We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay away stay away from this DUMP” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Sportsman Hotel

Sportsman Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Brisbane
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sportsman Hotel
Save
You added Sportsman Hotel to your Saves list
130 Leichhardt St | Spring Hill, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #152 of 165 Hotels in Brisbane
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Stay away stay away from this DUMP”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

The crust and grunge that covers this place will be for archeologists to figure out. I have never seen a more filthy, poorly maintained place being offered travellers in my life. Everybody there is so Indifferent to ..name the topic.. The kitchen is filthy. The showers spit water at you. And the critters have taken over. It is odd how nobody seems to know nor care about Pride. Was I meant to say gay before that. Save your money go elsewhere.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    2
    3
    1
    4
See reviews for
1
1
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    1.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

The hotel is very gloomy, infact it is not a hotel it is more like a prison/hostel/place to crash! However there is a porn film feel to it that if you have a bit of fantasy you can kind of enjoy it. All communal bathrooms here and be prepared to have Lady Gaga banging through the floor all night. If you can stand that and get to sleep after surviving gloom then the place is fine. Do not come here expecting a cozy gay place as this if far from it. No internet here and no breakfast. You do not get what you pay for and generally i would not recommend staying here. On my arrival i found a used condom in my bedside draw. Not for everyone but seriously some people like this kind of thing xxx

Room Tip: There are no good rooms:-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tin Can Bay, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

very very friendly staff and customers. enjoyed the 8 ball night cheers guys. nick

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2009

I was looking forward to staying here as the location is so convenient to so much that Brisbane has to offer. I put my luggage in the room, and at the time was thinking that the place seemed a bit grubby but thought it would it do for my short stay in Brisbane. Getting back around midnight I was horrified to observe some very unwelcome insects crawling over the bed. Wondering what I should do I finally decided to go down to the local 24 hr store and buy insectide and dowse the bed with it (still got severely bitten), and put my luggage into garbage bags and gas those as well. In the morning I talked with the manager who seemed quite sympathetic, however, as he wasn't the owner he had doubts about whether the problem would be fixed, although he said I should get a refund. I cancelled my final nights stay and couldn't wait to get out of the place! On leaving I went to claim a refund but was met with a different and very rude staff member who not only refused to refund me but was also abusive. I would NEVER stay in this place again and urge others to stay well clear.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2009

I agree with the previous review.
The Staff are great and I felt safe and comfortable.
The place is very basic but clean and is very real retro which I liked.
The rates are great.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2005

The Sportsman Hotel is a gay/lesbian hotel/pub in Spring Hill, conveniently located within walking distance to the CBD. The accommodation is VERY basic - all rooms are dark, small and with share facilities. The toilets/showers are reasonably well maintained, but are old and in desperate need of refurbishment. The only advantage I could see in staying here would be if you wanted to party at the pub (the Sportsman is a popular night-time venue, with drag shows, disco etc) you can stumble up the stairs to crash for the night.

The hotel offers reasonably-priced pub meals for lunch and dinner, and you can help yourself to toast/cereal etc from the lounge room for breakfast.

The staff are friendly and the tariff is cheap. Brisbane sadly lacks exclusively-gay accommodation options - so if you feel that you'd only be comfortable staying in a gay establishment, the 'Sporty' serves its purpose.

  • Stayed August 2003
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sportsman Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sportsman Hotel

Address: 130 Leichhardt St | Spring Hill, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane
Hotel Style:
Ranked #152 of 165 Hotels in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sportsman Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.