We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointment” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Toowong Villas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Toowong Villas to your Saves list
Toowong Villas
4.0 of 5 Motel   |   9 Ascog Terrace | Toowong, Brisbane, Queensland 4066, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #76 of 165 Hotels in Brisbane
Perth, Australia
1 review
“Disappointment”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

We have stayed at Toowong Villas on previous occasions with varied success. This time was a disaster. Our apartment was on Jephson Street side with traffic noise unbearable. Also outside the window of bedroom 2 was the pool pump - although it did not start up until 6.30 am it was so loud, even with the window closed, it was impossible to sleep. The pool is available from 8am to 9pm, however access is available at all times and at 2.30 a.m. (yes a.m.) there were people talking, drinking and swimming - on complaining to management they said - yes, we thought it was being used!!
The apartments need an upgrade for the cost.

Room Tip: Rooms away from Jephson Street
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ToowongVillas, Manager at Toowong Villas, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your review and your comments.
Upon your arrival we were told you always had a ground floor unit. A review of your last 5 stays with us show you used one apartment twice with 15 steps to it and one apartment with 19 steps to it.
Despite being 100% full for five days with cricket and football games in town we were able to rearrange your booking to a ground floor unit. This unit is one we use ourselves when on short term leave. We can supply booking data showing our usage. We have not experienced noise issues as you described particularly the pool pump which had approx. $1000 spent on it about 2 months ago. We also had our Maintenance Engineer test the air conditioners and found no leaks as you explained to us.
It is acknowledged we have had entry into our pool area at night and we are working on a solution to make the rear gate more secure. However on the night of your stay 5 apartments and up to 4 apartments have direct or indirect contact with the pool. Several guests were asked about noise at 2.30am and no noise was heard by those guests. Further no evidence of cans, bottle tops, cigarette butts or furniture moved about was found.
Your comment about an upgrade was disappointing. In the last 12 months over $100,000 has been spent on TV's, stoves, table and chairs, soft furnishings, triple sheeting, upgrade to kitchens and bathrooms, and new curtains. A further $100 - 150,000 is being planned at the moment. The expenditure will put us beyond four star classification.
Thank you again for your review and I trust this explanation assist you and we look forward to seeing you again.

Jim Donohue
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    46
    13
    7
    8
See reviews for
56
17
2
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
ADEALAIDE
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

Toowong is close to the Brisbane CBD with everything a visitor could want - boat, train, shops and restaurants. A group of friends booked 3 villas in this large complex. The apartments were clean and quite well appointed although maintenance was needed on the air-conditioner, microwave and ceiling fans. The buildings are 2-story and there are no lifts. Problems arose with our bookings and were not settled until some time after our departure.

Room Tip: Book ahead but phone before leaving home to check availability and cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ToowongVillas, Manager at Toowong Villas, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for writing your review.
We did appreciate your comment about our clean rooms. A lot of effort is put in by our cleaning staff to ensure a high standard is maintained.
We are puzzled by the comment about the air conditioner, microwave and ceiling fan. Our Maintenance Engineer has checked all the appliances and found all working efficiently. If there was a problem a call to reception would have had an immediate response.
The issue of the booking was due to incorrect data given to us for a credit card and we forwarded the refund by cheque as agreed.
We are unsure what your Room Tip means as all bookings are confirmed by email which highlights rooms booked and cost.
Thanks again for your review.

Jim Donohue
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

We were stuck trying to find somewhere to stay for a couple of nights in Brisbane that would accommodate four (two teenagers and two adults) without costing the earth. We needed to stay within reasonable distance of the city centre and airport. This place worked out great!

Toowong is a good transport hub with trains, buses and water taxi all running from there for the quick journey into city centre. It is a 5km walk into the city centre, if you are brave enough to dodge the heat and the mad cyclists. There are a variety of food places (cheap - mid-range) and two supermarkets.

The accommodation was clean and spacious enough for our needs. We had a great view towards the city but the pay-off was the noisy road below our window. Worth it, to us, for the view but if you want things quieter ask for accommodation away from the road. The beds were comfortable enough but the pillows were like concrete, we don't know why. If we had stayed longer we would have done something about this but they were adequate for a night or two.

One problem was the vent windows (in one bedroom) were directly above an outdoor area where smokers lingered. The bedding and our clothes smelt of smoke quickly even with the windows shut. We solved the problem by moving the ashtry to another corner but would recommend that the managers provide a smokers area that is well away from the buildings.

The pools were both wonderful and we used them at different times of the day to maximise the sun/shade.

The managers were helpful and welcoming.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ToowongVillas, Manager at Toowong Villas, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Guest
My apology for not responding sooner but I have just returned from leave. Thanking you for taking the time to write your review. The detail you have given was great for potential new guests.
I have noted your comments about the pillows. We d have a supply of alternative pillows for guests use and we will look at different pillow types.
As I non smoker I understand your comment about smokers. We endeavour to keep smokers away from the buildings but as you know smokers have a mind of their own.
I note you are a Mainlander(South Island). As an ex Kiwi I'm sure you enjoyed the result of the Dunedin Bledisloe Cup game.
Thank you again for taking the time to write your review. Your comments are much appreciated.
Jim Donohue
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Stayed with friends for a wedding. Management were quick to respond to emails and were warm and friendly, even giving up their own coffee plunger. The apartment was perfect for our stay, lovely pool and great BBQ area. Very close to great shops at Toowong Village. Was easy to find as good signage around the corner on the main road. Would highly recommend.

Room Tip: Our apartment was on the top floor which gave great views of the city and breezes but would of cours...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ToowongVillas, Manager at Toowong Villas, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for writing your review. I'm pleased everything went well for you. I now know why my coffee did not taste the same as usual. Glad the coffee plunger worked for you.
I note you are from Christchurch. I hope the earthquakes have had minimum impact on your lives. I know the recovery process has been long and drawn out but progress can now be seen.
Good luck for the future.
Thank you again for your very kind remarks, they are appreciated.
Jim Donohue
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shenzhen
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

The staff is very cruel, they charge addtional fee fm our credit card without any notice and any reason. When we check this with them, but they asked us to get out!!
We stay this hotel for one night and clear all dishes before leaving, but they thought we didn't clean house before leaving, so they charge it.
And our friend had a visiting in our room, they thought they stay there for one night, so they also charge it without any informing.
After I received bank's text about this charge, I checked with it and ask for the reason, they are so crude and yelled at me and my child. There is no sense of security for our credit card because they charge it any time without any informing.
I got a horrible staying here and I think they wl lose many chinese tourists in future.

这家旅馆带有严重的对中国人的种族歧视,在没有任何通知的情况下在我的信用卡里面多扣了钱,当我发现时去理论,他们居然说是因为我有朋友在这里过夜!我的朋友只是拜访,又没有要求他们提供多的服务!又说我们把房间搞得很脏!我们中国人最讲究整洁了,离开前,我们还特地把碗刷干净了。说是10点退房,他们有个老头10点过十分就上来敲门赶人,很粗鲁。感觉我们不是在这里住酒店,好像是他们收留了我们一样。他们对白人很友好,但是对我们中国人态度特别差。在这里住酒店完全感受不到安全感,我的信用卡白白的被他们强行多扣了几十澳币!!

Room Tip: Room is very small, and it is very noisy near road. The bed is too hard to fall sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ToowongVillas, Manager at Toowong Villas, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear Guest
It was disappointing to receive your review, because it does not reflect the facts.
A summary of the facts are:
* You rang about 9am from the Gold Coast, 60 minutes away seeking directions to our complex.
* About 11am 4 adults and 2 children, each with a separate suitcase, arrived. You demanded an early check in (3hrs early), stating you had travelled for many hours and a long distance. We had to move bookings to check you in.
* All six persons went to the room, which was located at the rear of the complex, above our own accommodation, well away from any roads.
* At 10am the following morning you pushed past other guests and demanded a late check out at 2pm. When told that was not possible, due to our bookings, you shouted the birds had kept you awake from 4am in the morning and you had a late flight to China.
* A check of your room found 4 adults and 2 children in the room. An additional charge was made for the extra adults. You were also in default of the Fire and Emergency Regulations by not declaring the additional guests..
* After a discussion with the booking agent, as professionals, we refunded your extra payment.
As I said earlier, it was disappointing to receive a review that was inconsistent with the facts and distorts our very high standard of customer service for which we are very well known and proud of.
Jim Donohue
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Had to stay close to city for an early morning business meeting. The managers stayed around to book me in and provided warm, friendly service! A stand out in my travelling experience. Highly recommended

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ToowongVillas, Manager at Toowong Villas, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you very much for your kind comments. They were much appreciated. Comments like yours make the work easier and enjoyable.
Thank you again for your review.

Jim Donohue
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toowoomba, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Booked a 3 bedroom 2 bathroom apartment for a Saturday night stay in Toowong for 4 adults. Management were helpful from booking over phone right through to check in & out. Apartment was all that we needed as stated above. Location was good as it was handy to the shopping centre & to restaurants. Easy to access & find & car parking was not cramped.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ToowongVillas, Manager at Toowong Villas, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Guest
It was exciting to read your review of our complex. We have informed our staff that their efforts are appreciated by our guests and we put on morning tea for them to thank them.
Thank you again for your comments. They were much appreciated.

Jim Donohue
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Toowong Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Toowong Villas

Address: 9 Ascog Terrace | Toowong, Brisbane, Queensland 4066, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#59 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Toowong Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Toowong Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Toowong Villas Hotel Brisbane
Toowong Hotel Brisbane

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Toowong Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.