We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good service and good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fat Noodle Restaurant

Fat Noodle Restaurant
130 William Street, Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #88 of 3,101 Restaurants in Brisbane
Cuisines: Asian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Singapore, null, Singapore
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Good service and good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

We had very polite waiter Joshua who was very thorough to ensure that none of the food I had ordered had any seafood in it.

It is one of the better Chinese restaurants in Brisbane although the sitting arrangement was not quite ideal. We were in there for just over an hour. Like all Chinese restaurants food is being served at an alarmingly fast pace.

It was located in a very nice building viz the Treasury which was nice.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    74
    13
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013 via mobile

The menu is creative and enticing and the food more than meets expectations. Efficient and good service in what seems to be a very busy place with a great decor and outlook. It can be a bit noisy depending on where you sit.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“A lot of noodle for your dollar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

When thinking of a restaurant situated in a Casino one immediately thinks of big expense for very little in return, not so for Fat Noodle. Be prepared for a wait to get a table if you haven't already booked as it appears to be a very popular place. We managed to get a seat out on the balcony, luckily it wasn't too hot that night, it can be a bit noisy because of the traffic below but the service and meal made up for this. The staff are friendly and go out of their way to ensure you have a wonderful dining experience and the meals do not leave you wanting for more, in fact I couldn't finish my beef and noodle dish. Will definitely be visiting this restaurant again next time I am in Brisbane.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Good value in Brisbane”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We dined here last night. Spent ten minutes wandering around the casino looking for the place, but glad we persevered. Had a short wait for a table as the place was very busy. We were seated and given menus and our wine order was taken while we perused the menu. We were seated on an outdoor balcony which was fine but very dark and it was a struggle to read the menu. I was concerned that service would be slow, given how busy the place was, but that was not the case. We waited no more than 5 minutes for our first dish to arrive, closely followed by the other plates. All were generous portions and all were fresh and tasty.
We would have liked a bit more chili in two of the dishes but this is a regular complaint of mine when eating Asian food here. It ll gets dumbed down for the local market, which is a shame. There was chili sauce on the table and when we mentioned it to the waiter he said they would happily have provided fresh chili if we had asked for it.
Service throughout was pleasant and efficient and the meal was excellent value for money ; something that cannot often be said when dining out in Brisbane.
The only downside of the night was nothing to do with the restaurant, but concerned the casino staff. We tried to take our half full bottle of wine home with us and were stopped by two burly security guards who told us it was against the law to remove it from the premises. Given that we had paid quite a lot of money for it, we were very annoyed at being made to leave it behind. Seems a ridiculous rule, given that we could have happily taken food home with us.......It won't stop us from returning though.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent noodle”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

The Wagyu beef noodle and Singapore laksa are splendid. Staff are polite and helpful. Atmosphere is good too. Will be back and try out the rest of the menu, confident that I will not be disappointed. Also try their fresh juices.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fat Noodle Restaurant also viewed

Brisbane, Queensland
 
Brisbane, Queensland
 

Been to Fat Noodle Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fat Noodle Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.