We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best pizza!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Colle Rosso

Colle Rosso
191 Musgrave Rd, Brisbane, Queensland QLD 4059, Australia
(07) 3369 7417
Improve this listing
Ranked #264 of 3,283 Restaurants in Brisbane
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Italy
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“The best pizza!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Finally pizza with the real Italian taste. Good atmosphere and service. If I will be back in Brisbane I definitely come back!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    11
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Certainly a restaurant for multiple visits”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

We had dinner in a large group of friends. As opposed to some places where the restaurant has trouble coping with a group, Colle Rosso was superb. Staff were friendly, efficient and informative. Meals came quickly; were generous; and very tasty.

Before our mains, my wife and I shared the entrée sized Calamari Fritti. This could have been a meal in itself.

Everyone cleaned their plates. No wonder: the food was delicious. So, we'll definitely be back.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Yum!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

I had ravioli and others had pizza, both were very tasty. The pizza base was great and the combination of toppings was delicious. The ravioli was also delicious, especially the creamy sauce. The service was a bit slow but the great food made up for it.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Colle Rosso - Wonderful Italian”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

We had dinner with family members at the restaurant on a Saturday night - we chose it because it was near where our nephew lived, but none of us had been there before. The choice was truly serendipitous.
The food was simply divine - beautifully fresh, perfectly cooked and seasoned, and impossible to fault. The service was genuinely friendly and helpful, and the restaurant had a cheerful, relaxed and unpretentious atmosphere. Portions were sensibly generous and delicious!
If you like Italian food, you'll enjoy this restaurant - the meal was one of the best we have had for a long time.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“SORT OF BUT NOT QUITE”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

We'd just come back from Italy (I know that sound pretentious but it sets the scene for expectations) and with me craving a plate of pasta in the typical Italian style, we thought this might be the place as we'd read some favorable reviews and after all it's run by Italians. No arguments with the decor or the delightfully warm and effusive attention of the young waitress from the north of Italy...that got things off to a good start. Then came the food. My wife had ordered a pork dish which was delicious, but my pasta was a let down. Not so much in terms of flavor (though there was a lot going on there rather than classic simplicity), but it was the sheer quantity of sauce. I had become accustomed to the minimalist approach to sauce that appeared to be the rule all over the country and here was my pasta swimming in a pond of it in what I've found seems to be the "Aussiefication" of pasta presentation. I can see my fellow countrymen breaking the spirit of Italian restaurateurs by complaining "not enough sauce mate" and so begins the corruption of good intentions. Maybe I've got it wrong but I don't expect to need a spoon to finish up the sauce on my plate of pasta. We spied a pizza going to another table and it looked good from a distance, so on the strength of the pork and (possibly) the pizza we might give it another shot...just not the pasta.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Colle Rosso also viewed

Brisbane, Queensland
Brisbane, Queensland
 
Brisbane, Queensland
Brisbane, Queensland
 

Been to Colle Rosso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Colle Rosso, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.