We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, close to the CBD” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Punthill Brisbane

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Punthill Brisbane to your Saves list
Punthill Brisbane
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   40 Astor Terrace | Spring Hill, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 165 Hotels in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Auckland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great Location, close to the CBD”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

My fiancé and I stayed here for a couple of nights on our way to the Sunshine Coast. After much searching trip advisor, we were keen to stay somewhere close to the CBD, clean and tidy, and was good value for money. Punthill delivered on all of those and exceeded our expectations! The staff were very welcoming and had some great suggestions for dining in the city. The bed was very comfortable!

As for previous reviews regarding location, it can't be more than a 5 minute stroll to the Queen St Mall. This was great in our opinion, all the benefits of being close to the CBD but was a very quiet spot. The decor was great and the bird theme (including the ornamental bird cages on each apartment) was a nice touch.

Would I recommend it to friends - definitely
Would I stay here again - absolutely!

Room Tip: We had a CBD facing room which was really quiet and private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Brisbane, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear allhood,
Thank you for lovely comments regarding Punthill Brisbane.
Great to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay and that your expectations were exceeded. We thank you for recommending Punthill, and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    102
    9
    4
    2
See reviews for
36
143
28
58
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West sussex
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

The smart trendy decor doesn't make up for the location or lack of facilities here. We booked a one bed apt but the reality was this was a studio as the bed and kitchen were in the same room. There is little or no storage and the kitchen whilst having a dishwasher only has a 2 ring hob and nothing else. It is just that bit too far from the river front with an exhausting uphill walk at the end of the evening. The swimming pool had 2 large sun umbrellas on the very exposed deck area but both broken. Not worth the money. We have stayed in other apartments in Brisbane and certainly wouldn't chose this above others.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Brisbane, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear Judith7591,
Thank you for taking the time to provide your review of Punthill Brisbane.
We are very disappointed that you had a less than satisfactory stay.
We only have studio apartments at the property and state this clearly on all websites. We are not sure how you could have booked a one bedroom apartment. We also advertise clearly a "kitchenette". We provide a very well equipped kitchenette though which includes (but is not limited to) a drawer dishwasher, stovetop, microwave, toaster, crockery, cutlery etc.
The property is in Spring Hill, not in the CBD and is a short walk to the city centre.
Brisbane experienced an horrendous storm and both umbrellas and some of the huge plant pots shattered. Replacements are on order. We are so sorry that your stay did not reach your expectations but do feel that we make it clear that we have spacious studio apartments with kitchenette.
We do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to Punthill another time.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caloundra, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

A friend and I recently stayed at Punthill Brisbane overnight. The check-in was quick and easy and the receptionists were very friendly and helpful. Our rooms were very well presented, modern, clean, comfortable and had everything we needed. We had dinner and breakfast at the attached restaurant 'Jak+Hill' which served great food and the staff there were also great. All in all, a very well run hotel that I would highly recommend!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Brisbane, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Dear Lawrance85,
Thank you for your review of Punthill Brisbane.
Great to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and also the food and service in 'jak + hill', our newly opened restaurant.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Punthill in the future.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

We recently stayed at Punthill Brisbane for 3 nights.
Reception has a very casual look and feel, but they were very professional and helpful.

Room was a decent size and had a lot of room for luggage. TV screen was wall mounted and could be moved in whatever direction you wanted- which came in handy.

Only negative from the room was that the cold tap in the shower sprung off while I was in there. I let reception know and it was fixed up upon our return back into the room.

This apartment is approx. 10 minute walk to Queen Street Mall, to get there you go downhill, to get back it is uphill, but not too far or hard at all.

Quiet street and didn't hear traffic - just some of the screaming girls on our floor who were having a good time by the sounds of it.

They do not have a breakfast facility, but there is a great breakfast spot jus next door, so no biggy.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Brisbane, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear Minerva22,
Thank you for your review of Punthill Brisbane.
We are very pleased that you enjoyed the apartments, service and location of this apartment hotel during your stay in September. Our on site restaurant - jak + hill - is now open for breakfast, lunch and dinner, 7 days a week, so next time you visit, you will have to try one of our brekky's!
We look forward to welcoming you back to Punthill soon.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

Stayed for a quick overnight stay as i was passing through the city after purchasing a car, The decor is quirky and fits perfectly with the overall theme of the hotel, Heaps of off street secure parking, huge bed and living space in the apartment, very luxurious. Jak and Hill cafe/restaurant downstairs had a brilliant menu and great prices and the food was amazing, i would recomend this place to anyone. Fantatic place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Brisbane, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear Tugan,
Thanks so much for your review of Punthill Brisbane.
The team at the property will be delighted to know that you had such a great overnight stay, and also enjoyed the cuisine at jak + hill. Hopefully next time you will be able to stay a bit longer!
We look forward to welcoming you back to Punthill in the future.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

We have found Brisbane a difficult place to find a good apartment at a reasonable price. Discovered Punthill and stayed there late November for three nights. Really good staff, friendly and helpful. The apartment itself very well designed. Smallish kitchen and bathroom but adequate. Comfortable bed and all clean and in good order. Handy enough to cbd to walk with an average level of fitness. Not far but a little hilly on the way home. Only grumble is a single lift which is quite slow. All in all well recommended and happy to return.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Brisbane, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear Barney320,
Thanks for your comments regarding Punthill Brisbane.
It's great to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay and will also recommend Punthill too!
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Stayed two nights over the Labour Day weekend. We received a great welcome upon arrival and the reception team were very helpful throughout our stay.
I was concerned before we arrived about the parking arrangements beings as the apartments are so centrally located, but this was unfounded as it could not have been easier. There is a short term pull in directly out the front and the dedicated car park entrance is alongside.
Perfect location for exploring Central Brisbane, parklands, river and Botanic gardens.
The interior decor is somewhat different and quirky but made a nice change from the normal clean cut corporate look. The rooms are nicely laid out and very comfortable.
My only negative comments would be the extremely dark decoration to the corridors which although only a matter of taste made them very depressing but again added to the quirkiness of the place. The bathroom was on the small side which required my wife and I to operate a shift system and the shower head had been installed by a very short plumber but a bend of the knees soon sorted this.
If you are looking for a friendly welcome, excellent location and good clean facilities then look no further.e

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Brisbane, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear D18KRB,
Thanks for taking the time to provide your review of Punthill Brisbane on TripAdvisor.
We are very pleased to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay and hope to welcome you back to Punthill soon.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Punthill Brisbane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Punthill Brisbane

Address: 40 Astor Terrace | Spring Hill, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 165 Hotels in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Punthill Brisbane 4.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Punthill Brisbane you will discover stylish and spacious accommodation on Astor Terrace, Spring Hill, only a few minute’s walk to the heart of Brisbane CBD. Our Studio Apartments feature luxurious king beds, private balcony, kitchen, workspace, Flat Screen TV, Ipod dock and a quirky, contemporary designer furnish. Guests can unwind at the end of the day in our cool outdoor courtyard featuring heated Swimming Pool, Spa, Open Air Gymnasium and Courtyard area. Punthill Brisbane is located just a short walk away from Central Train Station, Queen Street Mall and Brisbane's thriving business and commercial business districts, making it the perfect accommodation choice for business and leisure travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Punthill Brisbane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Punthill Brisbane, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.