We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Bad Stay” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Milton Motel Apartments

Milton Motel Apartments
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Milton Motel Apartments to your Saves list
Milton Motel Apartments
19 Sheehan St | Milton, Brisbane, Queensland 4064, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #149 of 165 Hotels in Brisbane
Caloundra, Queensland, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A Bad Stay”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

A studio apartment turned into a two bedroom soaking wet carpet unit that reaked of mildew. Reception didn't really care or offer any compensation. I'll do my homework better when staying at a motel or resort

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    12
    9
    7
    35
See reviews for
13
14
8
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012 via mobile

Well We never got to stay there, thankfully. Rude manager and lying receptionist. How can any motel change a booking from two rooms to a two bedroom appartment without consulting the client. Also price quoted was suddenly changed! Ended up staying at Central Cosmo motel. And we are going back in three weeks. Cosmo is a great motel with fantastic staff, including the cleaners.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

As a regular traveller to Brisbane for work, we thought we'd try this place due to its location, minutes away from Park Rd, Lang Park and work. Plus it's cheaper than our normal places - Cosmo or Sebel. The manager was unhelpful and questioned us on whether we would need our allotted parking space - we suspected he rented it out as a daily parking spot.
The facilites where basic, we had a dishwasher and washing machine but found there was an extra charge for detergent. The utensils provided were basic and need replacing.
After every service the patio doors, which lead out to the street, were left open. Not great for security!
I would recommend spending a bit more and staying somewhere more comfortable.

Room Tip: If you are happy with a budget apartment and byo everything, this is it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

I had this apartment booked for me through work and I was pretty scared after reading the previous reviews. I am happy to report that "Basil" appears to no longer work there - the two owners - David and his wife - are lovely and friendly. It's more of a relaxed bed & breakfast environment rather than a professional hotel/apartment, but that suited me fine. The room itself was spacious but very old and needed maintenance/cleaning - the walls had cracks in them, there were stains on the linen and the cutlery/crockery were dirty. I think this is because patrons are expected to wash their own dishes or you incur a cleaning fee - and by the looks of things no one had washed them in a very long time! The location is good, right near Park Road which has lots of restaurants and not far from Coronation Drive... but it is right next to the train tracks so it gets quite noisy. Overall, it's a lovely little place but it needs maintenance and an upgrade.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

After I had already booked I read the previous reviews. I was somewhat concerned at what I read. All the poor comments must have worked. I found David pleasant enough with a strange sense of humor, but okay. The room was clean enough although not the best set up, still no probs. wifi worked although a bit ratty over the IPad. Milton has nice restaurants and an excellent beer cafe. Easy walking distance to Suncorp. All in all great value and my wife and I will stay there again.

Pat G Canberra.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

In January I booked a studio apartment with these guys for 3 nights in late march. 2 weeks before arrival I asked for some details about the accommodation : how many people can sit round the dining table. How many can sit on the lounge suite.They sent an email to say that they were fully booked.

When I queried whether one of those bookings was mine, they said no, my booking had been cancelled. This they did without telling me. Had I not asked for some details, I'd have turned up and found that I was without accommodation.

Is this the way Brisbane does business? Well, not in my experience. I booked imediately with Spring Hill Mews.I have always found Spring Hill Mews Apartments to be well appointed, well managed and attractive, Ive always been able to invite firends for dinner there. The people there are courteous efficient and have a high standard of ethics.

I strongly recommend Spring Hill Mews.

Room Tip: Go to Spring Hill Mews.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lismore,NSW
1 review
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

Had a booking for family function last weekend, booked two months ago, confirmed twice with David(manager) by phone, when we arrived fill in manager said no booking was made in our name, and David was unavailable. Sorry, too bad! No effort to help us was made.
When we calmed down, we found a very pleasant ALTERNATIVE ACCOMMODATION in Park Road Milton, Central Cosmo Apartments, weekend rates are quite cheap.
The location of Milton Motel Apartments may be the only positive, the bad management is not worth the anxiety! Family members that did have a room for the weekend mentioned the filthy state of their rooms!
If I had read the very negative reviews I wouldn't have booked with Milton Motel Apartments.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Milton Motel Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Milton Motel Apartments

Address: 19 Sheehan St | Milton, Brisbane, Queensland 4064, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane
Amenities:
Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #149 of 165 Hotels in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Milton Motel Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Milton Motel Apartments Hotel Brisbane

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Milton Motel Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.