We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trendy, retro, right location at the right price.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Punthill Brisbane

Save Saved
You added Punthill Brisbane to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Punthill Brisbane
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   40 Astor Terrace | Spring Hill, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 165 hotels in Brisbane
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Trendy, retro, right location at the right price.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

I stayed in Punthill on business last night as a last resort option after the Oaks Aurora & Meriton in Soleil both simultaneously decided to raise their prices by as much as 80% for that night within the last week before I made my booking. I usually avoid a studio room as they are often cramped & flawed by compromises. While it is clear Punthill is an old building remodelled, it has overcome most of these hurdles.

Upon arrival parking was unavailable within a few block radius & required driving for quite sometime until a space was freed in front of reception, & although it is only 10 minute parking here for obvious reasons, this could be perhaps further improved by adding a stopping bay in the hotel's new driveway to the undercover parking lot. Once arrived service was prompt, friendly & efficient. The lobby is a very funky place to be. As a 4.5* hotel, however, it could benefit from having a receptionist posted permanently despite the novel idea of using the phone on the desk to call someone in.

There is only one elevator in the hotel which is showing its age despite a few fancy buttons & current level display screen. Despite this, the main issue with the elevator was how slow it was. In the oaks aurora you can travel more than 60 floors in the time you can travel 10 here & the clunking & casual swaying does not quite inspire any confidence in the passengers.

The room itself is nearly flawless. It was clean, spacious & beautiful. The carpet was luxurious & soft, the wallpaper is fascinating, the tiles & colour schemes work perfectly & the space is managed exceptionally well for a studio room & even incorporates a dining, study & small lounge area as well as a nearly proper kitchen complete with dishdrawer, cooktop, rangehood & full size fridge. All of these were quality Fisher & paykel products to match. As the hotel is new & was nearly empty, we were upgraded to the top floor (10) at the back of the building that was very quiet.

Aside from the gripe on the elevator & lack of full time reception staff the only other issue I had with the hotel was the lack of undercover parking. While we were there spots were plenty & abound, however, when the hotel is operating at full capacity there will be very limited parking & any form of security such as a roller door or security gate is non-existent.

I only paid $139 for the night for a twin single studio room & think it is a price the property justifies. However, I would only return if this price doesn't increase too significantly as it is only just undercutting such places as the oaks at this price point.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor as the back of the building. It is quieter & looks into a building that is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Brisbane, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Dear jonoissocoollike,
Thanks so much for the great review of Punthill Brisbane on TripAdvisor.
Within 6 weeks, our level 1 fully-undercover parking will be operational, and both the existing ground floor parking and level 1 car park will have secure entrances.
The rate of $139 per night was a summer special, however we do anticipate increasing our rates in the future.
We do hope to welcome you back to Punthill Brisbane soon.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    148
    63
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
25
103
19
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

We've stayed at other Punthill Properties in Melbourne and were always impressed with the funky but functional design and great service. Punthill Brisbane is no exception with very friendly and helpful staff and a fantastic room with everything you could want right at your fingertips.
We loved the quirky wallpaper and decor and the small kitchen had everything we needed.
It was also a great base to explore Brisbane with everything just a short stroll away. Close enough to the centre of town without feeling like you were surrounded by people.
A perfect choice whether you're there for business or pleasure

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Outback Queensland
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We recently enjoyed a 3 night stay at Punthill Brisbane, while there are still renovations and construction going on we found this accommodation to be top notch and believe me we have tried a few...
The Studios are spacious, funky and well planned down to the compact kitchen even with a dishwasher, the bed is heaven, we found management and staff a pleasure to deal with, even the construction guys had a friendly hello...
Location is superb, quiet yet only 5 minutes walk from the Queen Street Mall, we are returning at the end of next week for another 3 night stay, currently excellent value, the best around and free parking too..
HIGHLY RECOMMENDED...

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Brisbane, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear allan_don,
We are so pleased that you took the time to provide your feedback regarding Punthill Brisbane on TripAdvisor, and appreciate your patience and understanding whilst the final construction and renovations are being completed at this property. Amidst this ongoing process, it is great to hear that you so enjoyed the accommodation, customer service and location of the apartment hotel.
We are all very much looking forward to the on-site restaurant and conference facilities at Punthill Brisbane being completed in the first half of 2013, and hope you will make a return visit later in the year too!
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

I stayed at Punthill Brisbane for 3 nights and it was wonderful.
The place has just finished undergoing refurbishment and the room was really spacious and stylish, and the bed was extremely comfortable. The reception staff were very friendly and helpful and you could rent these cool vintage-style bikes to explore Brisbane (didn't have time to do this but would have liked to!).
The location was good too -- 5 minute walk to the bus stop and close to the main city train station.
Would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Brisbane, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Dear MichaelMalkmus,
Thank you for taking the time to place your review of Punthill Brisbane on TripAdvisor.
Punthill Brisbane is the newest addition to the Punthill Apartment Hotels group - our first venture into Queensland - and we are absolutely delighted that you enjoyed your stay so much.
We agree that the location is ideal, with easy commuting into Brisbane CBD, and it's great to hear that you enjoyed the apartment style accommodation on offer.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Staying at Punt Hill Brisbane was an absolute pleasure. The decor is gorgeous, with artistic details such as fashionable wallpaper, original artwork and a modern and comfortable lobby making the experience all the more enjoyable. The rooms are luxurious and tasteful. The work station is extremely convenient for business trips, the beds are very comfortable and the kitchen facilities are clean, compact and convenient. The staff are really friendly and have a great knowledge of the city. Finding a new quote on the bed each night was also a real treat! My partner and I felt looked after and extremely comfortable at Punt Hill. I highly recommend this gem of a hotel to anyone planning a holiday or business trip to Brisbane.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Stayed at the brand new Punt Hill apartments for a gals weekend. The place is tucked down a small quiet road in the Spring Hill area with only a short 10-15 mins walk to everything Brisbane has to offer. The central station is 5 mins walk.

We stayed on the 9th floor in a 3 bed apartment. The size and layout was great for us, plenty of wardrobe space, mirrors, room to move etc. The apartment was brand new and the kitchen was like it had never been used. All fully equipped with even a tiny dishwasher which was a nice feature. We had a tv, ipod doc, iron etc....We also had a large balcony and could see the pool and decking area being completed below (this will be a lovely addition to the place when finished).

My only one negative was noise. I think I was unlucky with a bed right next to our room door so I was disturbed sleep wise with lots of banging of doors, people coming out of the lift etc. However it was the weekend so lots of guests around and almost everywhere I have stayed has noise issues. This is due to inconsiderate people and not the place itself.....Also as another review mentioned the lift is pretty loud. I would ask for a room away from the lift next time. Other than that I really liked it and would 100% stay again when in Brisbane.

Room Tip: Away from the lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Brisbane, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Dear SharenScott,
Thank you for taking the time to provide your review of Punthill Brisbane on TripAdvisor.
As our most recent addition to the Punthill group, we are thrilled to know that Punthill Brisbane contributed to your great weekend in this capital city! The studio apartments in this apartment hotel were designed to be spacious and well equipped so it is pleasing to know you thoroughly enjoyed these features.
We do accept that there were some noise-related issues on the weekend you stayed, however we do wish to assure you that this is not a normal occurrence.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Punthill Brisbane in 2013.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

We stayed at Punthill Brisbane for a week and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We were on the top floor, room 1004, and had great views of the city.
Although centrally located, Astor Terrace is a quiet road and super convenient to get to all the hot spots. Great for transport too.
We had a couple of small issues whilst there - cold water wasn't running properly in the bathroom, missing towels on another day. But everything was addressed promptly without making us feel like awkward guests.
The only problem with being in 1004 was that the sound of the lift operating woke us up at around 6am everyday. Not sure if other rooms on our floor or other floors have the same issue. But something that the managers should speak to the lift operators about.
The main room of the apartment is spacious and the kitchenette is a good size and conveniently laid out. Our bathroom was on the small side though and it was a bit awkward getting to the toilet behind the bathroom door. However, i would prefer to have a small bathroom as opposed to smaller living space. One other bathroom note - a light in the shower area would be good - it's a bit dark in there.
They provide shampoo and conditioner but not shower gel - which i found strange - so take your own shower gel. Soap is provided however.
Our room was cleaned well and they even put your dishes in the dish washer for you - which is a touch i wasn't expecting.
Friendly, helpful staff.
Punthill will be complete once the swimming pool and sun deck is fitted out.
Thanks for a great stay!

Room Tip: Room 1004 is a great option but check the lift isn't still noisy when you book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Brisbane, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Dear NovaSylvana,
Thank you for taking the time to provide your review of Punthill's newest property - Punthill Brisbane - on TripAdvisor.
Our team at Punthill Brisbane is extremely focused on ensuring that every guest enjoys the faclities and location of the property, so they will be very pleased to know that you found their service so professional, friendly and helpful during your recent stay, particularly in the instances when a small problem arose.
The outdoor pool is due for completion in December 2012, so next time you visit you will have to ensure you have time to take a dip!
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Punthill Brisbane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Punthill Brisbane

Address: 40 Astor Terrace | Spring Hill, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 165 hotels in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Punthill Brisbane 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Punthill Brisbane you will discover stylish and spacious accommodation on Astor Terrace, Spring Hill, only a few minute’s walk to the heart of Brisbane CBD. Our Studio Apartments feature luxurious king beds, private balcony, kitchen, workspace, Flat Screen TV, Ipod dock and a quirky, contemporary designer furnish. Guests can unwind at the end of the day in our cool outdoor courtyard featuring heated Swimming Pool, Spa, Open Air Gymnasium and Courtyard area. Punthill Brisbane is located just a short walk away from Central Train Station, Queen Street Mall and Brisbane's thriving business and commercial business districts, making it the perfect accommodation choice for business and leisure travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Punthill Brisbane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Punthill Brisbane, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.