We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed in the desserts” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Manx Restaurant

Manx Restaurant
Portside Wharf | Hercules Street, Brisbane, Queensland 4007, Australia
(07) 3216 4999
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #919 of 3,119 Restaurants in Brisbane
Price range: $44 - $44
Cuisines: Mediterranean
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Disappointed in the desserts”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Hubby and I ate here on Saturday night. Staff were friendly, helpful and attentive. We sat outside where we 'enjoyed' the smell of popcorn from the Dendy Cinemas right next door. The lighting made reading the menu a little difficult. (Could be solved by using a different font on the menu.) We ordered the chicken stuffed with lobster and the barramundi. Both dishes arrived in a timely manner and were tasty. Serves were a good size. We then ordered the strawberry tart and ginger and date baklava for dessert. Dessert was supplied in an appropriate time, but both desserts were rather disappointing. The tart shell was tough, tasteless and too thick to break with a fork and the ginger in the baklava drowned other flavours.
The online menu needs updating.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    26
    14
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Outstanding food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Our experience at Manx restaurant today was very good. The 3 of us each had entree and main.
Entrees were Mussels (very good) Duck (excellent) squid (excellent)
Mains 2 x Chicken (excellent) 1 x Lamb (very good) service was good and staff were really nice
Prices were reasonable and good portion size. Would definately return

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Not like it used to be!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

We have dined at Manx a number of times over the years. It used to be a high end experience with amazing food.

Last night our waitress didn't tell us the specials (after overhearing another table I was able to change my order to get the special), didn't offer us dessert and we had to flag someone down to get our bill.

The food remained amazing though, really lovely, but the service really let the place down.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Lovely Meal at Manx Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Went to Manx restaurant at Portside last week on a weeknight and had a really lovely meal. The food was delicious. We had entree, main, and shared 2 desserts. Servings are a good size and beautifully presented. I had a chicken breast stuffed with lobster that was mouthwatering. The service from the two young men who served us was very good, not intrusive and with good timing. Manx is a nice restaurant with a good atmosphere. They have specials of 2 courses with a glass of wine for $45 on week nights which we did not have, but would be good value. I will certainly go back again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“What a let down”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

I have just been overseas for two months. Before I left, I arranged a special brunch at Manx to catch up with family and friends on my return. I booked online over two months ago but received no conformation. So I rang them before I left Australia and checked. Yes, the booking had been received and all was in order.

I arrived back late last night and went to Manx at 9.30am this morning as planned. I arrived early and waited for the restaurant to open... And waited ... And my family and friends arrived ... and waited. Eventually we realised it was not going to open. A quick look at the website confirmed it no longer opened Sundays! Brunch is now only available Saturdays.

How embarrassing! All my guests and nowhere to brunch!! Manx let me down badly.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Manx Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Manx Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Manx Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.