschel Street, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear DonellaWgtn

Thank you for sharing your experience at Meriton Serviced Apartments with the Trip Advisor community.It was fantastic to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

As you mentioned in your post, we are in a great location, close to all of the attractions that Brisbane has to offer, such as shopping and Southbank which is just across the other side of the river from us.

We hire staff that have a commitment to excellent customer service, and I was delighted that you received great service.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Brisbane in the future.

Kind Regards

Scott N
Senior Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Was in Brisbane to watch the rugby game. Needed accommodation close to Suncorp and transport. Absolutly faboulas, the room was immaculate, excellent location and really friendly staff. I would highly recommend this place to anyone with families or even on Business. Also, booked a cube Appartment and was upgraded to a One Bedroom. Even though we were notified the building was still under construction, couldn't here and noise. Fantastic 10 out of 10

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSABrisonHerschelSt, Manager at Meriton Serviced Apartments Brisbane on Herschel Street, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Paulini8

Thank you for sharing your experience at Meriton Serviced Apartments with the Trip Advisor community. It was great to read your post and that you enjoyed your staff with us while you here for the Rugby match at Suncorp stadium, which is only a 10 minute walk from us.

I am pleased that you found our staff very friendly, as we hire staff that have a commitment to providing excellent customer service to all of our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Brisbane in the future.

Kind Regards

Scott N
Senior Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cowra, Australia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We had an overnighter at the Meriton in August enroute from Mt Isa to Canberra. This was our second stay in 2013. We returned to the Meriton for a second time because the apartments are very spacious, well appointed and in a great location. The complex is close to a large rail station and very close to the main retail area. There is a large supermarket within 10 minutes walk. The Meriton is close to the river with some great walks.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSABrisonHerschelSt, Manager at Meriton Serviced Apartments Brisbane on Herschel Street, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Dear karori12,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Meriton Serviced Apartments with the Trip Advisor community.

It was great to read your post and that you enjoyed your second stay with us. We are in a great location surrounded by the best attractions that Brisbane has to offer, and as you mentioned there is many great river walks right near us.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Brisbane for a third time hopefully in the not to distant future so you can once again enjoy our spacious and well appointed apartments.

Kind Regards

Scott N
Senior Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Currently, there is building work going on but it does not matter because you cannot hear it. This is in an excellent location and very close to Roma parkland which is sooooooooo pretty!!!!! Staff were really helpful and we stayed in a cube apartment. For some reason, I thought that a cube apartment meant a smaller apartment but it was huge and had a great view of the river! Excellent location near the bridge to walk over to south bank. Everything is new so it is clean! Stay there!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSABrisonHerschelSt, Manager at Meriton Serviced Apartments Brisbane on Herschel Street, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Dear waterfalls_11

Thank you for sharing your experience at Meriton Serviced Apartments with the Trip Advisor community. It was great to read your post and that you enjoyed your stay with us, and you loved your cube apartment too.

As you mentioned in your post, we are in an excellent location with the beautiful Roma Street Parklands not far away, as is Southbank where the bridge on Tank Street, which runs parallel to Herschel Street, will take you across the river to Southbank.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Brisbane.

Kind Regards

Scott N
Senior Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Meriton Serviced Apartments Brisbane on Herschel Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meriton Serviced Apartments Brisbane on Herschel Street

Address: 43 Herschel Street, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 165 hotels in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Meriton Serviced Apartments Brisbane on Herschel Street 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The brand new Meriton Serviced Apartments Brisbane on Herschel Street opens its doors as the highest accommodation option available in Brisbane. Offering 202 luxury apartments with simply stunning views towering 262 meters high across this picturesque city. Adjacent to the Roma Street transit hub and parklands, with Queen Street Mall, boutique shopping, restaurants and entertainment venues only a stone's throw away, you'll be mesmerised from heights unrivalled.Positioned perfectly on the city’s North Quarter and moments from trendy suburbs, restaurants, shopping and the café culture of West End, Kangaroo Point, Fortitude Valley, New Farm and the famous South bank. For the budding enthusiast you can catch a game at nearby Suncorp Staidum or the GABBA, watch a show at the Queensland Performing Arts Centre or stroll Brisbane’s beautiful river walk to streets beach, little Stanley Street and Grey Street. Only a short stroll to the Southbank Parklands, Treasury Casino and Brisabne's renowned Queen Street Mall. If arts and culture are more appealing than the Gallery of Modern Art and the Queensland Museum are only minutes on foot across the river making Meriton Serviced Apartments Herschel Street your ideal choice for accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Meriton, Travelocity, Tingo and Agoda so you can book your Meriton Serviced Apartments Brisbane on Herschel Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Meriton Serviced Apartments Brisbane on Herschel Street, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.